We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, beautiful luxury cabin”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jasper
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Patricia Lake Bungalows Resort
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quiet, beautiful luxury cabin”
Reviewed 7 August 2007

This was a big question mark on our vacation. We weren't sure what the Groves would really be like but we were more than pleasantly surprised. We stayed in Pine 2 right on the beautiful lake. Full kitchen and outside BBQ private area was very useful for money saving meals. We highly recommend taking a canoe out on the lake. We enjoyed our stay and really loved the accomodations. It was brand new but had a homey feeling. Highly recommend it for a home base in Jasper National Park.

  • Liked — Very clean, full kitchen, new bungalow, comfortable bed, lovely bathroom
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank KikkiDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,042 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    649
    289
    66
    24
    14
See reviews for
340
487
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Thomas
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2007

We just spent 4 glorious days at the new Grove Suites at Patricia Lake Bungalows. The suites have everything you could possibly want for, including a gas grill on the paio right outside and a towel warmer in the bathroom! We had our 2 teenagers with us, so it was a little cramped for space, but no one seemed to care. There was a queen size bed with wonderfully comfortable bedding in the bedroom and a sleeper sofa in the living room. We were just steps away from the lake and had elk grazing just feet away from our patio every night. We even saw a bear swimming across the lake! The kids enjoyed canoeing and going to the hot tub while my husband and I enjoyed relaxing on the well maintained grounds. It is the perfect place to stay while visiting Jasper.

  • Liked — right on the lake
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Maryjo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2007

We loved our 3 night stay there with our 2 children (12 and 9 years old). They really enjoyed swimming and kayaking in the lake. The management seemed somewhat dis concerned about a couple of complaints we had but we didn't let that bother us. We loved being able to go sightseeing and coming back to a nice, clean, and comfortable place to rest. The bugs are plenty in the area so don't forget to pack bug spray.

  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DSCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2007

The bungalows are located about 10 minutes drive outside Jasper on the very beautiful Patricia Lake. We stayed in one of the cottages which were reasonably well appointed to the standard you would expect from this style of property. The layout has been well designed to avoid the feeling of proximity to other bungalows. The lake view bungalows were not available even although we were early in the season but that was no problem as the walk is ony 2 minutes. Moose live in the adjacent forest and were seen several times driving back into Jasper.

  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank scotaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatchewan, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2007

Because we were traveling with another couple, we booked the king suite at the resort. The suite is situated in the top story of a fairly large bungalow which also houses some of the staff. We were not disappointed with either the suite or the resort. We had a view of the lake and some of the resort from our balcony, a fireplace, and bedrooms with AC etc. We canoed for an hour on the lake ($15), and even went for a chilly but pleasant swim. We used the communal barbecues where we visited with two other couples who were staying in the more basic older cabins. After supper we had a soak in the smallish hot tub which also has a nice view of the lake.
This is a very clean and very well kept resort. Cost for the king suite was $280/night.

  • Liked — The peaceful location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SilverL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, VA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2007

We stayed in the newer Grove Suites for 3 nights beginning July 25th. They were the most expensive part of our Rockies trip ($305 per night for 2 adults and 2 children) but also our favorite accomodations.

There are 4 small buildings in the newer section of "Grove Suites". Each building has 2 units. The Pine and Aspen buildings are lakefront and the other two buildings are just behind them, but still with nice lakeviews. From what I had read on Tripadvisor, I requested either the Pine or Aspen Suites and we got Aspen Suites, unit #2, the one closest to the woods.

These suites are great! In one room is an extremely comfortable queen bed. However there was minimal storage space in this bedroom. In the main room is a living room with a plasma TV and sofa (which folds out to a bed, my boys said it was not comfortable, but they survived) and a couple of chairs. The living rooms opens up to the small dining area and the full kitchen. We found plenty of shelf room in the kitchen area for our personal belongings. The bathroom was large and luxurious with a glass shower and nice towels.

We found the staff at Patricia Lake to be wonderful - friendly and accomodating. Daily maid service was excellent too. We used the laundry (you can purchase soap there). The hot tub was small - seats 4 comfortably, but no one else was in there when we used it and it has a lake view. We took a VERY brief dip in the lake. I don't know how to describe the coldness - it didn't even feel like water to me, it just felt like the adjective "cold"! But the lake was gorgeous and we sat at the dock and stared into the clear water for an hour.

To me, the main benefit to these bungalows is that you are surrounded by nature - the beautiful lake, the trail around the lake and endless hiking, bike and horse trails just behind the complex. We spent several hours hiking on these pretty trails and saw no one else, but we did see a coyote and elk! Our neighbors saw a black bear just 50 yards away from the suites!

The other accomodations in the Jasper area are mainly in town, but there you are in the middle of the commercial action. The town was fun and we really enjoyed eating dinners there. We ate at Jasper Pizza, which was reasonable and excellent, but crowded at 8p.m. (A medium pizza with 8 med-small slices was about $12.) Our favorite dinner was thai food at the Soft Rock Cafe ($9 - $15 for big bowls). We also had an okay meal at Someplace Else (entrees $15 to $25).

For groceries, we went to the eastern end of Connaught Ave at the IGA. They were pretty reasonable, and we made breakfasts and lunches at Patricia Lake.

We hiked some in Jasper and saw Maligne Canyon from the bottom (5th bridge) up. One day, we rented mountain bikes from FreeWheel Cycle (618 Patricia Avenue) for $24 a day per bike. Our boys are 17 and they biked by themselves through the Five Lakes Valley and said it was great and trails were challenging. In the afternoon, my husband and I used the bikes on trails near Patricia Lake.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
6 Thank Jill2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2007

Just returned from a three night stay at Patricia Lake Bungalows. We stayed in one of the new Grove units. Only the Aspen and Pine units are directly lakefront - ask for one of these. The reviewer below describes the faclities well. Absolutely immaculate brand new and well designed except for a very small bedroom. But that is only for sleeping anyway.

We loved having our own barbeque and patio - we cooked out at night to the sounds of the wild while watching the sunset over the lake. Amazing! You can rent bikes and canoes on site - it felt like a dream summer camp for adults! We also rode horses from the stables around the corner - beautiful horses!
Stay here if you want to experience the mountains with all the comforts (maybe more) of home. Staff were very helpful and polite. Town is a five minute drive away. The highlight of our trip.

  • Liked — high quality accommodation in a fabulous setting
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BigBree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper hotels
1.3 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
1.7 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
377 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pyramid Lake Resort
Pyramid Lake Resort
#8 of 17 in Jasper
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#6 of 17 in Jasper
1,504 reviews
1.4 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#5 of 17 in Jasper
901 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Jasper Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Patricia Lake Bungalows Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Patricia Lake Bungalows Resort

Property: Patricia Lake Bungalows Resort
Address: Pyramid Lake Road, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Jasper
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jasper
#2 Family Hotel in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Patricia Lake Bungalows is a cozy cabin resort high in the Canadian Rocky Mountains overlooking a calm crystal clear lake. This is beautiful Patricia Lake in Jasper National Park. In 2016 our family will be celebrating a milestone of 50 years of owning and operating Patricia Lake Bungalows! Since 1966 we have hosted thousands of guests at Patricia Lake Bungalows and helped each one of them to experience our amazing National Park. Our location is a perfect 3 mile (5 km) distance from the town of Jasper, Alberta. Just far enough to avoid the hustle and bustle of town yet close enough to walk to town for an evening of enjoyment. Our cottages include charming décor, complimentary in-room coffee, fully equipped kitchens/kitchenettes, satellite TV, complimentary Wi-Fi, private picnic tables, and most have cozy environmentally friendly gas fireplaces. We offer clean, comfortable, and charming cottages hidden at the end of a private road and nestled in a secluded forest setting. The peace and quiet we experience everyday is one of the things you will cherish. Located just 5 minutes from Jasper, Patricia Lake Bungalows provides its guests with a place to experience the beauty of nature, a place away from the daily stresses of life and a place to recharge body and soul. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Patricia Lake Bungalows Hotel Jasper
Patricia Lake Hotel
Patricia Lake Jasper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing