We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very satisfied”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Maligne Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Maligne Lodge
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very satisfied”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

We found that the hotel was very cozy , make us feel like we're not that far from home . The fact that it was pet friendly made everything much easier . For a hotel that often has animals in it it was very clean and tidy . The location was just perfect , access to a hot tub & pool and delicious breakfasts & not too long of a drive to the mountains .

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shunia2230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Maligne Lodge, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
I am glad to hear that your stay with us made you feel you were close to home. Being pet friendly, having a good location, great amenities and wonderful breakfast are a few of our many selling points. Thank you for your review. It will be a pleasure to serve you again on your next visit to Jasper.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    210
    203
    86
    52
See reviews for
189
266
37
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jasper National Park, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

We booked in for two days at this place for three people and a pet. Reached around 8 pm and were given the dingy room. No exhaust fan in the bathroom, thermostat wasn't working, gloomy and dark. After putting the Air Conditioner (which was making all sorts of noise), the room did not cool even till the next morning. Vessels in the kitchenette were not cleaned properly. Had to clean it before using. Electric kettle was very dirty. They did not advise us the extra charge for pet but charged us $25 when we checked out in the morning next day!!! Other nice places charge only $15. No courtesy to offer any discount for all the discomfort that we faced during the entire night.
HORRIBLE, DINGY - HIGHLY PRICED. Would never ever recommend. If you want to save all the suffering, avoid this place.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nandini2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Maligne Lodge, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for submitting your comments about your recent stay at the Maligne Lodge. I am disappointed to read that our housekeeping was not up to par and I have spoken with my Housekeeping Department. Charging pet fees is standard industry practice and varies from a one time charge to either a daily charge which is set by hotel policy. The exhaust fan in the bathroom is a venting system which does not need to be controlled by a switch in order for it to work. We are very sorry that we did not create a positive experience for you and hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve on your next visit to Jasper.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Jasper hotels

Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

We wanted a kitchen and the Maligne Lodge was the only one available for our stay. Our room was on the ground floor poolside and bedroom was right at the hot tub. At first we were disappointed thinking it was going to be noisy. There was some noise, kids in the pool and older folk in the hot tub, but not at all upsetting. The king size bed in the BR was incredibly comfortable. Kitchen was small but efficient. Furnishings were tired and a bit dated, but cozy and comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Maligne Lodge, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel with other travelers. It's always great to read feedback from our guests. We are delighted that we were a "nice surprise" for you and that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Maligne Lodge on your next visit to Jasper.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monmouth, Oregon
Level Contributor
186 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

Very much a good value kind of place. Clean, inexpensive, good service, and perfect access to all the wonderful things that are Jasper. The room was small, but big enough for two and although there was a restaurant on site, we never found ourselves there at meal time. Parking was easy and free. If we return to Jasper, (we'd like to,) we would stay here. We were on an extended road trip and it was a perfect choice.

Room Tip: ask for a room in the back, away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Maligne Lodge, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
It's great to hear that we were a perfect choice for your stay in Jasper. Great value, clean, good service and free parking are just a few of our many selling points. Should you find yourself back in Jasper on your next extended road trip, we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Maligne Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

We booked a King double room in January as part of our road trip, considering it's high ski season I am really impressed with the price and location. It's dead easy to find if you are coming up the Icefields Parkway (first hotel on the left) and likewise if you are travelling in the other direction it's the last before you leave town.
There is a hot tub (we did not use it though) and the room is good, the shower was lovely, and although I am not one for softer beds it was like a massive hug and I really did not want to get out of bed in the morning.
If you are staying here, I cannot recommend enough, that you walk straight down the main road into town and go to the "Downstream" for dinner... it was so nice and made the night in Jasper perfect.
Check in (and out) was easy

Room Tip: We had a king double, I am not sure what other rooms are available but I can highly recommend room 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tweeklet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Maligne Lodge, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
We appreciate you sharing your kind words on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and would recommend us!. Hopefully we can welcome you back to the Maligne Lodge on your next visit to Jasper and the Canadian Rockies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

Price was good ($89.00 before taxes). Great customer service during check-in & check-out. Comfortable bed. Room was clean and in good condition. Nice size room. Great place for the price, especially being in Jasper.

Room Tip: 2nd floor facing the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bcguy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Maligne Lodge, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your comments and feedback and I am glad to see that you received great customer service, a comfortable bed and a good rate. Hopefully we can welcome you back to the Maligne Lodge in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
126 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

We drove through a terrible snow storm with very icy roads and decided we couldn't make it further than Jasper that night. Maligne Lodge had room for our family and our dog. While room was very tiny with 2 double beds squished in, it was handy with small fridge and good flat screen tv. Both my son and I agreed that the beds, although small (we are used to king beds), were extremely comfortable - possibly the best we had ever slept in. Certainly fine enough hotel room for what we needed. Bathroom was pretty clean (tiny bit of dirt behind door). Must admit tile floors in bathroom were freezing (outside temperature of -20 degrees didn't help!). Good price as we got a holiday discount ($89 for 2 double beds is pretty amazing deal for Jasper, plus $29 for pet).

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pplJudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Maligne Lodge, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
We appreciate you sharing your comments on Trip Advisor. I am glad that we were able to accommodate during very inclement weather. I was happy to hear the positive aspects of your stay - extremely comfortable beds, clean bathroom and good price. Your feedback is appreciated and we look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Jasper.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.9 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tonquin Inn
Tonquin Inn
#15 of 17 in Jasper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
1.3 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,408 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Jasper Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maligne Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maligne Lodge

Property: Maligne Lodge
Address: 912 Connaught Dr., Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maligne Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quietly nestled at the end of Jasper's main street where the mountains meet the town site, Maligne Lodge offers a relaxing haven in which guests can retreat after an adventurous day. Mornings bring the refreshing smell of crisp mountain air and evenings, the chance to relax by a crackling fire. Days, are wide open for guests to enjoy, whether on an action-packed outing on the slopes or a peaceful exploration of the landscape below. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maligne Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maligne Hotel Jasper
Maligne Lodge Jasper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing