We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Chateau Jasper

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chateau Jasper
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Reviewed 20 June 2012

We had emailed ahead in February and asked for a king bed room rather than 2 double beds. On arrival we were told that there are only 2 king bed rooms in the entire hotel and these had been allocated before the hotel recieved our request. What a shame. The staff at reception were quite brusque and not at all helpfull on check in. We asked about cashing travellers cheques and were told we could but only $10 and this was done very reluctantly. The receptionist next day advised us where we could go to be able to cash the cheques we had; this information would have been handy when we checked in!

The entire hotel is quite tired looking. Our double beds were very comfortable and we did sleep well. This was the only we stayed in on this trip with very poor reception on the TV, admittedly we only had this on first thing in the morning and last thing at night.

The pool was very nice although a bit cool for my taste.

We had the breakfast buffet the first morning and it was not very warm or very inspiring. There was no fresh milk on the table for coffee. We went elsehwere our second morning.

We had cocktails in the lounge and my husband discovered the Caesar. The young gentleman who served us told my husband that this was the best one he would ever have! After going on to try them at every opportunity after this, my husband agrees that he was correct!

The hotel is also a fair walk from the main town area - not ideal fro anyone with mobility issues.

Room Tip: Sadly; try elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sparra53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (879)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

627 - 633 of 879 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2012

After experiencing wonderful service in several hotels across Canada I was extremely disappointed with Chateau Jasper. A complimentary computer was positioned where there was no privacy. Meals in the dining room were basic and unexciting. The power in our room went off on the morning we were leaving and it took 3 phone calls to reception to get any action. The staff on reception were clearly under pressure and were short with guests. We overheard several complaints to them.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janette F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Jasper is not a big place and Chateau Jasper is located well within walking distance from the two main streets (or center of town) -- Patricia and Conaught.

Nice rooms but nothing out of the ordinary. Friendly staff and good service.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goavidtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Hotel was of a good standard throughout. Room was very spacious and the indoor pool was very welcoming. A short walk into the centre of Japser, about 10/15 minutes. Evening meal in the restaurant was very nice and staff were very efficient. The only negative is that a lot of tour companies use this hotel so when we arrived to check in, so were three coach loads of people! So the process took a long time which also meant breakfast the next morning was chaotic as the staff were under extreme pressure with the volume of people at the hotel from the tours.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WestMidlandsSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We came to Jasper skiing in February and stayed here. We loved it! The service was great, the room was really spacious and comfortable and the breakfast was really good too. It's not that far from downtown, and it's a nice quiet area, plus the ski shuttle stops right outside! The only small things that let it down were that there isn't a store to leave your equipment in and the pool was a little cold - though we were there the coldest winter they have had for years so really it wasn't too unexpected - plus there is a hot tub to warm up!! The room was a little hard to keep at a decent temperature as the heating and air con were difficult to manage - and the housekeeper kept closing our window when we were out during the day, even though we were up on the first floor. But nothing that would stop us staying here again!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kitty_Kat1511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Very quiet.Clean. Good Service. Twin queen beds - comfortable. No parking charge for underground parking. Complimentary internet. Fair strole out of town which is a nice one horse sort of place. Good museum. Lakes Medicine and Maligne definately worth a visit. Recommended.
PS We spotted Elk in the hotel grounds.

Room Tip: The staff bunk house at the back can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank haspex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Stayed here for a couple of nights. Jasper is a small town and the hotel is situated a 20 minute walk out of town.
The rooms were spacious and clean and for some reason had 2 sinks? The beds were comfy and big but the shower left something to be desired. Not very powerfull.

There was free wifi around the hotel though and there was also free parking for your car, this is a bonus as the price of parking around Canada seems to be expensive.
Don't forget the park pass if you have a hire car!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colins5286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.3 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
446 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
975 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Jasper Inn & Suites
1.1 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
1,622 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lobstick Lodge
Lobstick Lodge
#16 of 17 in Jasper
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Jasper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Jasper

Address: 96 Geikie St, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Price Range: £53 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau Jasper 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau Jasper reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Jasper Hotel Jasper
Chateau Hotel Jasper
Jasper Chateau Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing