We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean and quiet”
Review of Maligne Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maligne Lodge
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Reviewed 29 November 2013

the motel was quiet because of the time of year, but i enjoyed my stay. the room is away from the strip of restaurants so if you enjoy being out of the center, it is a good option. 5 minute walk from the shops. we had a king size bed; the mattress was fine but the pillows were extremely uncomfortable. i avoided the hot tub because every time i looked there was 6 people in it. very very clean rooms!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanna_banana1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Maligne Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Yes we are a great location with easy access to shops and entertainment. I am glad that you found our rooms very clean and that you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your comments and look forward to seeing again on your next visit to Jasper.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (744)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

371 - 377 of 744 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2013

This place doubles in prices in the summer, therefore I would never book it during this time as it's not worth that kind of money. But this hotel is normally pretty cheap during the winter, staff is friendly, good ski and stay deals, small but nice hot tub, ncie rooms. It's my go to place for skiing season.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katana107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Maligne Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Maligne Lodge. It is great to read that we are your "go to place for skiing" and that you took advantage of our excellent ski package deals. My friendly and helpful staff hope to host you again on your next ski vacation in Jasper.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Jasper is an expensive town for any accommodations, and looking for a cost-effective option as a solo traveler just staying one night, I located this property on-line. I was forewarned with the less-than-positive reviews but they had an $89 TripAdvisor special going for October, so I called and booked it. I did find them to be "nickel-and-dimey" in requiring full non-refundable pre-payment in order to book this rate, and they were completely inflexible about it on the phone even though I implied I was shopping around.

The nickel-and-dimey attitude continued upon check-in, where they have you initial a sheet 3 times: You will agree to pay if you smoke, have pets, or damage anything in the room. Well, I arrived in my room, and the phone message light was flashing but there were no messages. I was not willing to have that light flashing all night, so I called to see if they could turn it off. They didn't know how, and offered to move me to another room, but I had already settled in. Then, the windows shade wand came off in my hand. I called again and told them I was concerned they would charge me for "breaking" something in the room, so they sent someone up to verify my complaints. I totally felt "guilty until proven innocent". The kid they sent up agreed these were not my fault (again, imagine feeling treated like this), and I just unplugged the phone for the night to solve the light issue.

On the plus side (why they still get 3 (average) stars): The bed was comfortable, the plumbing was all good, and it was clean and I slept well.

Still, due to this management attitude, I would not stay here again and would not recommend unless budget is your primary concern.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveR19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Maligne Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor. I glad to read that you had a good sleep and that you found our beds comfortable. Non-refundable rates are standard throughout the industry and are therefore highly discounted. Your comments regarding the "attitude" you received from the staff have been brought to the attention of my Assistant Manager and we will ensure that this is rectified.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Very comfortable, affordable hotel in the heart of the Rockies. Who could ask for better! Hotel staff courteous, large, clean room, comfortable beds, quiet location just far enough from "downtown" but close enough to walk. Free parking, indoor pool access via outside. Would def recommend.

Room Tip: Bigger suites have access to indoor pool from inside the hotel; whereas single rooms must enter the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LuvdaRockies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Maligne Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

We appreciate you sharing your kind words on Trip Advisor. It is great to know that we fulfilled your every need with friendly service and a clean room. Customer satisfaction is a practice that we take very seriously at the Maligne Lodge and we hope to have another opportunity to serve you again. Thank you for the recommendation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The Maligne Lodge is unfortunately, at best, a very average, overpriced motel located at the end of Connaught Drive in Jasper. The room was "snug" with not a lot of room to unpack suitcases and the shower, whilst warm and powerful, dripped all night which was noticeable even with the door shut. The on site restaurant however gave a very good value breakfast at $12 per person with kids eating free.
This motel is very basic, and we would not stay here again. Jasper is a VERY expensive town for accommodations, but pay a little extra and try elsewhere.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellerGoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Maligne Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

We are very glad to have been a part of your Canadian Rockies adventure. We are truly sorry that we were unable to meet your expectations during your stay with us. Please be assured that we consistently do rate comparisons with other hotels in Jasper to ensure that we remain competitive. Thank you for posting your comments. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Maybe you're like me. You really aren't too concerned about the decor. A quiet place and a comfortable bed in a clean affordable room is what matters. Well, I really liked the Maligne Lodge in Jasper. There were little amenities that really mattered to me. Like Laundry facilities. And the use of a computer for free. And a really friendly and helpful staff. And the use of a microwave in the lobby. The breakfast was overpriced and really bad. If you want something affordable go to the A&W about three blocks away. It's not in a steam tray and is cooked fresh.

Room Tip: I don't know if they have a fitness room or room service.Really don't need a fitness room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Maligne Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us at the Maligne Lodge. It is our top priority to provide our guests with a positive experience while visiting us and we thank you very much for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Maligne Lodge on your next vacation to the Canadian Rockies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We stopped at this hotel as part of a weekend get away. Since we spent most of our time outdoors we were not in the hotel room very much. We did however love the beds and the size of the room. The hotel from the outside is older but the rooms are fresh and updated. We will for sure be staying there again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunshinekissed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Maligne Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. It's always great to read feedback from our guests. Should you find yourself back in Jasper, we hope to have you as our guest. Please contact me directly so that I can assist with the planning of your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper hotels
1.3 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
984 reviews
0.9 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
454 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Tonquin Inn
Tonquin Inn
#15 of 17 in Jasper
1,104 reviews
1.2 mi away
Chateau Jasper
Chateau Jasper
#8 of 17 in Jasper
889 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Jasper Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maligne Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maligne Lodge

Address: 912 Connaught Dr., Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Price Range: £73 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maligne Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quietly nestled at the end of Jasper's main street where the mountains meet the town site, Maligne Lodge offers a relaxing haven in which guests can retreat after an adventurous day. Mornings bring the refreshing smell of crisp mountain air and evenings, the chance to relax by a crackling fire. Days, are wide open for guests to enjoy, whether on an action-packed outing on the slopes or a peaceful exploration of the landscape below. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Maligne Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maligne Hotel Jasper
Maligne Lodge Jasper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing