We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely Poor Customer Relations”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jasper
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Patricia Lake Bungalows Resort
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Certificate of Excellence
New York, NY
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Extremely Poor Customer Relations”
Reviewed 8 July 2009

I submitted a reservation request via the form on their website, and I received an auto-reply indicating they received the request. A few days after I did not receive any indication that a reservation was made, my girlfriend called and asked if the request had been processed. She was told that there was no availability and no reservation was made. Accordingly, I made a reservation elsewhere.

A day after what would have been my first night there, I received an e-mail stating that I would be charged for a one night stay. I sent an e-mail to the hotel explaining that I never received any confirmation that a reservation was made and that we specifically called to ask about the reservation. The reply simply stated that they sent a confirmation a few minutes after my initial request. I had to write back to ask for a copy of the confirmation, and they sent it to me. I had to acquisce since I could not prove that I didn't receive it.

I am particulary angry about the fact that we were specifically told over the phone that no reservation was made. I felt that there was no sympathy or cooperation from their end to try to understand why the situation arose.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank awcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patlake, owner at Patricia Lake Bungalows Resort, responded to this review, 20 July 2009
Dear poor customer service
At Patricia Lake Bungalows we backup all electronic messaging including reservations and emails. Therefore this gives us extensive records. Thus we can say with certainty -your reservation request was sent on June 4, 2009, at 11:14 a.m. We responded to you 18 minutes later at 11:30 a.m. confirming your reservation with us.

Since you did not arrive on the day/evening of the 28th of June..... the next morning on June 29 at 10:11a.m we sent a message to your email, the same email the confirmation was sent to, stating you would be charged the 1 night fee. 8 minutes later at 10:19 a.m. you responded back to our email! Since you responded back to our email we can therefore deduce that you successfully recieve emails from us thus indicating that you did recieve our confirmation.

When a client telephones to see about a reservation we "search" our entire computer database which brings up all reservations under that name.

Unfortunately we cannot absorb the costs of rooms where people do not arrive for their reservations we must follow our policies and follow through with charging guests who do not arrive for their reservations. This is a common policy amongst all hotels.
Since you have made your evaluation of us without actually visiting us we extend an invitation to you to visit us.and then evaluate our property and service. We hope to see you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,042 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    649
    289
    66
    24
    14
See reviews for
340
487
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
washington state
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2009

we really enjoyed this place and wished we could have booked more days. A little spendy for a couple but worth it and pefect for a whole family. we will stay again someday

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stampmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, B.C.
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2009

Stayed here 2 nights while in Jasper. Had a cabin that was right beside the lake. About 10 minutes drive to the centre of Jasper. There is a full kitchen suite but it is missing a microwave. Only other complaint is that only few channels on the tv but that's not the main reason most people stay there. Very quite and relaxing place to stay. The journal was a interesting read. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Techboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SW_USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2009

Very well maintained to add, Private/Decked Hot-Tub, Beautiful Lakeside Views (picturesque & unblemished lake & mountainside view) , Boats/canoes available, pubic access roads for jogging/walking with parallel and intersecting hiking and horse trails, an adjacent second lake with road ending at a bridge to island for family picnic.

Appealing, Privacy Oriented Hot-Tub, and Well-Kept Grounds.

This is great value, very close to Jasper, but isolated from the noise therefrom.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Here_and_About
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level 6 Contributor
279 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2009

Good in all respects. Helpful staff, very clean. 5 minutes from Jasper town centre. Medicine Lake and Maligne Lake are well worth visiting.

Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mattinbrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Albert, AB
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2009

You absolutely get what you pay for...peace, serenity and luxury living in one package!

My husband & I stayed for 4 nights in the Pine #1 cabin with our teenaged daughter and we were immediately impressed with how well appointed it was. Everything you could possibly need in the kitchen...(Although we missed having a blender for margaritas.). It felt like a miniature showhome...even the bathroom has a towel warmer. We appreciated the "luxury living" after a long day of hiking. The best part was the location of our lakefront cabin and spectacular view of Patricia Lake and Pyramid Mountain. The photos in the website and of other visitors don't do it justice.

An onsite restaurant is unncessary because the Jasper townsite is a quick 5-minute drive away. We actually never felt the need to go out to eat in a restaurant when we can use our gas barbecue to cook a great meal out in our patio and view the mountain & lake scenery. Much better than being in a restaurant!! We can always go to a restaurant in the city.

I would highly recommend staying here. Well worth the money.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gem127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2009

Our family (including two kids under 5) stayed here for the May long weekend. We really have no complaints. This place is well run, the staff is helpful, and the units are very clean. We stayed in one of the Grove Suites, which are 1 bedroom units, and very well finished. Everything was new and well maintained. The location is about a 5 minute drive from Jasper, and is nice and quiet. We enjoyed renting bicycles, and the common fire pit area.

I would recomend this location to anyone.

The only drawback that I can think of is that there is no restaurant on-site, so if you haven't brought food to cook, you have to drive to Jasper to eat.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boudreau_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper hotels
1.3 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
1.7 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
379 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pyramid Lake Resort
Pyramid Lake Resort
#8 of 17 in Jasper
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#6 of 17 in Jasper
1,510 reviews
1.4 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#5 of 17 in Jasper
905 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Jasper Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patricia Lake Bungalows Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patricia Lake Bungalows Resort

Property: Patricia Lake Bungalows Resort
Address: Pyramid Lake Road, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Jasper
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jasper
#2 Family Hotel in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Patricia Lake Bungalows is a cozy cabin resort high in the Canadian Rocky Mountains overlooking a calm crystal clear lake. This is beautiful Patricia Lake in Jasper National Park. In 2016 our family will be celebrating a milestone of 50 years of owning and operating Patricia Lake Bungalows! Since 1966 we have hosted thousands of guests at Patricia Lake Bungalows and helped each one of them to experience our amazing National Park. Our location is a perfect 3 mile (5 km) distance from the town of Jasper, Alberta. Just far enough to avoid the hustle and bustle of town yet close enough to walk to town for an evening of enjoyment. Our cottages include charming décor, complimentary in-room coffee, fully equipped kitchens/kitchenettes, satellite TV, complimentary Wi-Fi, private picnic tables, and most have cozy environmentally friendly gas fireplaces. We offer clean, comfortable, and charming cottages hidden at the end of a private road and nestled in a secluded forest setting. The peace and quiet we experience everyday is one of the things you will cherish. Located just 5 minutes from Jasper, Patricia Lake Bungalows provides its guests with a place to experience the beauty of nature, a place away from the daily stresses of life and a place to recharge body and soul. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Patricia Lake Bungalows Hotel Jasper
Patricia Lake Hotel
Patricia Lake Jasper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing