We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money”
Review of Maligne Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Maligne Lodge
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
sherwood park
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
Reviewed 19 January 2009

Bathrooms were run down, dishwasher didn't work because they looked like they were from the 70's along with the oven. The dry sauna is a waste of time and money if you are wanting to get a room with one in it. The kitchen cabinets looked like they were purchased from an old hotel that was being torn down, the room's are very slapped together. Do not expect a fit and finish room. At 320 dollars a night for the room with a kitchenette.
One very small indoor hot for the hotel, comfortably maybe six adults and how many rooms does it have? If you want to use the hot tub get in line just like everyone else. The parking sucks. If you want to get a good spot and keep it,get there early and do not use your vehicle for the entire weekend. The only thing I enjoyed was the size of the rooms and the beds.

  • Liked — The beds
  • Disliked — The price
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank transam832402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    233
    215
    94
    53
See reviews for
203
294
41
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pembroke, Ontario
1 review
Reviewed 6 November 2008

Decided on this hotel as a friend recommended it. Stayed 3 days. Kind of expensive but worth it just for the bed alone. I've never had a more comfortable sleep! Check in went smoothly and quickly with a very friendly and helpful staff. They recommended their bed and breakfast package which we took as it was just slightly more than the room by itself. The service in the restaurant was very nice and we had a very friendly server. The room itself was quite clean and nicely decorated but the carpets should be replaced as they look old. The bathroom was clean and had all the ammenities that we needed. The outdoor hot tub was very nice after a long day but the internet availability was not very good. Poor signal. Overall, quite a nice stay. Would recommend to my friends as well.

  • Liked — The very comfortable bed and friendly front desk staff
  • Disliked — Internet connection
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Liblet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CANADA
1 review
Reviewed 26 October 2008

I had a wicked trip in Jasper, I stayed at the Maligne Lodge for 2 nights with my boyfriend and everything was just perfect. Very friendly staff, we had the chance to meet the executive housekeeper, Daniel Paquet, who made sure that would have an awesome stay. We had a king size bed in a first floor room - thing that we really appreciated because we didn’t have to walk up and down the stairs all the time ! The room was cleaned and refilled with new towels and coffee and they even washed our dishes after our first night. The outdoor hot tub was very enjoyable after a big day and very clean. Only few dollars for an unforgettable weekend !! Thank you guys, keep up the good work !

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank WICKEDCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pickering
1 review
Reviewed 25 October 2008

We recently stayed at Maligne Lodge, we really enjoyed ourselves. We had a separate bedroom, so our son could stay up and watch TV. The pool and hot tub were very relaxing and clean. The staff was friendly and seem to enjoy their job. The front desk staff was expecially helpful. We will definetly go back

  • Liked — the size of the rooms, comfy beds, and friendly staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PickeringTravelnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern bc
1 review
Reviewed 20 October 2008

We are two couples, one from northern BC, one from Calgary. Our rooms, although they were down a flight of stairs on the ground floor were great. The staff were very professional and you can tell that management is doing their job well. The rooms were spotless, the amenities were great, the bed and pillows were fabulous. There was lots of wood for our fireplaces. You can't get a better room in Jasper for the price. And I know cause I used to work and live there.
Way to go folks, it was great - see you next year!

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank northernbcgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2008

I was very disappointed by the staying experience, the followings are some of my complains:
1- To start it was not inexpensive, so paying what I paid make me expect more. It was CAD$102 a night in the value season.
2- The room was in the first floor, with a big window that makes me feel I'm staying in the street, I had to close the curtains in order to feel some privacy, even I believe we could be heard from outside.
3- The carpet was stained with big yellow stain, it gave us an impression about the cleanness.
4- The room looked like it was designed for little people, I barely could sit on the toilet seat as it was very smll and made us all very uncomfortable.
5- The Internet slow and usage is limited by 6 hours a day, nevertheless I was cut off after 30 mins of my usage claiming I exceeded my download limit (nothing was mentioned about a download limit in the rules) even though I was just browsing the news and didn't download or viewed any videos.

I'm not a picky person, but I have minimum expectations and they weren't met in this hotel, I was pissed of especially about the toilet and the internet. That is the minimum I expect in any hotel.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank northernstar2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Jasper hotels

UK
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2008

The website makes this look like a good 3* hotel, but in actuality it is nowhere near. The ordinary rooms are typical motel rooms - we were on the ground floor so needed to keep our curtains drawn during the day so that all our belongings were not on show. According to the Jasper hotel booklet, this was one of the cheapest hotels in Jasper - and you could tell. However, our travel agent was charged over the odds.

The room was generally OK, but very basic. The taps in the shower worked in opposite directions which made for either scalding or freezing water when you turned it off, until you worked out the system.

The carpet was not hoovered during our stay until we asked, then it was. However, this helped little with my husband's dust allergy, because the dust was obviously a long term issue.

The hotel was 10 minutes walk from the beginning of the town centre, so was not convenient at all.

The staff generally were helpful, but working under difficult circumstances

  • Liked — It was in Jasper
  • Disliked — Almost everything
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper hotels
1.4 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
1.2 mi away
Tonquin Inn
Tonquin Inn
#15 of 17 in Jasper
1,019 reviews
0.9 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#5 of 17 in Jasper
905 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#6 of 17 in Jasper
1,510 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Jasper Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maligne Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maligne Lodge

Property: Maligne Lodge
Address: 912 Connaught Dr., Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maligne Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quietly nestled at the end of Jasper's main street where the mountains meet the town site, Maligne Lodge offers a relaxing haven in which guests can retreat after an adventurous day. Mornings bring the refreshing smell of crisp mountain air and evenings, the chance to relax by a crackling fire. Days, are wide open for guests to enjoy, whether on an action-packed outing on the slopes or a peaceful exploration of the landscape below. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Maligne Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maligne Hotel Jasper
Maligne Lodge Jasper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing