We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WE will not be back here”
Review of Chateau Jasper

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chateau Jasper
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Mountain View, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“WE will not be back here”
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We were mislead by an online third party company called "the lodging company". They made us feel as if there are no rooms available here in Jasper. When we arrived Jasper, we saw so many "vacancy" board on many better hotels which on online showed as "no rooms". Later we realised this was a trap by the lodging company to sell the hotel rooms they are allotted. This place has so many Bed & Breakfast. Also please look into "private houses" if you are more than one family.

We asked for a room which can accomodate 2 families. The lodging company told us its going to be a big room. But when we came here, we realized it is a standard room [like any Holiday Inn double bed room] with one small "den" like room attached with a couch and a TV in it. This was not appropriiate for 2 families at all. When we came here, we realized we are paying high price for nothing. The bed was not at all comfortable. For 2 days we paid $615 and this hotel may be worth spending $100/day. The most chain hotels like Holiday Inn and Best Western are 5 times better than this one.

Bottom line - This hotel is not worth more than $100. If you are spending more than that, look for better options. There are many better ones. There are so many B&Bs around, don't even bother to book online.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saiju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    376
    235
    60
    27
See reviews for
168
440
29
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

I guess we where a bit late with booking our hotel in Jasper, but is was kind of a spontanious move.. We drove on sunday all the way to Jasper from Calgary arriving at 15.00.. but check in was at 16.00.. and it was raining :(
So after spending some more time spending in our car driving around Jasper we could finally check in. The room was clean, but very very old fashioned , the beds where a bit small too. The next day we had a breakfast (additional charge) buffet wich was nice, and this part looked like it was updated not too long ago, it looked more 2000-something instead of the 70-ties.. If you're staying in Jasper go and do the hike @ angel glacier on a sunny day, it's beautiful!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DTravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

I was a bit wary of booking here having read the mixed reviews on Trip Advisor. However I am glad we did. Our room was large, comfortable and clean (though the decor was quite dated). The reception and restaurant staff were very friendly.

We ate dinner in the hotel restaurant one night and the food and service were excellent, though the portions could have been larger.

Would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingIrishlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
308 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

A good hotel, we arrived by the Rocky Mountaineer train and collect our hire car at Jasper. Car needed for this hotel. 20 minutes walk to town of Jasper. Well worth going to, some excellent shops and ambience.
Reception staff mostly very helpful although staff on booking us in not very efficient.
Forgot to give us each a discount voucher book, which we received by pure luck halfway through our stay, and this booklet very useful.
We would stay at this hotel on a repeat visit

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

Stayed here 2 nights in July with kids 10 and 8. For some reason was expecting something a little nicer with the name, but that's probably just a bad assumption.

Rooms OK, beds not the most comfortable we've had on the trip (we found Ramada's more comfortable in general)

Arrived 3-ish in the afternoon and was a little disappointed that they didn't have our room available yet, they tried to switch to another room but then discovered that wasn't ready either after getting our hopes up. They then said check-in wasn't until 4, which we found a little surprising - most other places we've stayed have had no problem getting us into our rooms by early afternoon - which would have been appreciated after an early start in Banff and a long day driviing the Icefield Parkway with two kids in tow. Got better service later when I needed change for the coin-op laundry, front desk was very helpful then.

Pool was OK, breakfast area and food was OK. One interesting thing - when the breakfast bill came for the buffet service (where the waitress only brings you coffee or juice, you do the rest), they have 'fill in the blanks' spots for tips on the bill stating "15% - recommended for good service" and below that "20% - for excellent service". I agree with that completely for full service sit-down meals, but for buffet service? Wondering if they're 'working the foreign tourists' a bit with that one...and yes I get that these are minimum wage jobs and I generally tip pretty well - at least according to what I've Googled.

This hotel / motel and a couple of others are located at the far east end of Jasper, so it's a walk of a few blocks to get to main drag shopping and restaurants. We ate at L&W's (OK) and Earl's (Great) when we were there.

Net net, accommodations were just an OK experience for our family, but the town itself is beautiful and has a great vibe.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jack-pm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whistler, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights as part of our 6 week honeymoon in Canada and would have to say that we came away a little disappointed. The fittings and furnishings are extremely out-dated (looks like something out of the 1970's) and the facilities are shared amongst their 3 sister-hotels, so the laundry is off-site. They also promote 'Free WiFi' however it is the most abominable WiFi ever - it was terribly slow and that's only when we could actually get a connection!! We went the last 3 days without any internet at all and the HelpDesk number they give you is useless (they don't host their own internet connection). The elevator is also extremely noisy, and there is no-one to assist you with your luggage. On the plus side, it is conveniently located, the restaurant on site was outstanding and the rooms were clean (although the beds were extremely uncomfortable). Given the amount we paid though, I would have much preferred to fork out the extra $35 per night and stay at the Fairmont Jasper Lodge. Sorry - but wouldn't stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brisben86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

We spent two nights at Chateau Jasper. Overall, I would rate the hotel above average. Our room was quiet, large, well equipped and clean The bed was very comfortable. (My husband was pleased that the room had a kettle - he can't function without tea!) The pool looked very inviting although we didn't use it. The restaurant was good - we ate there one night and were well satisfied (but the service at breakfast was slow). The hotel was very busy with tour parties but the reception staff were efficient (although not particularly enthusiastic!). The hotel is rather a long walk from the town centre although we were lucky with the weather so we enjoyed the stroll. Had trouble with the wi-fi - kept losing connection which was annoying - perhaps it was the position of our room?

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ros27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.3 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
399 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
0.2 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Jasper Inn & Suites
1.1 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
1,540 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tonquin Inn
Tonquin Inn
#15 of 17 in Jasper
1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Jasper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Jasper

Property: Chateau Jasper
Address: 96 Geikie St, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau Jasper 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau Jasper reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Jasper Hotel Jasper
Chateau Hotel Jasper
Jasper Chateau Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing