We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the price being charged”
Review of Maligne Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Maligne Lodge
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Reviewed 30 August 2014

My sister and I booked this (Lodge?) through booking. Com. What the photos show on the Lodge is not quite correct. There is an older part behind the newer building. It is old. With very small bathrooms with no ventilation in it. The carpets are stained, the wall paint is chipped off in some areas of the bedroom itself, the furniture is dated, this is just a hotel and over priced for what you get. The restaurant is only open for breakfast and we did not see the bar open at all to even have a drink on the deck in the evening, you have to go down town for that, why have a deck then? We stayed for 4 nights and were told because we wanted a standard room with 2 queen beds they are all located in the older building, which is not shown on the net. The newer building you see photos off might be nicer, not sure of it. Would never stay there again. Also the hot tub is very small, only 3 persons could fit comfortably

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for the new building at the front, not the older building in the back ,if you choo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Margaret F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Maligne Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your recent stay at the Maligne Lodge. Our team was very disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay at our hotel. All of the rooms (front building and back building) have the same bedding and the back building's furniture has been replaced within the last year as part of our annual renovation program. The bar is actually our new café The Wicked Cup which has only been open for 2 months. We are still in the process of determining the direction regarding opening hours and we apologize that you were unable to enjoy a beverage on the patio. We are sorry that we did not create a positive experience during your visit to our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (749)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

327 - 333 of 749 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2014

Jasper accommodation is expensive any time so we got what we expected. Room was comfortable and clean. Good quality bedding and towels. Room in the pool area, a little noisy until 10pm but not a real problem. The real problem was the person who started a cross country run on the treadmill in the gym at 6.45 am must have woken most of the other guests up as well as us. A phone call to reception was dealt with by an immediate response to remind the person that the equipment should not be used at that time. Other problem with pool area room is that it is brightly lit throughout the night so our room was never dark as the light shone through the curtains.
Was happy enough with the hotel, the staff at reception were helpful, pleasant and friendly. Breakfast was $12 , buffet style. Ample choice, hot food was fresh . Could have gone into town but it was more convenient and again the staff pleasant and helpful. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank churchmouse33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Maligne Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback from our guests. We are glad to read that you found your room comfortable and that you enjoyed the bedding and towels. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Maligne Lodge on your next visit to Jasper and the Canadian Rockies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

This average motel is at the south edge of Jasper, so one must drive to the restaurants. It is expensive compared to motels like it elsewhere, but that seems to be the case for all of Jasper -- no real lodging bargains. No complaints though -- clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Maligne Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at the Maligne Lodge. Thank you for your compliments about our clean and comfortable rooms. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

As we drove past this hotel our stomachs turned and we were really worried as we opened the door to our room. We were pleasantly surprised as we entered the room, the decor was pleasant, the room clean and the bed comfortable. This was the 3rd hotel we stayed in in the Rockies and as we learnt pretty quickly, don't expect anything special from any hotels unless you are travelling between Fairmont hotels. There was ample parking and the hotel is conveniently situated just a little walk from the centre of town, not that town is very big! We picked this hotel as it was basically the only one available so we probably wouldn't stay here again as we would look at something better. That said, there wasn't much wrong with it. We found this overpriced as others have. But having said that, when the place is completely booked during peak tourist periods, they can probably charge as much as they like!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L1am29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Maligne Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Thank you for your comments. We are thrilled that you were pleasantly surprised with your room and that you found the room clean and comfortable. Rest assured that we are continually comparing hotel room rates to ensure that we remain competitively priced with other hotels in Jasper. Hopefully we can welcome you back to the Maligne Lodge on your next visit to Jasper.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

the room photos were pretty accurate, and when you drive up to the place, it looks more like an travelodge type hotel. Definitely not worth the prices we paid that's for sure. It was almost double what we paid in banff. If you go to Jasper, definitely book early, hotel rooms seem to book up really fast during the summer. Our room was on the main level and had a bit of a musty smell when we went in. It went away after turing on the air conditioning for a while, but it's not very pleasant when you first walk into the room. Also, you can hear pretty much everything from the people upstairs. Doesn't seem to have any soundproofing at all. So if you're a light sleeper, perhaps ask for a room on the upper floor. Breakfast was also not included, which I thought was quite a rip off for the price we paid, but at least wifi was included.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlee98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Maligne Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Maligne Lodge. We offer our sincere apologies for falling short of your expectations. Our room rates, although seemingly high, are very competitive with the room rates being offered by the hotels in Jasper. Your comments regarding the inclusion of breakfast with the room rate are being taken into consideration as we move forward.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The room was quite spacious and had a wonderful set up for a family with two kids. There was one queen bed and two twin beds in the room. The beds were very comfortable and the room was clean. We enjoying walking and it took us only about 10 - 15 minutes to downtown from the hotel. The hotel was also affordable, which is hard to come in Jasper. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank karleeknoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Maligne Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at the Maligne Lodge. Great value, spacious, comfortable rooms and location are just a few of our many selling points! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you would recommend us. All of the staff and management look forward to serving you again on a return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I stayed at the Maligne Lodge for a couple nights while on a girls trip with 3 friends. We ended up booking our stay late and this was the only hotel left that was affordable for us. We were very active and were not in our rooms very much but we were pleasantly surprised with our stay. The rooms were quiet, clean and equipped with good air conditioning and a mini fridge. The location was great, just a walk away from all the stores and restaurants. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room was located at the center of the hotel and we had no problem with noise from other rooms or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank C R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Maligne Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to see that you were pleasantly surprised and that you would definitely stay with us again. All of the staff and management look forward to welcoming you back on your next girls trip to Jasper and the Canadian Rockies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper hotels
1.3 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
997 reviews
1.2 mi away
Chateau Jasper
Chateau Jasper
#8 of 17 in Jasper
901 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tonquin Inn
Tonquin Inn
#15 of 17 in Jasper
1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
465 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
0.1 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
1,691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maligne Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maligne Lodge

Address: 912 Connaught Dr., Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Price Range: £62 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maligne Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quietly nestled at the end of Jasper's main street where the mountains meet the town site, Maligne Lodge offers a relaxing haven in which guests can retreat after an adventurous day. Mornings bring the refreshing smell of crisp mountain air and evenings, the chance to relax by a crackling fire. Days, are wide open for guests to enjoy, whether on an action-packed outing on the slopes or a peaceful exploration of the landscape below. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Maligne Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maligne Hotel Jasper
Maligne Lodge Jasper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing