We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value”
Review of Maligne Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Maligne Lodge
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Sherwood Park, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Value”
Reviewed 31 March 2011

Clean motel style rooms. No complaints. Kids loved it!

Room Tip: The Family & Pool Suites are awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madajen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    216
    206
    87
    53
See reviews for
195
270
38
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2011

We stayed here for one night while skiing at Marmot. WE got the B and B package - altho we never did get breakfast (the price was still way cheaper than any other package).

We initially were given rooms that had windows opening to the indoor swimming pool. The room was very big and new-ish. but the pool right outside our door made it humid. Also, there was a screaming pack of hyenas in the pool which made it impossible to get a nap after a day of skiing. So we requested to be moved - which they did immediately.

We were moved to a room which faced the street, but wasn't noisy. This room was much smaller than the previous on and was older. It was adequate for our needs however and the bed was comfortable.

Like noted, we woke up too late for breakfast, which was fine for us since we were heading out that day anyway.

Best thing is they give you 35% off your next stay if you fill out a survey online.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderingBrunette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cmanapul, Assistant Manager at Maligne Lodge, responded to this review, 1 May 2011
Thank you for your comment. We are glad to hear that you found our price affordable and had a good sleep. Please feel free to let us know if there is anything we can improve on. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2011

We stayed one night on our way to Edmonton. The beds were so small we could not even both fit in one yet it on our reservation that they were two queens. There is no way they were, although comfortable. I would not let my family shower as the tubs were disgusting as well as the carpets gross. Very noisy but there was a hockey team there that night. We only paid 84.00 but still not worth the money. They screwed up when we paid for it as we paid cash but they forgot to relase the credit card hold and had to call 5 days later to tell them. The lady that messed up was the one on the phone and would not let us talk to the manager, finally she passed it to her and it was taken care of very rudely and with no apologises. This place left such a bad taste in our mouth I don't even want to go to that town again. Oh and the parking ridicoulus the stalls were way to small and we have a small car and it was so tight to try to get in and out. The lobby bathrooms were old, dingy and gross. The rooms toliet ran all night too. Good luck to anyone that wants to brave this one!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gweatki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cmanapul, Assistant Manager at Maligne Lodge, responded to this review, 1 May 2011
Thank you for your opinion. We are sorry to hear that you did not have a good stay. We at the Maligne Lodge take matters like these seriously and we try and rectify any issues that occur immediately. The length of time for releasing pre-authorization on a credit card varies with each bank even if we release it at property level. We hope you will still give us a chance to let you see the beauty of Jasper and if there any other issues, our office is open 24 hours a day and you can give us a call anytime so we can try and solve any problems or issues with your room to make your stay a pleasant one. Thank you once again for your opinion and please feel free to e-mail us any suggestions so we can improve our guest service and quality standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Jasper hotels

Grande Prairie, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 20 March 2011

We stayed here while skiing in Jasper and loved the hotel. The beds were comfortable, the room was large which was great as we were traveling with another family. The furniture was older and full of character - I wanted to take some of it home with me! The room had a full dining room, living room, kitchen, separate sauna and we could walk right out of our room to the pool - great for the kids and the parents. The room was not noisy at all which I was afraid of because of the pool. The room had a games table that you could play chess or checkers on. We will definately be back next year!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123bulford456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2011

Recently stayed for the first time; booked online using a bed and breakfast rate, only to check in and discover it did not extend to our 2 children which was not indicated on the website. Front staff were dismissive with my complaint. Further, restaurant was closed and had to travel to another hotel for breakfast. Neighbor with a barking dog disrupted our sleep. Pool change room dirty and 'shower' was essentially a pipe coming out of the wall, no shower head.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leisenbeis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cmanapul, Assistant Manager at Maligne Lodge, responded to this review, 1 May 2011
Thank you for your comment. We have brought your comment regarding the website to our Head Office to ensure accuracy of information. As we are in the process of slowly renovating our property, we have been conducting thorough room checks and preventative maintenance to ensure that any issues in the rooms are being fixed and taken care of. We hope you will still stay with us in the future so we can show you other rooms and amenities our property has to offer. Thank you once again for your comment and we are very open to any comments to further improve our guest service and the quality of our rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2011

March 2011 - Stayed the weekend at the the Maligne Lodge while skiing in Jasper. Had never stayed at that "end" of Jasper as always thought of the hotels as old and grungy. Was very impressed! Small, but well appointed room, comfortable bed with good sheets. For a basic hotel, it was great. All staff were very friendly and helpful. Hot tubs and pool area great. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abcd95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2011

My wife and I stayed here last April long weekend. We had travelled from Banff to Jasper and stayed for 2 nights in this hotel. After having 2 great nights in Banff we were very dissapointed with the accomodations at the Maligne. The whole place looks run down and the rooms were dirty looking. I feel that the hotel web site is a little misleading, because the hotel room we stayed in was nothing like the pictures on the web site. our room was located on the bottom floor, corner of the building and all night we could hear people marching up and down the stairs. The rooms are far from soundproof and we could hear people outside our room all night. the TV had terrible reception and was not worth watching. I would not recommend staying here.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CB_Highlander10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cmanapul, Front Office Manager at Maligne Lodge, responded to this review, 9 March 2011
Thank you for your feedback and we appreciate your honest opinion. We are sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience on your last stay and we weren’t able to meet your expectations. Since your last stay, we have started our renovation plans in our property which includes new bedding, new carpet and new flat screen TV’s which we are hoping that all rooms will be completed by the end of 2011. Thank you once again for your feedback and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.9 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tonquin Inn
Tonquin Inn
#15 of 17 in Jasper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
1.3 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,433 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
1.1 mi away
Best Western Jasper Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maligne Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maligne Lodge

Property: Maligne Lodge
Address: 912 Connaught Dr., Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maligne Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quietly nestled at the end of Jasper's main street where the mountains meet the town site, Maligne Lodge offers a relaxing haven in which guests can retreat after an adventurous day. Mornings bring the refreshing smell of crisp mountain air and evenings, the chance to relax by a crackling fire. Days, are wide open for guests to enjoy, whether on an action-packed outing on the slopes or a peaceful exploration of the landscape below. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotelopia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maligne Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maligne Hotel Jasper
Maligne Lodge Jasper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing