We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly an amazing place”
Review of Chateau Jasper

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chateau Jasper
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Edmonton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Truly an amazing place”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Explored Jasper for the first time, we had so much fun to this amazing and spectacular tourist destination. Chateau Jasper is the best place to stay , just a walking distance to downtown area. Had a wonderful stay , room is clean and the staff, they are so accommodating. Keep up the good work guyz!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jean m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

819 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    371
    234
    60
    26
See reviews for
164
433
28
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We enjoyed Jasper very much, but the Chateau Jasper less so. It was about a 15-minute walk into town. The bedspread needed cleaning and the air conditioning was noisy. The exercise room was tiny and had almost no equipment. The restaurant was overpriced relative to the competition in town and the service was slow. There is only one computer station in the lobby and it was usually busy. I needed to mail a postcard, but was told to go into town for the post office. The indoor hot tub and pool were good.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
1,116 reviews
418 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 669 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

The hotel decoration is a bit tired. The worst was taking the bedspread out and finding the reverse stained. Newsflash. Most hotels do not use bedspreads any more. They are filthy as they are not washed every time a guest checks out.
Location- 5 blocks aprox 20 min walk from downtown.
Reception.- Did not take care of the room problems we reported in the morning
Breakfast –Decent –Rooms –Tired
Bed –Pillows were all hard and uncomfortable
Wi-Fi- Free and it worked well
TV- Modern large
Room for bags. Plenty of room
Tea Kettle or coffee maker -Both
Bathroom-dated. Bathtub would not drain
Shower pressure-fair
Cloths line-no
Safety bar in bathroom-no
Towels- Nice and clean
Amenities –Shampoo-conditioner-soap-body lotion
Hair dryer –Very Poor
Parking -free
Iron and ironing board-yes

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Starviagera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We had booked in here for 5 nights in order to explore the area and revisit some places. The check in procedure was efficient and located on the counter was an update regarding the road closures/openings due to the floods.We had booked a twin room which was enormous with two extremely comfortable chairs on wheels at the table area. The room had efficient air con which we did need to use during our stay but which we could control.The fridge was located in the wardrobe along with a good sized free safe. The bathroom itself was compact but there was a separate dressing area with sink, mirror and electrical points. The beds were very comfortable. I had read that the rooms were tired, well ours had obviously been refurbished as had the carpet in the corridor. Our room faced the rear car park and part of the town trail, quiet at all times. The flower and shrub planting around the hotel were very pleasant.
On our final evening we chose to eat in the restaurant. We booked a table and were served by an excellent young man from Australia, who magically appeared just as my water glass was emptying each time. We had a delicious main course of pork served with lovely veg and amazing mash. There was a special offer dessert of chocolate brownie and ice cream for only 5 dollars and reportedly delicious and I enjoyed the pineapple upside down cake. Service was excellent throughout the meal and we ended our stay on a high. There were a lot of people eating that evening and all seemed to be served promptly.
We enjoyed the stroll into town and tried different routes each time seeing a lot of the houses and other hotels en route.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dancingassassin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret River
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We stayed for 2 separate nights. first impressions were good. we were upgraded and given a suite room- probably because we had asked for a room with a shower that was not over the bath. The second night we stayed, we got an ordinary room and I did think it looked a bit tired and ordinary. The staff were fine but it did seem a bit impersonal. The location on the edge of town was fine for us- the walk into town is pleasant. The real disappointment was the restaurant which we had been told by locals was good. So we booked at reception on our second visit. it seemed we were the only actual booking. however when we presented ourselves, there was no recognition that we had booked and after a short delay where the manager appeared to be looking for a table for us, we were shown to a table at the rear of the restaurant - no view out. we would have expected that having booked, we would have been shown immediately to a nice table. then the manager stood behind me and spoke loudly right past my ears to a waitress at another table which was inhabited by some noisy diners awaiting their translater. Then there was a considerable delay before anyone approached out table to take an order. Frankly the menu did not look that exicting anyway. And the final straw was a a brusque response when we asked for a large bottle of sparkling mineral water- only small bottles -. In summary we ate elsewhere! The profusive apologies were too late and the ambience did not please.

Room Tip: Worth asking for an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MreMargaretRiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Jasper for 1 night. The Chateau was about a 0.7 mile walk to town. It is a nice walk and no signs of danger. We loved the walk because the Rockie views were amazing all along the walk.

Our 3rd floor room had a mountain view which made it quite pleasant. I don't think many rooms have a view. So don't be disappointed.

The room was pretty typical, clean and neat but not new or modernized much beyond the 40" TV.

The staff was welcoming and very helpful. We got to the hotel a little early for check in, so they took our luggage at no cost. We did laundry at the "sister hotel" next door and by the time we were done our room was ready. All worked to our timeframe. You might wonder why laundry? We had been on the Via Canada train for 5 days, so we needed to freshen up for the rest of our trip!

All in all, I recommend this hotel. Just remember it is a walk to town! But it is a beautiful walk.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Berthabut1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer P, Manager at Chateau Jasper, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments. We as a company are committed to delivering superior service, comfort and quality in a unique rocky mountain town. The hotel is located a little ways away from the downtown area but I am glad you took advantage of the beautiful scenery during your stay. We look forward to seeing you return to the Chateau Jasper!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
661 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 352 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013 via mobile

Location little way out if town but an OK hotel for a couple of nights. Staff friendly, rooms quite large, fridge, wifi, nice swimming pool. Let down by air con which wasn't brilliant and safe not working despite us reporting twice. Didn't find beds the most comfortable although that often down to personal taste rather than the hotell itself. Would use again just not as good as other places we have stayed on in our trip.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MalcH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.3 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
380 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
0.2 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#5 of 17 in Jasper
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Jasper Inn & Suites
1.1 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#6 of 17 in Jasper
1,511 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tonquin Inn
Tonquin Inn
#15 of 17 in Jasper
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Jasper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Jasper

Property: Chateau Jasper
Address: 96 Geikie St, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau Jasper 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau Jasper reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Jasper Hotel Jasper
Chateau Hotel Jasper
Jasper Chateau Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing