We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau Jasper

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chateau Jasper
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Jasper
St. Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

We came to jasper to ski for a weekend and spent 2 nights at the Chateau Jasper. The hotel staff were very friendly. Rooms are nice, but beds were a bit firm if you are not used to them. I would recommend staying here.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bpegrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    355
    225
    59
    26
See reviews for
153
416
25
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

The place needs a facelift, everything is old, dated. The decor may be dated, but they've done a great job keeping things clean and well-maintained. The breakfast is good.
Nothing much so say.

So much too doo around and the staff are knowledgeable.

Room Tip: request a quiet and less noisy room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Front Desk staff was super rude and unaccommodating. Also we had no Cable to watch Canada win Gold .... The houseman fallowed the cable and some how it had gotten cut so there was no fixing it :( was not impressed

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank melissa p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Jasper hotels

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

We have just returned from staying 2 weeks at the Chateau Jasper and apart from a few issues in the dining room, we had a really good time. We were on a Crystal holiday and the journey from leaving home at 7am took us 23 hours without any delays. The transfer from the airport was very comfortable (think it was Sundog tours) and took about 6 hours. We arrived at the hotel at 11pm (6am UK time) and were very tired but the hotel had a drink and very nice sandwiches waiting for us. The rooms are extremely large compared to most European rooms and consisted of a nice sized bathroom with a bath and excellent shower, 2 extremely comfortable double beds, a table and 2 armchairs as well as the usual bedside table, drawers & large television. Before going into the bathroom there is a double wardrobe with a fridge and a sink area which we used as a tea/coffee making area. The hotel is about a 10 minute easy flat walk into town.

We were on a Crystal half board deal which allowed us a plated breakfast consisting of flakes, milk, coffee, fruit & pastries. I asked for yoghurt as I do not usually have milk but this was refused. We also asked if we could pay the difference between a continental breakfast and a cooked breakfast but were told no, we would have to pay the full price. Evening meals consisted of soup or salad and any choice from the a la carte menu for mains & sweet. There is quite a good choice but the menu stayed the same for the whole 2 weeks. We had a couple of good meals even though one of the sweets was served in a tin foil dish! but were then put off by fish & chips which were cremated and should never have left the kitchens. The restaurant was extremely cold and when we mentioned this were told it was because the temps outside were very cold. These temps were as low as -45 some days but we weren't cold in any other place than the dining room. On our deal we could also eat at the Lobstick and Marmot Lodge, we enjoyed one meal at the Lobstick but the 2nd time it was as if we had been served whatever was left over from the busy weekend, very dried up offerings and frozen turkey pie. Needless to say we didn't go there again. However, the Embers restaurant at the Marmot Lodge was exceptional every night. With a choice of 6 steaks ,fish, chicken and pasta every night as well as a special, excellent service and a warm atmosphere with a roaring log fire there was no faulting it. The only downside was having to brave the extreme record low temps outside.

The ski hill takes about 45 minutes to get to on the shuttle and the drivers are very courteous and helpful with your skis/boards. The shuttles leave at 8, 9.30 and 11.50 and return at 2.30, 3.45 and 5. We did feel that there should have been a bus going at about 10.15 and one returning at 12.30 as some people don't want to ski all day. On the day the temps reached -45 the lifts were shut but the buses were still taking you up which meant you had to sit about hours before being able to return.

We were unlucky with the lack of snow until the pen ultimate day but the pistes were kept in tip top condition throughout. The return journey down the Ice field Parkway was absolutely stunning.

If we returned to Jasper we would stay at the Chateau Jasper again but would eat our evening meals at the Marmot. Jasper is a lovely town and wildlife abound both in town and en route to the hill.

Room Tip: Room 320 was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chzeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

Stayed over Christmas, the hotel gave everyone sugar cookies and oranges on Christmas day. Only issue was Christmas dinner, the manager never got back to us for booking and found out that it was almost full upon arrival even when we tried booking a month in advance and told to book on arrival. Ended up going next door, for dinner. Other than that it was ok for what we paid.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lonestarw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

We booked through hotel.com and got a very good rate. Another family we were traveling with upgraded to the Presidential suite so that we could have room to visit comfortably. Our room was across the hall and was a good size. Beds were uncomfortable and are worn out. Not worth the rack price but we were happy with the rate we paid. If you are planning to ski, buy your lift passes at the front desk, cost is the same and no line ups. We recommend the restaurant for breakfast (buffet) but don't bother wasting your money on dinner, the service is not great, the menu is limited and the food was nothing special. I will say that the ambiance was nice.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank familyschwartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

stayed in jasper in September 2013 for 5 days had a great time the staff at the chateau were wonderfull the restaurant had a great choice for breakfast and the dinner was also very good the staff at restaurant went out of their way to be of help to me nothing was too much trouble .I do agree with other reviews that some of the rooms are a little out of date .the bathroom I had was small and the bed was a little on the hard side but that put aside I found my experience in staying at the chateau a pleasant stay thank to the staff

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bev C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.3 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#2 of 16 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#5 of 16 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Jasper Inn & Suites
0.6 mi away
Whistlers Inn
Whistlers Inn
#10 of 16 in Jasper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#4 of 16 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Jasper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Jasper

Property: Chateau Jasper
Address: 96 Geikie St, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau Jasper 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotelopia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Chateau Jasper reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Jasper Hotel Jasper
Chateau Hotel Jasper
Jasper Chateau Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing