We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good honest accommodation”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Marmot Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marmot Lodge
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Laxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good honest accommodation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We were a bit worried after reading some of the reviews but our fears were misplaced and were soon allayed. This is a clean, comfortable and friendly hotel with very friendly and helpful staff.

We were here for three nights and it provided us with an excellent base from which to visit attractions.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hullfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    395
    159
    50
    21
See reviews for
200
429
28
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Nice reception, very friendly and helpful staff. Room was basic, small, with small bathroom, but clean. Furniture was old, bed was soft. We had to carry our suitcases up two flights of stairs to first floor, after lifting my case up my handle came off. Air conditioning was very noisy and old and we had to switch it off to sleep. There was a fan in the room which had to be plugged into a socket near the bathroom as socket in the room was connected to light, when we switched the light off the fan went off. It had a nice indoor pool and jacuzzI, laundry which was useful and a restaurant where we had some breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on ground floor, check the noise of the air conditioning unit before you go to sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurnee, Illinois
Level Contributor
223 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

For the last few nights of our trip, we were going to stay at the Marmot Lodge. Deciding on accommodations in Jasper was a little tougher than Banff, and as we drove up, I was a little concerned. From first appearances, this looks a bit dated. Check in was very friendly, and as we walked into the room, we were very pleasantly surprised - we had a modern looking, very clean (apparently remodeled) room. While there wasn't quite as much room to navigate as in Banff, we had a nice TV and refrigerator (no safe, unfortunately.) The bathroom and shower also looked brand new and immaculate. The rooms were very quiet - never heard a peep, even with the motel style doors directly to the outside.

We got one day in the pool, and it was nice sized, clean, and a good temperature. Only knock on it was no towels were available, so we had to bring the ones from the room.

The hotel is a little bit if a hike from downtown. It's probably do-able, but you're better off driving into town at least a little way. There is a fancier restaurant onsite.

A great stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PinkFloydActuary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
287 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Rooms are spacious and clean, I had separate bedroom with 2 Queen beds. The bathroom was large with plenty of hot water. The kitchen had large fridge, microwave and cooker, with pots, pans crockery etc =well equipped. My only gripe is that other residents did tend to slam doors and the walls are quite thin.
The staff were lovely, especially Jasper the Belgium guy on reception. There is also a laundry room that is well priced- washers and driers. There is plenty of parking, and its a lovely 15 minute stroll to the downtown area.

I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank JaneMUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
53 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 402 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Stayed here as a stop off on our road trip from Calagary to Vancouver. Its traditional motel / lodge and whilst the rooms most definately aren't trendy ours was spacious and spotlessly clean as well as being realy quitet. The only negative (which was our fault) was that we hadn't realised just how long the walk into Jasper was.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank mike t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Stayed one night here before picking up the train again in Jasper as part of our trip across Canada. We have no particular complaints about the room or the service but in comparison with other places we stayed on this holiday, we felt it was rather expensive. It is also a good walk into town from the hotel though a taxi was provided free to get us back to the railway station.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 21Andrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Pagnell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

This one of 5 Hotels we stayed in on our trip from Vancouver to Calgary.
The Hotel was located in the town of Jasper perfect for exploring. Our room was spacious with two huge beds which was great being a family of 4. The bathroom was clean and modern.
Compared to the other hotels we stayed at this was by far the most comfortable and spacious.
Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusansZ78CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.4 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
1.3 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Jasper Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
Chateau Jasper
Chateau Jasper
#10 of 17 in Jasper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tonquin Inn
Tonquin Inn
#15 of 17 in Jasper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marmot Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marmot Lodge

Property: Marmot Lodge
Address: 86 Connaught Drive, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Marmot Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marmot Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marmot Hotel Jasper
Marmot Lodge Jasper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing