We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of the way but nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Overlander Mountain Lodge
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Out of the way but nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

The lodge is about 30minutes outside of Jasper(town) and outside of the park so the back and forth can be annoying if you are pressed for time. That being said, the drive is BEAUTIFUL and worth it. It was a beautiful lodge, very clean and the staff was nice. We found that the walls were very thin... we could clearly hear other people coughing and showering... otherwise, very nice - beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ottawa_NMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    98
    57
    33
    21
See reviews for
88
212
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort McMurray, AB
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here on our way to Vancouver, as its a good point for us to stop for the night, being 10 min outside of Hinton, and 20 min from Jasper.

The property consists of a several cabins, private residences and a large main lodge that has a very nice restaurant and lounge . The main lodge has a lovely deck along the front to take advantage of the spectacular view of the mountains. The charming old log walls, and old wood floors are sweetly quaint.

The lodge itself was built in the early 60's and though it was clean and updated, the room sizes are small, by modern standards. We booked a mountain view room (#23), positioned over the Lounge, with a small deck and glorious views. The "garden view" rooms are across the hallway, and have a view of the cabins and parking lots. The room itself was small, approximately 14'x20', with a comfy chair, fireplace and Queen sized bed. Please note, there is no TV in the room, but a decent WiFi signal (not sure if all rooms have it). We found the hotel very quiet, and slept well.

The only big negative, and something that nothing can be done about, is the very loud traffic sounds from hwy 16. The loud trucks noises echo up the valley, and really dampened our enjoyment of sitting on the deck. Like, it was hard to have a normal conversation,it was that loud. Luckily the windows were new, so once closed the noise was negligible.

I would recommend this Lodge for a couple looking for a quiet, romantic night, but not so much families. Though the large cabins would be spacious enough, there is no TV, pool or play ground that I saw.

Room Tip: Mountain View rooms are worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunPrincess9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Our daughter's wedding was an intimate affair, being only 12 in attendance, however, the Overlander Mountain Lodge was an amazing place to have our event. The staff and accomodations were over the top and we were all treated very well. Our every need or wish was anticipated and we felt like we were at home. The wedding dinner (ordered off the menu) was delicious and we were extremely happy with the staff. Stacey - you are fabulous, girl!! Our rooms were lovely and although the weather was extremely hot - we had a ceiling fan in our room along with an extra portable fan should we have needed it making our sleep very comfortable. Thank you, Overlander for making the wedding a very memorable event.

Room Tip: Mountain view rooms - awesome!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank designdiva123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

The lodge is located about 40 minutes out of Jasper, just outside the National Park. This is the only negative we had with the lodge. The drive to the lodge is beautiful, and the views from the lodge overlooking the Jasper Park valley are exceptional. We saw lots of animals driving to/from the lodge; Bear, Elk, Deer, and Big Horn Sheep. Our meal in the lodge restaurant was memorable, but expensive. We opted for the mountain view room with a private patio in the main lodge. The views from the room and patio were worth the upgrade cost.

Room Tip: Definitely the Mountain View Room, with Private Patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeMNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Overlander for one night while touring Japser. The views were stunning - sipping wine from our balcony off of our lodge room was the perfect way to unwind.  The gas fireplace was a nice touch to make the rooms extra cozy. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The dinner was good, excellent views, delicious food though a bit pricey.  Our only draw back to the experience was though WiFi is advertised, it didn't work during our stay.  We spoke with multiple other guests who had the same experience across multiple types of devices. We have no problem not having WiFi but don't advertise it if it doesn't work. Otherwise fabulous experience, we recommend to those looking for a quiet, scenic getaway in Japser. 

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JenHen_Explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, California
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

We rented a 2 bedroom stand-alone chalet to stay with a family of 5 for 4 nights.

Some impressions:
- 56km away from Jasper city and 21km from Hinton. Expect to be driving quite a bit to get groceries and for park activities.
- The environment is very nice. Overlooking a nice valley.
- The chalet is very spacious. A large living space with salon and large dinner table and kitchen. The bedrooms and bathroom are pretty large too. No complaints there.
- There is no noise isolation whatsoever. Our rooms was next to the bathroom and next to the bedroom where my parents were staying. Expect to hear absolutely everything. And for others to do the same. We had to whisper to each other and be very, very quiet during other bedroom activities.
- There is no wifi in the chalets. This was a big disappointment for us. Our family doesn't care about satellite TV or DVD players. For the price, you expect to have wifi in your room.
- So we had to go to the main lodge for wifi. I understand that, in a remove location, the internet connection can be flakey over a satellite link. But that wasn't the problem: half of our devices simply didn't want to connect to the local wifi router: it would detect the network just fine, and accept the password, and then it would just sit there spinning. If you were lucky it'd suddenly connect and then everything would be fine. If you were lucky. Other guests has similar issues. Extremely frustrating.
- The main lodge has a fancy restaurant with very good food, and nice presentation. But it's really expensive. And small portions.

Overall, I feel that this was quite a bit of money for something that could have been great but ultimately wasn't.

Room Tip: If the noise isolation in the regular hotel rooms is a bad as in the chalets, expect to hear everyth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom0987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

The photographs of this hotel promised so much, and on our arrival, we also thought it would be a lovely stay. Having had a busy day and having travelled quite some distance, we looked forward to a nice dinner in the hotel restaurant, even though it was over-priced. However, when we went to the restaurant an hour after our arrival, we were informed that since we had not made a reservation, we could not eat there, notwithstanding the fact that it was less than half full! No mention of the need to make a reservation was made on checking in. We were then forced to drive in excess of 20km to the nearest town to get a bite to eat. It is not acceptable that a resident guest in a hotel in such a remote location, where there are no alternative facilities, is not able to eat in the hotel restaurant.
Had it not been for this experience, we might have been able to overlook the shortcomings in the room itself: no TV, a "garden view" that overlooked the car park, an extremely small bathroom and dust on the furniture.
If I were to visit the area again I would not pre-book accommodation, but would try one of the local motels, most of which had "Vacant" signs outside, even though it was high season.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper hotels
27.1 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
26.7 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
28.0 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.6 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
27.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Jasper Inn & Suites
27.5 mi away
Whistlers Inn
Whistlers Inn
#11 of 17 in Jasper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Overlander Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overlander Mountain Lodge

Property: Overlander Mountain Lodge
Address: 27010 Highway 16, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T7V 1X5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Overlander Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the edge of Jasper National Park, 50 km outside Jasper Town-site, overlooking the majestic Rocky Mountains, sits the Overlander Mountain Lodge. This jewel in the Canadian Rockies offers spectacular views, gourmet dining and ultra comfortable lodging. Warm hospitality and a casual yet cozy atmosphere are combined here in a mountain setting of unique natural beauty. Our chalet vacation rentals can serve as your home away from home while exploring all the park has to offer.The Overlander Mountain Lodge provides a variety of accommodation for the perfect Mountain Getaway, where televisions and telephones have been excluded to ensure a peaceful and relaxing stay. When it is time to celebrate, look no further than this cozy Rocky Mountain retreat as an ideal setting for social gatherings, weddings and business groups. The Overlander Mountain Lodge is committed to providing some of the best lodging, food and hospitality in the Canadian Rockies.we offer different room types from cabins to rooms with mountain views, kitchenettes and complete vacation homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Overlander Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Overlander Mountain Hotel Jasper National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing