We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”
Review of Athabasca Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Athabasca Hotel
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Probably the best value in town.
Since I was traveling by train and planning on video filming the train action around Jasper yard/station, it was the perfect location. Within walking distance of the action, but without the noise from the idling diesel engines.
Restaurants and shops close by i.e. everything within walking distance. AND .... the price was right, too!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TheOldRailfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (332)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

172 - 178 of 332 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2014

Stayed here on my first and second visit to Jasper. Great location bang in the centre of it all! Rooms are nice - have everything you need. Good service, near the pubs and restaurants all walking distance. Would definitely be my first choice going back. Great value for money too :)

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MariaWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Hotel very well located downtown. Nice view of the mountains. Room very clean and fancy.
Big plasma Tv screen. Near, you have restaurants, grocery store, laundrymat (very practical) if you spend more than a week in Jasper. Via Rail and Greyhound station is 2 minutes walk.
Tourism office is very near as well. Hotel has a resto-bistro as well. Room service from the resto. (food over priced though). Also a movie theater near. In the room, you have a sink but no toilet.
Hotel has common toilet and shower for men and women only.
Hotel has 3 levels but no elevator. Ice and soda-pop machine available.
Lobby decor is really nice and quite original. Check the picture
Courteous and nice staff.
Lots of tours available (pick ups and drop offs direct to hotel). Many walking trails to discover the beauty of Jasper. (just 2 minutes walk from hotel). You can see many wildlife animals in town.
Only inconvenience - some people let the door of the common bathroom bang during the night.
No respect for those who have a room just in front of the washroom.
However, had very nice stay. Would definitely re-book a room anytime.

Room Tip: Take a room to the front of hotel to have a better view of the mountains. Room away from the commo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank P B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This hotel has been here for years and I had never thought to try it before. I was greatly surprised at how well kept and clean this place was. The rooms are very clean and had that old charm about them. The room we had was small but very adequate. No it didn't have a coffee maker but the coffee in the restaurant was well worth the trip downstairs to get. The only down for this old beauty is that there is no elevator. So some people may find this a little bit of a struggle but they did tell me when I was checking in. I stayed down the street at the Jasper Inn as well and I will say that the Athabasca is by far a better a stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Stayed for one night on a driving trip of BC and the Rockies.

Check-in was fine and the staff helpful.

The room was spotlessly clean and spacious.

There was a large TV and great view of the nearby mountains, not sure what the view would be if on the other side of the hotel.

The only issues were no tea or coffee making facilities in the room and the WiFi was so slow it was un-usable in our room.

The WiFi was good in the other end of the hotel and in Smitty's Restaurant on the opposite of the road.

I mentioned the WiFi on leaving and was advised it was in hand to get in better shape.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JackRussell1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Arrived late at night and the front desk were helpful, got two rooms at very good rates. The rooms were spacious and comfortable, could not complain about them. The attached bar and restaurant had a decent feel to them, breakfast was very good. Good location near the heart of Jasper and there was parking next door.
The hotel may not be anything special, but is great for a cheap night in Jasper.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

The hotel itself is in the centre if town, which is handy for grabbing dinner, but as almost everywhere you go from Jasper you drive to, now that I've been here I would opt to stay further down the road in a nicer hotel. Rooms at the athabasca were clean, but on the small side. I had a room with a shared bathroom, but was surprised that this consisted of just one female toilet and one female shower (in the same room but segregated by individual stall doors) for a large number of guest rooms on the floor using it. Furthermore the door on the toilet stall is so low that standing up you are face to face with anyone that walks into the bathroom! Most hostels I've stayed in have better and more extensive shared bathroom facilities, so I expected at least equivalent quality from a hotel.

Staff here were also pretty grumpy - checking in seemed like a big inconvenience for the lady behind the desk.

All that said, for $100 it's probably the cheapest hotel room in town, so if you're just passing through for one night, it would be fine. If you're here for longer though I'd look at other options along the road.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoJ_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.9 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
0.4 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
446 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tonquin Inn
Tonquin Inn
#15 of 17 in Jasper
1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Jasper Inn & Suites
0.5 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
1,624 reviews
0.8 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athabasca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athabasca Hotel

Address: 510 Patricia St | Box 1420, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Price Range: £66 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Athabasca Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Athabasca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athabasca Hotel Jasper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing