We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good base” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau Jasper

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Chateau Jasper
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Jasper
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A good base”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

This hotel was our two night base when touring in the Rockies. The rooms are spacious with two large beds and the bathrooms equipped with all the essentials. The food was expensive but don't make the mistake of eating next door where the service was amateurish and the food poor.
There is a good bar/lounge area but we found the service to be rather slow although the staff were all very pleasant and helpful. Jasper is a small town where there are few high class hotels but this one is one of the best.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    355
    225
    59
    26
See reviews for
153
416
25
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

OK place to stay. We spent three nights here - the front desk at check in were surly but the check out staff could not have been nicer or more helpful. The room was OK, bed OK, bathroom OK, all very spotlessly clean. Just an average hotel, slightly nicer than a Travel Lodge.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank helloitsonlyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

This hotel's furnishings are quite dated however met all of our needs. The rooms were fairly clean with a little bit of dust noticeable. Cleaners have wiped surfaces but not moved items such as lamps and alarm clocks to get under and behind items. Staff were mostly friendly.

We are In a twin double to accommodate ourselves and two young children. Bedding is old and blankets a little moth eaten. An extra sink located just outside the main bathroom was handy.

We didn't watch any tv but the tv is placed on a low piece of furniture and you would need extra pillows or to sit up to see the full screen. There was one extra pillow to share between the four of us.

We didn't eat in the restaurant as there were plenty of choices in town. Town is a short walk along pretty residential streets with many dining options.

This hotel does not have laundry facilities. It's sister hotel next door does and you are welcome to use them, however if you can carry your laundry to town there is a good little place where you can get coffee and homemade baked items. The locals seem to go there just for coffee

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SargentMummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wishaw, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

We had emailed ahead in February and asked for a king bed room rather than 2 double beds. On arrival we were told that there are only 2 king bed rooms in the entire hotel and these had been allocated before the hotel recieved our request. What a shame. The staff at reception were quite brusque and not at all helpfull on check in. We asked about cashing travellers cheques and were told we could but only $10 and this was done very reluctantly. The receptionist next day advised us where we could go to be able to cash the cheques we had; this information would have been handy when we checked in!

The entire hotel is quite tired looking. Our double beds were very comfortable and we did sleep well. This was the only we stayed in on this trip with very poor reception on the TV, admittedly we only had this on first thing in the morning and last thing at night.

The pool was very nice although a bit cool for my taste.

We had the breakfast buffet the first morning and it was not very warm or very inspiring. There was no fresh milk on the table for coffee. We went elsehwere our second morning.

We had cocktails in the lounge and my husband discovered the Caesar. The young gentleman who served us told my husband that this was the best one he would ever have! After going on to try them at every opportunity after this, my husband agrees that he was correct!

The hotel is also a fair walk from the main town area - not ideal fro anyone with mobility issues.

Room Tip: Sadly; try elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sparra53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

After experiencing wonderful service in several hotels across Canada I was extremely disappointed with Chateau Jasper. A complimentary computer was positioned where there was no privacy. Meals in the dining room were basic and unexciting. The power in our room went off on the morning we were leaving and it took 3 phone calls to reception to get any action. The staff on reception were clearly under pressure and were short with guests. We overheard several complaints to them.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janette F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Jasper hotels

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

Jasper is not a big place and Chateau Jasper is located well within walking distance from the two main streets (or center of town) -- Patricia and Conaught.

Nice rooms but nothing out of the ordinary. Friendly staff and good service.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Goavidtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
102 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

Hotel was of a good standard throughout. Room was very spacious and the indoor pool was very welcoming. A short walk into the centre of Japser, about 10/15 minutes. Evening meal in the restaurant was very nice and staff were very efficient. The only negative is that a lot of tour companies use this hotel so when we arrived to check in, so were three coach loads of people! So the process took a long time which also meant breakfast the next morning was chaotic as the staff were under extreme pressure with the volume of people at the hotel from the tours.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WestMidlandsSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.3 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#2 of 16 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#5 of 16 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Jasper Inn & Suites
1.1 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#4 of 16 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
0.6 mi away
Whistlers Inn
Whistlers Inn
#10 of 16 in Jasper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Jasper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Jasper

Property: Chateau Jasper
Address: 96 Geikie St, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau Jasper 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau Jasper reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Jasper Hotel Jasper
Chateau Hotel Jasper
Jasper Chateau Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing