We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Overlander Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2014

This is a dreary, out of date and very over-priced hotel. This is clearly a hotel that is very good at selling itself but very bad at delivering.

Our room was small and stuffy with no air conditioning. Dinner in the restaurant was quite appallingly bad and very, very expensive for the quality - probably the worst we ate during 6 weeks touring Canada.

However, we might well have just chalked this up to a poor experience and forgotten all about it if it hadn't been for the attitude of the manager who dealt with our complaint by being incredibly rude and loud. His staff seemed to be in complete fear of him.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank doris18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManageroml, General Manager at Overlander Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Hello,
I am very sorry to hear that we came up well short of what you were expecting when you stayed with us back in June. The issues you encountered with your room and dining experience are very dissapointing to hear. This is obviously not what we strive for as a hotel. Please accept my most sincere appology.
If the opportunity presents itself, I'd like to speak to you directly over the phone to address your other concern of a rude manager.
If you are willing to chat please simply send me your contact info at gm@overlandermountainlodge.com and I'd gladly give you a call.
Once again, my appoligies and I hope to hear from you to address your other concern.
Tim Melanson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (444)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 444 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

The Overlander Mountain Lodge is located a ten minutes drive outside the gates of Jasper National Park towards Hinton and has whole complex of lodges and cabins to chose from. We stayed in the main building in a so called “Garden View Room”, which basically means that you see the parking lot and some other cabins from the first floor of the main building where also the restaurant is located. That is not a big issue as you are there to explore the park and only in the evening around. The downside is that you hear in the evening and in the morning the people coming from/going to their cars. This is especially valid for the summer when it can get quite hot in the area and you need to open the window during the night (as it cools down during the night a lot). To be fair: the restaurant and main building are closed at 11pm and then opened at 7am the next day again.
This leads to the next experience we had: The room has been rather hot, as it is a wood construction and the room located under the roof. As to expect from a lodge, there is no air-condition just a fan on the ceiling. Next minor downside was the loud noise from a vent or something from the kitchen we could hear and feel in our room. But this not further prevents from sleeping (except a little bit from fall asleep in the first night).
The room could be considered considered clean we did not found any major things. The room service was somewhat “rough” as they just put our pyjamas somewhere on the other bed (we had a twin room). One day I found in the morning a little stone under one of the beds (could happen as the location is in the middle of the Rocky Mountains and most guest go hiking) and it was still there in the evening. Thus the summary on the room service is that it may have not pay attention to the details although it could be expected from how the location positions itself on the market.

Breakfast was not included in the room but as there are not much alternatives around (driving approx. 10 minutes to Hinton or driving approx. 25 minutes to Jasper) we took the breakfast there. Service has been attentative and does not give any reason to complain. The buffet selection encompassed a good variety and especially an excellent quality.

The lodge provides complimentary WiFi that did not work some of the time. Obviously they have a special connection that does not work for that many guests. Usually it worked during the off-peak times but not during the busy time in the evening (7 to 9 pm).

Overall a good location a little bit outside the park, that gives you some logistical challenges if you do not want to take breakfast and dinner in the lodge (both meals can be highly recommended but are rather on the upper price level, especially dinner, but portions and quality match the price). Some of the mentioned points could be better for the price level the lodge has.

Room Tip: Chose either a Mountain View Room or a room in a cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank darktemptation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The Overlander is conveniently located just outside the park boundary (which is just a short distance away from the Miette hot springs). We got a room last-minute for Jasper standards (a month or two before). The room we stayed in was located in the main building on the second floor (stairs only, no elevator). It's a wood lodge and very beautiful. The rooms though were a portal back to the past with outdated drapes, tiny bathroom. The real unfortunate part for us was that it was the hottest days of the year for the area and there is no air conditioning so was difficult for us to sleep at $190 a night.

Dinner was delicious but on the expensive side as well, but if you don't want to trek it into the park for the first night (about 45 minutes one-way) then it's a good alternative.

They also had free wifi, but at the time it wasn't working.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CamGoldenGun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Nice cabins and a (surprisingly) good location outside Hinton, close to Switzer and maybe 40 Km from Jasper.

Pretty thin Cabin walls which could be an issue with loud neighbors.

Wifi only in the main area.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank travelburro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The lodge is about 30minutes outside of Jasper(town) and outside of the park so the back and forth can be annoying if you are pressed for time. That being said, the drive is BEAUTIFUL and worth it. It was a beautiful lodge, very clean and the staff was nice. We found that the walls were very thin... we could clearly hear other people coughing and showering... otherwise, very nice - beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ottawa_NMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here on our way to Vancouver, as its a good point for us to stop for the night, being 10 min outside of Hinton, and 20 min from Jasper.

The property consists of a several cabins, private residences and a large main lodge that has a very nice restaurant and lounge . The main lodge has a lovely deck along the front to take advantage of the spectacular view of the mountains. The charming old log walls, and old wood floors are sweetly quaint.

The lodge itself was built in the early 60's and though it was clean and updated, the room sizes are small, by modern standards. We booked a mountain view room (#23), positioned over the Lounge, with a small deck and glorious views. The "garden view" rooms are across the hallway, and have a view of the cabins and parking lots. The room itself was small, approximately 14'x20', with a comfy chair, fireplace and Queen sized bed. Please note, there is no TV in the room, but a decent WiFi signal (not sure if all rooms have it). We found the hotel very quiet, and slept well.

The only big negative, and something that nothing can be done about, is the very loud traffic sounds from hwy 16. The loud trucks noises echo up the valley, and really dampened our enjoyment of sitting on the deck. Like, it was hard to have a normal conversation,it was that loud. Luckily the windows were new, so once closed the noise was negligible.

I would recommend this Lodge for a couple looking for a quiet, romantic night, but not so much families. Though the large cabins would be spacious enough, there is no TV, pool or play ground that I saw.

Room Tip: Mountain View rooms are worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank SunPrincess9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Our daughter's wedding was an intimate affair, being only 12 in attendance, however, the Overlander Mountain Lodge was an amazing place to have our event. The staff and accomodations were over the top and we were all treated very well. Our every need or wish was anticipated and we felt like we were at home. The wedding dinner (ordered off the menu) was delicious and we were extremely happy with the staff. Stacey - you are fabulous, girl!! Our rooms were lovely and although the weather was extremely hot - we had a ceiling fan in our room along with an extra portable fan should we have needed it making our sleep very comfortable. Thank you, Overlander for making the wedding a very memorable event.

Room Tip: Mountain view rooms - awesome!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank designdiva123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper hotels
27.1 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
465 reviews
26.9 mi away
Chateau Jasper
Chateau Jasper
#8 of 17 in Jasper
900 reviews
26.7 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.6 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
28 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
1,691 reviews
26.8 mi away
Lobstick Lodge
Lobstick Lodge
#16 of 17 in Jasper
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Overlander Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overlander Mountain Lodge

Address: 27010 Highway 16, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T7V 1X5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Jasper
Price Range: £79 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Overlander Mountain Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the edge of Jasper National Park, 50 km outside Jasper Town-site, overlooking the majestic Rocky Mountains, sits the Overlander Mountain Lodge. This jewel in the Canadian Rockies offers spectacular views, gourmet dining and ultra comfortable lodging. Warm hospitality and a casual yet cozy atmosphere are combined here in a mountain setting of unique natural beauty. Our chalet vacation rentals can serve as your home away from home while exploring all the park has to offer.The Overlander Mountain Lodge provides a variety of accommodation for the perfect Mountain Getaway, where televisions and telephones have been excluded to ensure a peaceful and relaxing stay. When it is time to celebrate, look no further than this cozy Rocky Mountain retreat as an ideal setting for social gatherings, weddings and business groups. The Overlander Mountain Lodge is committed to providing some of the best lodging, food and hospitality in the Canadian Rockies.we offer different room types from cabins to rooms with mountain views, kitchenettes and complete vacation homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Overlander Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Overlander Mountain Hotel Jasper National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing