We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to kick back at night”
Review of Marmot Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marmot Lodge
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We had planned to stay here in Jasper just for a night en route to Banff, but with Highway 93 un-passable, we ended up staying here for an additional 2 days. The rate seemed a bit high for weekday nights in March ($129) but the rooms were well appointed and very clean. The bathroom featured a deep, wide soaker tub which is a real bonus after a long day exploring the gorgeous surroundings. Plus the king sized bed was very comfortable!

The staff were friendly, and were always available to answer any questions. The only thing I would have liked to have seen would have been an option to buy pay-per-view movies as the town of Jasper really shuts down after 9pm.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms seem to be a bit quieter, but try to avoid anything too close to the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank missd721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (992)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

748 - 754 of 992 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2012

Our family stayed for 3 days at the beginning of March. We were in room 110. We asked to be on the main floor as a family skiing/boarding we carry all but the kitchen sink. Front desk staff were accomidating and helpful.

The room was renovated and clean. Larger then our friends standard 2 doubles next door at the Tonquin. Coffee maker/mini fridge. The bathroom had all new tile and tub surround. The sleep was comfortable. Although you can hear the train slightly moving down the tracks quite a bit. So you may want your room facing away from the road.

The pool was VERY warm with an attached hot tub. Our kids loved it. The motel needs to have different access however. As you go in with your boots you are on the pool deck right away. Kept clean though. Quite a bit of condensation dripping from the roof. Towels are available at the front desk and we just kept them for the 3 days and left them in the room at the end.

We would stay again, better kept then our usual stay at the Lobstik. Booked the Chateau Jasper in 2 weeks to compare. Let ya know.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KandSFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Newly renovated, very well kept rooms. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OkotoksRED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We stayed at the Marmot Lodge for our anniversary last year.

Although we were not given an upgrade, we had very nice king-size bedroom. It was clean and spacious and we really liked its rustic decor.

It was winter and very cold outside, but the room temperature was always comfortable and warm. Shortly after our check-in, there was a knock on the door and a friendly staff member handed me a bottle of wine and said: "This is for you!"

The wine came along with a card from management which stated "Happy Anniversary," signed by Estelle Stewart.

We appreciated the gesture very much, and had an unforgettable stay at the Marmot Lodge.

We also had the opportunity to chat with their maintenance guy, while he was cleaning the pool one morning. He had been employed with the hotel for a while and took great pride in the work he did.

We highly recommend this hotel, as the prices are competitive, the location is good, and although it is a simpler hotel compared to others, it really delivers a cozy feeling and their staff is extremely competent and friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gazpacho16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

It's pretty much a motel, but it's cheap and decent. It's a walk away from some decent pubs as well.

There's an outdoor jacuzzi thing, so if you get about 5 of your friends in there you won't have to share it with strangers. It's in an enclosure too, so it's not a big deal to have a beer in there.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank heavyastronaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

For Australians this would be described as a good average motel. We found accommodation generally in Jasper was expensive and this was a good middle of the road choice. The breakfast was good and the breakfast room was also the restaurant at night which was of good quality.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BoroniaBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Check in a breeze! Called ahead to check to see if our room might be ready for 1030 am and they said yes which was a bonus as we drove from Vancouver Island. They allow pets which is a plus!!! Everything is clean and with a well stocked kitchen,a nice quite spot away from town but within walking distance like 10 min. Staff is very courteous and friendly. Indoor pool and hot tub is nice,but we spent most of our time in the outdoor hot tub!! Very nice during a long day of skiing or hiking. Our room 244 is facing the entrance and is very quite. A very relaxing stay after a busy holiday season. Will be back!

Room Tip: Room 244 has a fireplace,separate bedroom with king bed,kitchen and livingroom. Home away from home...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shorty1141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.4 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
462 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chateau Jasper
Chateau Jasper
#8 of 17 in Jasper
897 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lobstick Lodge
Lobstick Lodge
#16 of 17 in Jasper
759 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
1,676 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Jasper Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marmot Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marmot Lodge

Address: 86 Connaught Drive, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Jasper
Price Range: £64 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Marmot Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Marmot Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marmot Hotel Jasper
Marmot Lodge Jasper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing