We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Superb, Facilities and Decor Dark and Dated, Staff Uninspired!.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jasper
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Patricia Lake Bungalows Resort
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The location at Patricia Lake is beautiful. The bungalows are just that, bungalows, and are not as fancy or quaint as you might imagine from the photos you see or the price you will be paying. Our unit was fine but the decor was very dark and old fashioned and the light too dim for reading. Our bathroom was small. I am slender and barely fit into the shower stall and the floor of the stall was smooth and extremely slick...a new shower install but a bottom of the line product. The greeting at check in was not wonderful...credit card first, lectures and pamphlets on conservation everywhere you turn, and don't expect your computers or phones to work. The towels we placed in the shower for replacing were not replaced until the last of our 3 night stay.

Room Tip: Accept the rusticness, ask which units have a lake side view or you will not have one, expect to pay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaryEllenM27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patlake, Manager at Patricia Lake Bungalows Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Mary EllenM27

Thank you very much for contributing to Tripadvisor and for letting us know where we need to improve. We are always very grateful to hear any positive or negative feedback about our service in hopes to exceed and improve.

We are sorry to hear that you were not greeted accordingly upon check in. As we try to be very transparent and clear with what we have to offer, we ask all of our front desk staff to make sure you understand what you are paying for and what services there are here on the property. As for the internet, we have spent an enormous amount of money to try and fix/improve our internet service, however due to our remote location this has not been possible. Upon check in the staff mentions that there are kiosks located downstairs in our laundry facility for your use. In our confirmation email, our website as well as an email that is sent 14 days prior to your arrival, we also mention that the internet can fall off the cliff sometimes and it is not reliable. In regards to cell phone reception, most providers work perfectly well on the area. The only one that sometimes is not strong is Rogers. Telus works everywhere on the property.

We do have brochures and pamphlets in our units to explain the importance of the environment and how you can help us conserve water and how we recycle in the National Park. We wish to reduce our impact on the environment to ensure that all guests present and in the future do have a beautiful lake and area to visit and live in.

As for the services of the rooms, I do apologize for the lack of replacing your towels. Each evening we have a staff member that comes around to each unit to ensure that nothing was missed or if anything else is required for the unit.

For any future visits or guests that will be visiting us, please let us know if we have overlooked something or if there are any suggestions to be made. We are more then happy to listen to your concerns and comments when you are here on the property in order to fix them immediately for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,095)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

400 - 406 of 1,095 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

Stayed with my husband for 2 nights recently. Approx. 6klms from town, beautiful and peaceful lake right on patricia lake. Stayed in a cottage but was musky and a bit claustrophobic and closed in feeling. It needs an outdoor verandah or balcony to enjoy the view in its beautiful surroundings. The housekeepers did not come around until 4.30pm which I felt was a bit late as we had just got home from sightseeing and wanted to relax. Nice but not worth the money.

Room Tip: If you can afford it go for one of the cottage/villas on the lake front which are more modern and sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank oldfartSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patlake, Manager at Patricia Lake Bungalows Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear OldfartSydney

Thank you for your comments and feedback about our property. We are always very grateful to have the opportunity to hear positive and negative feedback from our guests and find tripadvisor to be an amazing tool to have all opinions available to us.

Our cottages are 360 sq ft which makes them very cozy and comfortable to a stay. As many people are here to visit Jasper for only a few days and tend to be outside exploring most of the time, the cottages really do offer the basic requirements for a short stay. Units suitable for 2 persons offer a bed in a bedroom and a living room area with a kitchenette to prepare a basic meal.

I do apologize that the housekeepers arrived at your unit at an inconvenient time for you. Typically our housekeepers are finished their day by 4:00pm, therefore during your stay, there must have been extenuating circumstances that they could not get to your unit sooner.

We appreciate your comments and we hope you enjoyed your stay in the Rockies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Lovely clean cabins with everything you could need. Staff was friendly and helpful. We even had a bit of excitement with a Grizzly in the neighborhood
We saw lots of wild life... including a very cheeky pine martin
The lake is peaceful and beautiful... we enjoyed our 3 night stay

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank armsttl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The cottages are nicely set along a beautiful lakeside and beside woodland where many tracks lead down to Jasper. The wood was closed for walking because of a recent bear attack when we were there but even driving beside it we saw birds and other wildlife including Caribou.
We were welcomed by friendly Australian and given a good orientation to the site and town. The laundry, which we used, was was every useful.
After looking at the Type 3 cottage be had booked, we immediately upgraded to the Grove suites (on special offer) which are lighter, larger, much better appointed (the bathroom and kitchen look very smart) and with a nice outside area to sit and eat overlooking the lake, the forest and snow-capped mountains. The Grove suites are much better equipped, for example there are loads of music options, there's a combo microwave and convection oven and one of the two TVs even took HDMI input )(meaning you can watch your ipad films on it).
Jasper is about 4 miles away and has the usual supermarkets, liquor stores and take-aways so self-catering (with a modern dishwasher) is a possibility. However trying to cut raw meat, chop vegetables, slice bread and peel potatoes with just one large (fairly blunt) carving knife, thee only cooking knife provided, takes practice. On the other hand if you are organising a BBQ for several dozen, everything you need is here.
Although the suite was very clean, indeed the whole facility is pristine, on arrival most of our crockery was to be found in the dishwasher and the wardrobe contained someone else's clothes. Our stay was in the second week of the season so perhaps the crockery and underwear had been left over from last Summer or maybe last weekend - we couldn't tell. A little more attention to detail would solve all the above problems.
The wifi however needs a complete overhaul. The site has three networks yet despite connecting to each with all four of our devices in turn we failed to receive or send even one email in the whole time we were there, until the last morning.
This is a good base from which to explore the National park. The 'wildlife Show' a nickname for the 34km road up to Maligner Lake lived up to its name as we saw Moose, two single bears and were about 2m from a Black Bear and her three cubs (whilst in the car, I hasten to add). The lake itself is beautiful as well.

Room Tip: If you can afford the Grove, book it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank traveller-in-hope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patlake, Manager at Patricia Lake Bungalows Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear traveller-in-hope

How wonderful that you enjoyed your stay with us. We would like to sincerely thank you for taking the time and writing about your experience at the lake and the surrounding area.

We do have quite a large variety of wildlife in the area. This year we have experienced many incidences with bear and elk attacks on humans. We would like to advise all future and present visitors to keep a very large distance away from any wildlife and to carry bear spray with them at all times.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in the grove and that you found all but a few items needed to make your stay enjoyable. Please note, that we always have extras of everything for your disposal if it is mentioned to us. Upon check in our friendly staff let you know that all of your comments or concerns are important to us. They specify to report things you notice during your stay that may have been overlooked by our housekeeping or maintenance department in order for us to resolve it immediately. All of our rooms get cleaned and checked daily even while not rented, therefore we are very sorry to hear that things were found in your unit as this does not normally occur.

As for our WIFI, we are very aware as to it not functioning properly. We have been very diligent at making this transparent to our guests. We have posted on our website, on every confirmation email as well as an email that is scheduled automatically 14 days prior to arrival that specifies that the WIFI is not very reliable. After many trials with different internet companies and a lot of money spent, we have been forced to "toss in the towel" and say that it is not a viable service we can offer with pride. However, for those who are looking to disconnect and unplug from their day to day communications and who are looking to enjoy the area without any interruptions there's no better way to do it without WIFI.
We do have 2 kiosks in our laundry facility available for those who do require the internet during their stay.

We hope you enjoyed your stay in the Rockies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We have been going to Patricia Lake Bungalows for years.

The main reasons I love them is because:
- We always meet people from all over. This spring it was the UK, BC and AB. In the fall there seems to be a lot of people from Germany.
- The BBQ area - 2 BBQs where you meet people!
- The bonfire pit - where you meet people!
- They are away from the hustle and bustle of the Jasper town site.

I love the 2 bedroom cabins because I normally go there with girlfriends as a girls weekend away. However, this time we brought our dogs so had to stay in the smaller one bedroom cottages. It was a little cramped but then we aren't in the room that often.

One bedroom cottage - redone:
- Very comfortable beds, pillows and comforters/duvet.
- Kitchen small, but has microwave, fridge, stove top, salt & pepper, sink with wash cloth and soap.
- Bathroom has a shower only. Has a telephone show with massage head which I love! The shower drape is a bit short so you have to make sure you position it just right.
- TV but no dvd player.
- Tile floor with a broom, which is nice to be able to sweep up.
- Picnic tables at each cottage.

Walking trails at and close by.

Only things I would improve are the hot tub, it was very foamy and the BBQ's had a hard time lighting. The one we couldn't get started even with a lighter.

Still my favourite of all of Jaspers accommodations!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tobe133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Our stay at the Patricia Lake Bungalows was terrific. We stayed in the Douglas Fir suites in The Grove. It was a lovely 1-bedroom apartment with kitchen set on the shores of Patricia Lake. The setting is tranquil and beautiful. The rooms were well equipped and maintained. It couldn't have been better.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnB63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patlake, Manager at Patricia Lake Bungalows Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear AnnB63

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for sharing your experience and we hope to have you as our guest in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We stayed here when visiting Jasper and found it to be a great spot to relax and do some home cooking. After travelling for a few weeks you get a little tied of deciding on which restaurant to eat at so we went to the supermarket in Jasper, purchased some groceries and made three home cooked dinners. It was such a good change. The cabins are basic but provide all you need including a kitchen and microwave. We really enjoyed our time out here. The service was also very good and helpful ,the kids stop by every cabin in the evening and ask if there was anything we needed which I feel was a good touch.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GregGeelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper hotels
1.7 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
454 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
1 mi away
Pyramid Lake Resort
Pyramid Lake Resort
#10 of 17 in Jasper
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
984 reviews
2.2 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
1,654 reviews
1.4 mi away
Chateau Jasper
Chateau Jasper
#8 of 17 in Jasper
890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patricia Lake Bungalows Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patricia Lake Bungalows Resort

Address: Pyramid Lake Road, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Jasper
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jasper
Price Range: £58 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Patricia Lake Bungalows is a cozy cabin resort high in the Canadian Rocky Mountains overlooking a calm crystal clear lake. This is beautiful Patricia Lake in Jasper National Park. In 2016 our family will be celebrating a milestone of 50 years of owning and operating Patricia Lake Bungalows! Since 1966 we have hosted thousands of guests at Patricia Lake Bungalows and helped each one of them to experience our amazing National Park. Our location is a perfect 3 mile (5 km) distance from the town of Jasper, Alberta. Just far enough to avoid the hustle and bustle of town yet close enough to walk to town for an evening of enjoyment. Our cottages include charming décor, complimentary in-room coffee, fully equipped kitchens/kitchenettes, satellite TV, complimentary Wi-Fi, private picnic tables, and most have cozy environmentally friendly gas fireplaces. We offer clean, comfortable, and charming cottages hidden at the end of a private road and nestled in a secluded forest setting. The peace and quiet we experience everyday is one of the things you will cherish. Located just 5 minutes from Jasper, Patricia Lake Bungalows provides its guests with a place to experience the beauty of nature, a place away from the daily stresses of life and a place to recharge body and soul. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Patricia Lake Bungalows Hotel Jasper
Patricia Lake Hotel
Patricia Lake Jasper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing