We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy little weekend getaway in a rustic Hostel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of HI-Beauty Creek Wilderness Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
HI-Beauty Creek Wilderness Hostel
Ranked #10 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Jasper
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Cozy little weekend getaway in a rustic Hostel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

A few friends and I live in Jasper and came for a weekend "getaway" to be without electricity - It felt like we were at camp! Loved it! It was a great weekend, we met a lot of travelers from around the world and had a blast. We were a group of 4 (2 couples) and they assigned us to the smaller/private dorm with 6 beds, which the beds & pillows were actually very comfortable. Only on the first night did we have someone else in the room as the hostel was busier that night, but night 2 we had the room to ourselves. You are given fresh linens and lots of extra blankets as it can get quite chilly in the evening. Mitch and Brian were the two working that weekend and they were both super friendly and nice. The first night was pouring down rain and windy so we stayed inside for the most part.. We did the Beauty Creek Hike the next day and it was absolutely beautiful. Very leisurely hike with lots of great scenery the whole way, return time was about 2.5-3 hours. We made dinner and had a campfire and guitar singalong, was super fun! Would definitely return for another visit :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eveee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    12
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Alice Springs, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Spent only one night at Beauty Creek but it was one of the best nights of my trip. The setting is mind blowing, getting up early in the morning and enjoy the quiet of the place was a "one of a kind" experience. Thank you so much to the manager Brian that did everything he could to make our stay enjoyable and special. He even cooked breakfast for us! Thank you for a memorable night playing board games with everyone, so much fun. Can't wait to be back. Book your bed guys, you won't regret it!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MGertrude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherwood Park, Alberta
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Group cabins were cozy, with some walls for dividing families up a bit. Very friendly host! He joined in at the campfire, and cleared away waste water on demand! Just kidding, but he was on top of it if we asked. Beautiful setting, kids had fun playing by the river. No oven so don't plan on baking. We all love the rustic type of hostel, so had a great time.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Foxglen67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2010

The Beauty Creek Hostel was one of the highlights of our trip to the Canadian Rockies. This is one of many wilderness hostels within Jasper/Banff national park. I had not done any hosteling before this and was quite impressed. We normally do alot of camping, but didnt want to tent camp on this trip and found that Beauty Creek more than met our needs.
The accomidations are very basic- bunk rooms in cabins and a rustic kitchen. There is no running water- the host did a good job of making sure there was plenty of river water available for dishes and well water for drinking. There is gas stoves and a gas powered refrigerater.
The host and people we met staying at the hostel were from all corners of the earth-so it made for an interesting and memorable campfires. I had always pictured hostels as being for young people-and there were some, but really there were many older/retired travelers and a couple families as well.
The best part about staying here was that we were so close to hiking and other outdoor activites that we could get out and enjoy the wilderness before all the tourists from Banff and Jasper arrived. Even though Beauty Creek hostel is right on the road, after about 9pm all the traffic is virtually gone and its quiet and the views of the mountains and moon rise were amazing.
If you are looking for a good alternative to camping/inexpensive stay in the Rockies or want to try to 'rough' it for a night out in the boonies on your travels through the Rockies- Beauty Creek will meet your needs!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chinookgrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.0 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#5 of 16 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
0.0 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#2 of 16 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chateau Jasper
Chateau Jasper
#9 of 16 in Jasper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Whistlers Inn
Whistlers Inn
#10 of 16 in Jasper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pyramid Lake Resort
Pyramid Lake Resort
#7 of 16 in Jasper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HI-Beauty Creek Wilderness Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HI-Beauty Creek Wilderness Hostel

Property: HI-Beauty Creek Wilderness Hostel
Address: Hwy 93 North | 17 Kms North of the Columbia Icefield Centre - On West Side of Hwy, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We don't offer internet here and that's the way we like it. We'd much rather see our guests interact with each other while enjoying our numerous activities, ie. (Ping-Pong, Badminton, Row-boats, Board Games, Hammock-swinging and Camp-Fires.) We like to think of ourselves as Summer-Camp for adults, (although children are of course still welcome!) We're situated right along-side the Sunwapta River and our location offers views of Mt. Kitchener and Tangle Ridge on one side and the sun sets daily with a view of the Never-Ending-Ridge looking north towards Jasper. Jasper National Park was recently named the World's Largest Accessible Dark Sky Preserve and HI-Beauty Creek is the closest HI hostel to the darkest part of the National Park. You'll be able to savour true silence, night skies bursting with stars and the knowledge that some of the world's most magnificent landscapes are, really, right outside our door. We are situated just one km from the stunning Beauty Creek/Stanley Falls hike, and the world famous Athabasca Glacier/Columbia Ice-field Centre are a mere 15 minute drive south of the hostel. Two more of the most renowned hikes in the Rockies, (Wilcox Pass and Parker Ridge), are both less than 30 km away from the hostel. While we don't have electricity or running-water we do have a fully stocked kitchen with propane lighting, BBQ, stove-tops, heaters and a fridge. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing