We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely cabin in a lovely setting”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jasper
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alpine Village Cabin Resort - Jasper
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We had a one bedroom cabin number was H bed was excellent, bathroom looked very modern, but, the heated floor did not work. Great hot shower bath We had a sofa and chair, working fire place, which came in handy during the cOol nights. Excellent tv reception with ample channels. Small refrigerator, full microwave. But not a full kitchen. There is a sitting area along the river. You could watch for animals or kayakers. The location of our deck was very nice as you could sit in the sun or shade. The chairs needed cushions. They were not to comfortable. The resort is well located near Jasper. We found several cute trails to walk into town. We also had easy drives to other hiking trails in the area. Deb and Dwight the managers are very nice. The cabin staff come from close by and far away. Very friendly. There is a jacuzzi with a sitting area that we did not try. Coffee supplied daily in your room and the main office. Definitely an all around lovely place to stay. We also liked that it was a quiet place for the most part.

Room Tip: Although there was free wi fi it did not work well. But, I was told wifi through the area was on an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Computernana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (925)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

406 - 412 of 925 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

We really liked the character log cabins on this site. A little dated in their equipment maybe, but this adds to their charm - and there is everything you could need. That's not to say our cabin was perfect - some more effective lighting would have been good and it was annoying that we were unable to get the free wi-fi to work while we were there and the comments of the receptionist suggested this was not unusual. But the site is very convenient for accessing Jasper town, is opposite the lovely Athabasca River with great walks along its banks, and is close to most of the local sights. The elks strolling in the grounds and the squirrels and chipmunks running around also added interest and charm to our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Steve-G23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We rented cabin 38 for 5 nights in July. The check in was straight forward and we found our cabin easily. Cabin 38 was definitely worth the little extra money. it stood with only one cabin to the left and not overlooked, looking out onto the woods. Spotlessly clean, well equipped and in good order and repair. Ideal for our family of 5. We loved the patio and barbecue with elk visiting twice a day. We also loved the heated bathroom floor. The reception desk booked a rafting trip for us - nothing was too much trouble. There is an issue with wifi and internet access. Yes, this happens in a rural area, but as more and more people bring and rely on devices for their daily life this is something that may have to be sorted out in future. We expected it but it was a pain having to log on at daft times to get to our work e mails. There is also no washing machine or dryer on site so make sure you pack plenty of clothes. These were minor niggles easily cancelled out by the site and the staff. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again or recommend this as the place to stay in Jasper. Even the firewood which you chop yourself was a great hit with our kids. Thank you alpine for such a great holiday.

Room Tip: Go for one of the executive newer cabins and you wont be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Wringworthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We rented the small one room cabin for 3 nights. It was surprisingly modern, with a nice kitchenette and an updated bathroom. I could have used some counter space, but that was the only inconvenience i experienced. There was free wifi but we could not seem to connect to it ( there are plenty of restaurants in town that have wifi)

The setting on the grounds is lovely, although it should be noted that the river is across the street. Sitting by the river is not a tranquil as I was expecting, since the cars kept driving right behind us.

The location is great, it is an easy 3 min drive to town and there is a Jasper loop trail that runs right in front of the property. There is alot to do very close to these cabins.

We saw tons of wildlife in Jasper - 17 bears in one day!! tons of elk and a moose! It is such a cool area! The road to Medicine and Maligne lake proved to be a jackpot for spotting wildlife!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank sidney7474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Being number one in Jasper on TA we had high expectations and had originally asked our travel agent for a Deluxe Family Cabin (family of 4). Upon arrival we noticed that we had in fact been booked into two standard one-bedroom cabins. This was no fault of the resort but we were very disappointed as these cabins were below our expectations and we were also separated, which was not the intention.

Nothing could be done for the first night but for the second and third nights we were able to move to the “New Executive One Bedroom Cabin built in 2012”. This meant that the kids has to sleep on the sofa bed but we were happy to do this to have the much nicer facilities of this great cabin. As described on the website, it really is upscale and definitely made up for the initial disappointment. So depending on your requirements and expectations, take a close look at the description of the various cabins before deciding which you want to book.

Our thanks to Kara at the reception for sorting that out for us and a commendation for the service and cleanliness at the resort. When the sun was shining we enjoyed sitting on our balcony rather than using the hot tubs or sitting by the river but obviously one is free to choose. The location was also very convenient and only a short ride into Jasper, albeit with a leisurely wait at the railway crossing a number of times (amazing how long the trains are in Canada!).

We had a nice experience when waking up on the last morning when my wife opened the curtains to see an elk just outside. We went out to the balcony and within a few minutes there were about ten of them all around, big and small, nibbling at the trees.

So definitely recommended – just check exactly what sort of standard you want before booking.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank FTRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

After doing a lot of research (and finding little information) to find the perfect accommodation for a 3 night stay in Jasper we are SO glad we landed here at the Alpine Village. Family run and you can certainly tell. Staff was friendly and kept to themselves, you felt like you really had the privacy of a log cabin. You have the option to chop your own fire wood (axes and gathering bag available at the front) or purchase some at the office. Cabins were clean, bathrooms were clean. It was the perfect get-a-way. Location is right across from the river and Alpine Village has some chairs out that you can sit and enjoy the river. Our cabin was located close to the road but we never heard cars or felt bothered. Great experience, would absolutely recommend to a friend.

Room Tip: We booked the studio (bed and living room combined) and it was perfect for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Acire27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed several nights in a one bedroom cabin. It was very comfortable and clean. The bed was comfy, the pillows were very good. There was the right amount of blankets so hot sleepers like me didn't have to use either the sheet or the down comforter. The kitchen was stocked with quality pots and pans and just about anything you needed to cook a basic meal. The shower had great water pressure, although the water would find its way under the glass door and make a wet mess on the floor each morning. We should have asked for more floor towels.
Wildlife was plentiful. We saw a black bear across the street and an elk walked past our cabin one morning. The river was right across the street and I liked how the management put up adirondack chairs for guests to enjoy the river. I also like how the grounds were very well maintained and shady with a lot of trees (the place is in the woods).
There were a couple of glitches that I hope management irons out. First, wireless is offered but didn't work the entire time we were there. This was a problem because we're from the US and can't really use data to check messages and important emails like perhaps a resident Canadian without paying a lot of money. So wireless is important. Unfortunately there was no working free wireless in town when we were there, and had to resort to paying for wireless at a coffee shop. The front desk receptionist told us the wireless hadn't been working for the last two weeks. Was someone looking into this?

It would have been nice to have coffee filters available for the coffee maker (2 cup size) instead of the pre-packaged coffee pillows, so we could enjoy our own brewed coffee. Granted, they had a perculator in the kitchen but I would have prefered drip coffee. At the very least offer more than one pillow of 2cup coffee! Especially at the prices they charge for the cabins.

But the thing that I thought was really bad customer service was when we asked for matches because we were out in our room, and it was the only way to light the stove/range. The receptionist said they were out. And that was the end of that conversation. So WE went into town and bought a lighter! Again, I would expect that they would offer to get us some matches and bring them over. It's not a luxury to use the range in a cabin with a kitchen, and matches aren't that expensive to buy. Geez.

I would stay here again, but I wouldn't expect to use the wireless at all and I would bring my own lighter and maybe coffee press pot.

Room Tip: A one bedroom studio cabin is plenty big for a couple. Bring a good book or enjoy your time in the g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Margaret E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper hotels
1.5 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
453 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
0.9 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
1,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Pyramid Lake Resort
Pyramid Lake Resort
#10 of 17 in Jasper
633 reviews
1.9 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
981 reviews
1.8 mi away
Chateau Jasper
Chateau Jasper
#8 of 17 in Jasper
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Village Cabin Resort - Jasper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Village Cabin Resort - Jasper

Address: Highway 93A North | 2 km south of Downtown Jasper, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Jasper
#1 Family Hotel in Jasper
Price Range: £71 - £266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a beautiful wooded area of the Canadian Rockies, Alpine Village Cabin Resort is ideally situated across from the sparkling Athabasca River in Jasper National Park. 50 rocky mountain style log cabins are spaciously set in a natural pine forest of 11 acres located 2km south of downtown Jasper. Alpine Village Cabin Resort boasts a panoramic view of the Athabasca River with Mount Edith Cavell towering in the background. Ideal for honeymoons, family vacation and friends. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alpine Village Cabin Resort - Jasper Hotel Jasper National Park
Alpine Village Jasper National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing