We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outside Jasper by a long way.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Overlander Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2006

We arrived at the Overlander late afternoon in sunshine, we were allocated chalet no 34 for the four of us,my wife & I,daughter and her fiance. The chalet was lovely, clean, spacious and well equipped. One disappointment there was no T.V.( we were not forwarned of this).
Our first evening meal was spent in the restaurant which is splendidly positioned. The food was delicious but the portions on the main course could have been larger. I felt that the cost was too high. mainly because of gratuity and service charges automatically added.Soup-delicious, salad-indiferrent, main -delicious total cost 224 dollars).
Our brochure says that this hotel is 20minutes from Jasper(this must be by jet). Jasper is 42 kms away and obeying the speed limits would take nearer 40mins.
It is a nice drive but after three times in two days became
boring.Overall a nice place for peace and quiet but we would stay
much nearer to Jasper next time.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank TeantravellerUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (441)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

393 - 399 of 441 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2006

We (from Germany) stayed two nights in this beautiful romantic hotel in the middle of the Canadian wilderness.
The dinners we had were marvellous, comparable to exclusive environments we visited in Europe. The wine range is excellent and the dining room has fantastic views over the Rockies. We loved the friendliness especially of the waitress Michele but of most of the staff. And also the breakfast was the best we had in Canada.

Fantastic view, nice cozy and tastefully equipped it was our refugium every evening, when we came from the exhausting tours in the park.
It was like coming home! The first hotel in Canada we liked, and we also stayed in the Fairmont Waterfront in Vancouver.

The only perhaps a little bit bad impression we had, were the thin walls, but we learnt in the other hotels we visited during our trip, that this is the Canadian way of building houses, so never mind, a crying baby is a crying baby - our daughter also cried 10 years ago.

For heavens sake it is far away from Jasper which was a town most disappointing within our whole trip.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank abraxassa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2006

We stayed in room 31 which is a corner room. Important since they do not have air conditioning. The room was very nice, with coffee maker and blow dryer. The view was worth the stay and the place was very homey feeling.

The restaurant is "fine dining." We did have our dinner there, but honestly the value for the meal was not good. Our opinion was that if you are in a cabin type of environment who really wants that high end of food for that high price. The wait staff was very efficient and friendly. The meal was good, but expensive.

Then for breakfast it was $10 per person for a continential breakfast. The wait staff (one person) was not good. Again, the value of a $10 continential breakfast was not good.

We would stay there again, but eat elsewhere.

Stayed: August 2006
1  Thank MrsSki13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2006

We (my girlfriend and I) were looking for a suitable place to celebrate our one year anniversary. Several places in edmonton, japer and Banff came to mind, but it just seemed like over the years the hotels and restaurants in those centers have become indifferent to customer service. More interested in reaping the rewards of alberta's recent economy boom than anything else.
The moment we walked into the overlander, we knew we had made the right choice. The ambiance and view from the dining room was second to none. The wine list was incredible, and the food was amazing enough that i bought drinks for the head chef and his staff.
We stayed the night in the mountain view room, and that sealed a return trip for us next summer, although i'd like too see these mountains in the winter. Our only complaint was that there wasn't jacuzzi's available. I'd have to warn anyone though, if you're on a tight budget and tie your happiness to spending as little money as possible this might not be the place for you. If you desire a true romantic mountain get away, this is where you want to be.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank max_fisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2006

This hotel is over-rated and over-priced. $200 CAD, for what? We were not adequately informed of how far Overlander is from Jasper. Thank goodness the drive is very nice, however. Though we were assigned a mountainview room, the view from the room itself is very limited. You have to be on the smallish balcony (we're from Texas...it was indeed small by Texas standards) for any kind of view, and bats actually live within the walls of that balcony and were swarming, so I wouldn't say that being out there with bats was particularly charming, or fun. But, if bats are your thing, you should be very happy on that balcony. The shower curtain isn't a shower curtain but a sheet that hangs too long inside a very slippery tub (watch out here...no tub mat is around), so be careful or you'll be walking on it in your shower too. Water goes right through that sheet and makes a puddle outside the tub, so be ready to mop up a puddle after each shower (or don't). Our room was painted a very depressing, drab blue color. If you stay here, there's really nothing to do except sit in bed and read with inadequate lighting. We found the restaurant to also be over-rated and over-priced with a very stuffy staff. Our waitress seemed to be wishing we weren't there. We wished we weren't there too, but we were stuck for 2 nights, unfortunately. The 2nd night, we returned as late as possible so we could shower and head straight to bed and get out as early as possible the next morning. Oh, also, the one electric outlet in the bathroom is behind the sink, so any electric cords you use will drape through the sink...so be sure to not leave the water running. This wouldn't pass code in Texas...not sure about Alberta codes.This was our first visit to Alberta and we expected this hotel to be the highlight of our trip for some reason. Turns out that it was THE most disappointing aspect of our week-long visit. The other 2 places we stayed (in Banff and Calgary) were very fabulous and very enjoyable. Thank goodness for that. After returning home, we contacted the manager of Overlander with our feedback and requested some sort of adjustment of our bill, but she indicated that she gets so much positive feedback (4-5 comments on their website for this year, fewer for 2005??) that she really didn't feel compelled to make any adjustments, and that our feedback didn't matter to her. Take these comments for what they are worth to you. We felt we owed it to our fellow travelers to use TripAdvisor for its intended purpose and hope that our comments will help you in your decisions.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JJulianna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barney2171, owner at Overlander Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2006

We are very sorry that this guest did not enjoy their stay at the Overlander Mountain Lodge, but we feel that the comments made are not reflective of our Lodge for the following reasons:
1. We notify all of our guests by phone,email and literature that we are located 35 minutes East of Jasper.
2. Due to our location in the infamous Rocky Mountains, we do have wild life in the area which can range from sheep, mountain goats, bear, deer, elk to bats. We however do not have swarms of bats.
3. The view from the Overlander, especially from our Mountain view balconies, is spectacular as stated in many editorials on our Lodge and told to us by guests from all over the world. Please view pictures on our website.
4. The majority of our guests find our rooms bright and cheerful, please view room pictures on our website.
5. Shower curtains are waterproof and purchased as such.
6. The electrical outlets in the bathrooms have a ground fault and are used in Hotels all across Canada.
7. Our restaurant is casual fine dining and all staff is trained to serve in this manner. We are Triple AAA rated and are well known in the area as having excellent quality and great service.
Again we are sorry you did not enjoy your stay, but are surprised nothing was mentioned to us at the time so we may have tried to rectify the situation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2006

I stayed at one of the Miette Rooms, which had a queen sized bed, two-person couch, a small bathroom and an electric fireplace. The room was clean, albeit tiny. No phone or TV. The Overlander is located 50 km from Jasper and did feel a little bit far as it is connected by a one-lane highway. My room faced the "back" so I did not really have a view. There isn't really much of anything around Overlander except the mountains so it is an isolated hotel (no convenience store, bars or restaurants etc. close by other than the Overlander restaurant). The staff was nice and helpful. I ate at the restaurant - wildly overrated for the price. I had artic char while my wife had the steak. Cost around CD$80 without drinks. Felt it would have been more appropriate to be 30-40% for the quality. Not sure why many reviewers felt the restaurant was good. The hotel was good for my stay but wouldn't stay again. But if you're the type that likes isolated, quiet hotel with nice, accomodating staff and no facilities other than the room you're staying at, this hotel is for you.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank ukker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Baltimore, Maryland
515
Reviewed 10 July 2006

We stayed at the Overlander Mountain Lodge for 2 nights in early July, 2006. Our room was in the main lodge and overlooked the mountains. The rooms were clean, albeit nothing fancy. Waking up to the view of the mountains through the window was quite breathtaking.

While at the lodge, we had dinner at their restaurant and were very pleased with the quality of the food. It was a bit pricey, but we felt it was well worth the dining experience.

While we thoroughly enjoyed staying at the lodge, I could only give it an average review for two reasons. The first is that we stayed during a heat wave and the rooms in the lodge do not have air conditioning. The ceiling fans helped, but it was still a bit uncomfortable for us sleeping at night. The other issue was the noise from the highway below the lodge. The noise from the traffic detracted from the peacefulness of the mountains, not to mention the road construction woke us at 6:30AM in the mornings.

If a/c and noise are issues for you, you might consider one of the miette rooms. We considered changing but could not give up the view of the mountains.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would consider Overlander if we were in the area again.

Stayed: July 2006
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper hotels
27.1 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
454 reviews
26.7 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
984 reviews
26.9 mi away
Chateau Jasper
Chateau Jasper
#8 of 17 in Jasper
890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.6 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
28 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
1,656 reviews
25.2 mi away
Pyramid Lake Resort
Pyramid Lake Resort
#10 of 17 in Jasper
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Overlander Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overlander Mountain Lodge

Address: 27010 Highway 16, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T7V 1X5, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Jasper
Price Range: £79 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Overlander Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the edge of Jasper National Park, 50 km outside Jasper Town-site, overlooking the majestic Rocky Mountains, sits the Overlander Mountain Lodge. This jewel in the Canadian Rockies offers spectacular views, gourmet dining and ultra comfortable lodging. Warm hospitality and a casual yet cozy atmosphere are combined here in a mountain setting of unique natural beauty. Our chalet vacation rentals can serve as your home away from home while exploring all the park has to offer.The Overlander Mountain Lodge provides a variety of accommodation for the perfect Mountain Getaway, where televisions and telephones have been excluded to ensure a peaceful and relaxing stay. When it is time to celebrate, look no further than this cozy Rocky Mountain retreat as an ideal setting for social gatherings, weddings and business groups. The Overlander Mountain Lodge is committed to providing some of the best lodging, food and hospitality in the Canadian Rockies.we offer different room types from cabins to rooms with mountain views, kitchenettes and complete vacation homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Overlander Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Overlander Mountain Hotel Jasper National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing