We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel”
Review of Athabasca Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Athabasca Hotel
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This is a lovely hotel which is very central for everything in Jasper. I had a room that had an en-suite. I don't think I would have liked the idea of going down the corridor for the shower and toilet, even if it was slightly cheaper. I had a problem with the height of the bed - I'm only short and the height of the bed was level with my waist!!! So be warned if you are given room 115. I also found it quite noisy, as my room was on the front of the hotel and people were standing outside the bar area - but this didn't go on too late.
Overall, I would certainly stay here again if I ever visit Jasper again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank specky_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    128
    63
    31
    29
See reviews for
51
134
31
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Our stay was quite enjoyable. The staff, especially the manager, was quite helpful to us during our stay. We had breakfast at the hotel restaurant which was quite convenient. We would recommend this hotel to all.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R.B. S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
125 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

with most hotels full, we managed to get a room at this hotel for just $114 per night. we read the reviews and so were pleasantly surprised. Yes the room is small but we were only planning to sleep in it, and yes we had to share a bathroom, again we only needed a place to shower daily. The room had a sink so we could do our teeth etc which was a bonus. The dining room provided all we needed for food, there was ample areas for socialising, and Dave the barman with the mustache was extremely knowledgeable on the surrounding all reasonable including where to get the best sandwich in town. We enjoyed Jasper so much we extended our stay for all reason other two nights which Erin on reception accommodated us with. We were on the second floor at the opposite end to the nightclub so noise was not an issue. Step out of the door and you were in the midst of downtown Jasper. So if you are just looking for a place to eat and shower at a reasonable price in the perfect location this is ideal.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mechelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Located near the train station and right downtown on Patricia Street, the Athabasca Hotel was a great find. At the beginning of the week, we stayed in Jasper for two nights at guesthouse from a private residence. While it was nice to have the space, it lacked privacy since the family lived on the property, in fact, it had an adjoining door from their house to our space which the owner didn’t hesitate to use. After spending most of the week in Lake Louise and Banff we decided to return to Jasper, this time reserving a room at the Athabasca Hotel based on a write up in our guidebook. We called the day before arriving and booked a room with a queen sized bed, sink in room and shared bathroom. We paid $114CAD. We could have reserved a room with a bathroom for $175CAD, but we didn’t mind sharing to save some money. It worked out just fine since the bathroom was right across the hall and having the sink in the room was also convenient. The room was clean and nicely decorated. It did get loud at night, especially when the bar let out, but I slept with earplugs and didn’t hear a thing. I believe they have rooms located away from the noise, so if it is a problem definitely ask them about it. The hotel does not have A/C but a ceiling fan and open windows were perfect during our stay in July. This hotel also does not have an elevator, but we prefer the stairs anyway. The staff was flexible with our checkout time, allowing us another hour, which was very helpful for our travel schedule that day. We really enjoyed our stay at the Athabasca Hotel in Jasper and only wished we had started out our trip there as well.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washougal, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I agree with Jackie1806. Like her, we were unable to find other hotels. Our room was beautifully decorated with antique furniture and lovely drapes, but dinky. Had no air conditioning, no place to put things, was noisy from the nightclub below. The ads called it a boutique hotel, and is priced accordingly, but certainly not worth the cost.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Jasper hotels

Calgary
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The rooms are small but very comfortable. Bed was very comfortable and we enjoyed a great quiet sleep. They could use an upgrade on their bath towels though. Location of this hotel is great as it is located in the centre of downtown Jasper and within short walking distances of restaurants, shops and grocery stores. Breakfast was great in the hotel restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CalgaryAngel001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed at the Athabasca hotel after a long hike and car trouble. The staff were extremely accomodating and helpful and assisted us above and beyond what we could hope for in getting our needs cared for. Our rooms and beds were comfortable and we had a great view from our window. The hotel is conveniently located in central Jasper townsite so we could walk everywhere. It was reasonably priced. It is very clean, convenient, reasonable and accomodating. A good choice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacquie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.4 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.8 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Maligne Lodge
Maligne Lodge
#14 of 17 in Jasper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
0.7 mi away
Tonquin Inn
Tonquin Inn
#15 of 17 in Jasper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athabasca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athabasca Hotel

Property: Athabasca Hotel
Address: 510 Patricia St | Box 1420, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Athabasca Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Athabasca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athabasca Hotel Jasper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing