We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic motel facility”
Review of Marmot Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marmot Lodge
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Reviewed 20 July 2011

We stayed 4 nights here - there doesn't appear to be muchj choice in room type and we stayed on the first floor overlooking the main road and railway line. Noise wasn't a problem and I would pick this part of the lodge over the car par facing rear !!
Room was clean although a bit dark and dingy - not somewhere we wanted to stay in for too long !!
It is a 15 minute walk from town centre although many of the other lodges nearer the town looked in worse condition than the Marmot.Breakfast was a buffet affair and not something to relish being a bit limited in choice and a bit tepid as well.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davejag60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (981)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

775 - 781 of 981 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2011

We spent 3 nites with our son, his wife & our 4 yr. old grandson in June. On our second nite, our daughter-in-law went to the hot tub alone, and was shortly joined by several naked German men staying in the lodge. Next morning, while packing to check out, we discovered what looked like dried semen on one of the blankets. Then, our daughter-in-law found a pill between the cushions of the sofa. As we considered this a serious hazard for a child to find, we reported it to management. We were given a $14.90 discount off our food bill, which I felt was unacceptable. When I was later able to reach the manager on the phone, she never once offered an apology, but rather stated that housekeeping had been advised. Then, she further suggested that we could have dropped the pill there ourselves. This lodge is one of 5 under the same management in Jasper. The others are the Amethyst, Lobstick, Chateau Jasper and Pocahontas Cabins.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Alberta2urist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarmotManager, Manager at Marmot Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2011

Thank you for your post and for giving me the opportunity to offer my version of the events to the reading public as well. As discussed with you, none of the aforementioned issues and concerns with cleanliness were brought to our attention at any time during the 3 days of your stay. It was only upon checking out that you mentioned these issues and that the room had not been suitable for your stay. Your expectations of receiving a complimentary stay to compensate for your sudden issues were deemed unreasonable, especially after you indicated that you have been able to receive such compensation with milder issues at other hotels in the past. You added that you would be publishing your experience on the Internet.

As the sofa was used throughout your stay with no issues, and since you explained that your daughter-in-law found the item once she removed her suitcase from the sofa, I suggested that yes, it could have possibly fell from the luggage. After apologizing several times during our long conversation and assuring you that I had taken every measure to prevent this from happening in the future, I explained to you that given the ongoing threats to publish your experience online, I didn’t feel compelled offering further compensation to buy your silence.

With respect to issues you encountered with the hot tub patrons, this is certainly not a common occurrence and something we would have immediately rectified had it been reported to the front desk. With regrets.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

It feels like a motel, looks like a motel, but costs like a NY city hotel!!
We are a family of 6, we took 2 rooms and were told we get "mountain view" , yes indeed, we see some mountains, the road, the railroad, and the cars that are parked outside our window. Rooms are small, dark and smelly, outdated and noisy!
We found out they charge the same as the Fairmont, which seems to be of a different class, however since we reserved for 2 nights, they "trap" us here.
I learned my lesson, not to use Booking.Com, by calling hotels direct,Iwould have gotten better rates.!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Ruraam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

we just arrived home from a two night stay. We booked a kitchen fireplace suite that is set up for 6.

PROS:

Staff are extremely friendly and accommodating. If you draw issues to their attention they will try very hard to make it right for you. The property is very very nice with flowers and well kept. The pool and hot tub inside was fantastic, the outdoor hot tub was never open. We had a vehicle so it did not matter about the location, it was a pro for us cause we opted for quietness............BUT, unless you are in good physcial health and can withstand walking then this is far far away from down town. The Amethyst which is in this chain is closer. There was an auesome grocery store a few blocks down (again you need a vehicle unless you are in good health to walk with grocieries in tow too) that has a great variety of everything including organic and the prices were cheaper or the same as at home. Lloydminster is definately overpricing our groceries here at home if Jasper is cheaper!! gas was even cheaper in Jasper then in our home town Sask. We also loved the Embers restaurant. The drinks in the lounge were good and the fireplace and inviting couches were nice, the staff friendly
The wifi was good in the room and the tv had lots of channels. dishes were good and plentiful cookware etc.
We had a beautful view of the north side of the mountains and never heard a train once. The bedroom in the Pyramid building overlooked a nice green space. A beautiful real stone gas fireplace. adequate space but on the smaller side if you have 6 or more crammed in a room. But at 286.00 a night you would need to be wealthy to rent more than one room for a family. We were in room 247. We had some issues with our room.

CONS: Check in was strange. We arrived at 4:45 for a 4 PM check in and they said the room was not ready and we had to wait. not good news when you and the children are dead tired from travelling. We drove over to the room and no one came to clean or finish anything as we were told ?? we went back to the desk at 5 and were told we could check in now ?? made no sense as the room was obviously ready but they would not let us check in until 5 which is already late in the day.
If you are just using the bedroom and not the fold out couch in the living room then the bedroom was nice and cool temperature wise. BUT....You had to keep the curtains drawn all the time because the people in the suite faceing the south side of the building could look right into the bedroom, the suite beside with a balcony had full view of the bedroom too, that was aukward and made for a dark room. There was no TV in that room either and there should be for the people staying in that room. Otherwise just the one TV in the living room for the people on the fold out couch. The fridge hummed very loud. The bathroom fan barely worked so very steamy. The living room was at a sauna temperature level the whole time and it was very cool outside in Jasper ..it made no sense at all becasue the bedroom was cool. I nearly roasted in that living room and kitchen and had to have the window open steady and had to open the door too at 4 AM which meant that anyone could see you sleeping on the fold out couch but no other choice. There is no private balcony in these suites along that side as well, it is a long corridor. Also the screened window is big enough for someone to rip open and enter the suite so you could not leave the window open when you were not in the suite making it very very hot when you returned. I shudder to think if it was hot outside, the room heat would be unbearable. There is no AC in the rooms but they provide fans. The decor in the room was way over the top........I felt like I was sleeping in a board room at a First Nations facility. I have saved the worst for last and that is the condition of the fold out couch. We do not expect much for a fold out couch but really ...a sleepless, suffering, spine mangling sofa bed that would have left metal imprints on your body. They tried to fix it by putting layers of bedding on but it did not work. I woke up crying in the night cause I hurt so bad from that sofa bed. I reccommend you bring a deep foam topper if you are to get stuck witht the sofa bed. All in all we would stay here again but would come prepared for better sleep quality.

Room Tip: ask for room further down the corridor, bring foam
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rlmptl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

Stayed two nights as part of Rocky Mountaineer Red Leaf package and, what a disappointment. First room was dingy, dark and no extractor fan in bathroom which meant we asked for room change. This was done but option was at the front where first the road and then the rail pass with metres of the front door! Add a party of German motorbikers to the mix and two very disturbed nights were the result. Every hour thru' the night a freight train of 200+ cars rumbled part, blowing the klaxon as they cross the crossing in town. Couple that with the fact that this motel is a 20 minute walk from the centre of Jasper and you feel marooned if coming by coach as did we. Having to eat in their restaurant was not the best decision ever taken. Sent food back twice as, whilst liking my lamb pink, raw meat is not my choice! Would NOT recomment eating here even if forced to stay by unaviodable circumstance.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank baker42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

This place is not worth half of what they charge for a room, they were small, dirty and a complete letdown, the beds were very uncomfortable and made for a very tired day of skiing.

Like every other hotel in Jasper, this place is old and in need of a massive overhaul, they have no problems charging you the same price as one of the nice new places in Banff, we as a group have decided to not bother with anything in Jasper until they decide to clean up the hotels to a level that can justify charging that much money, the dead downtown core with no shopping and a very lackluster nightlife really top off the experience.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ranas11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarmotManager, Manager at Marmot Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2011

Thank you for sharing your opinion. I’m sorry that we have let you down. Should we have known of your discontentment at that time, we could have addressed your concerns immediately and improve the quality of your stay. It is a shame that you did not enjoy Jasper overall. Some might say that it is the quiet mountain scene, abundant wildlife, stunning views, unspoiled lakes and un-crowded hiking, biking, climbing and skiing terrain that attracts them to Jasper. If the buzzing nightlife is what interests you, I recommend that you try the annual Jasper in January Festival, or ask our reception staff about the numerous bands and artists performing in Jasper every week.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

We had a large 'ski lodge' type accommodation...would have been terrific had we been staying for a few nights. Full fridge, small but perfectly formed kitchen, dining and seating area and large bedroom with balcony off. No air/con on in May but 3 fans provided. Also half bottle of fizz and chocolates for the birthday celebrations!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.4 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
453 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chateau Jasper
Chateau Jasper
#8 of 17 in Jasper
887 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Jasper Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Lobstick Lodge
Lobstick Lodge
#16 of 17 in Jasper
750 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
1,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marmot Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marmot Lodge

Address: 86 Connaught Drive, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Jasper
Price Range: £47 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Marmot Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Marmot Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marmot Hotel Jasper
Marmot Lodge Jasper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing