We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent views, lovely food poor service”

The Pines Restaurant
Ranked #29 of 84 Restaurants in Jasper
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Canadian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Herne Bay
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent views, lovely food poor service”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

A truly amazing location. Lovely views over the lake. Food was excellent, beautifully cooked when it arrived. Service was odd. They said we could have a table and then we were waiting to sit down and then having sat down the starter arrived 50 minutes later. We were warned it would be slow after we had ordered! No complimentary drinks or nibbles offered.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    29
    9
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead, England
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent food only outdone by the view!”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Eat there twice. Service was cheerful, genuine and interested in us. Wine was a reasonable cost (for the region) and some good beers. Very good and varied menu- I had Arctic Char one night which was a first. Desserts were very tempting!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PJB57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Horrible Service and Horrible Breakfast”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Hash browns were saturated in oil, and sitting in a lake of oil. Perhaps it was cooked ahead of time and I received the bottom batch. The toast was cold. The service was horribly slow considering that half the restaurant was empty, and the waitress kept apologizing that food service was slow because its busy. The problem is the breakfast chef was also the breakfast dishwasher, and the waitresses didn't help either. My recommendation is to avoid Pines Restaurant altogether, and drive back into Jasper townsite for a decent meal. It would be alot quicker guaranteed.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ACDSee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenham, Texas
Level Contributor
75 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great food and view”
Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

We ate lunch at The Pines. We had the lobster with pasta and cheese, soup and salad, and fish and chips. We all agreed the food and service was excellent and the prices were reasonable.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jimcab2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Amazing Meal”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We had a fantastic dinner at the Pines. This was our second time and it didn't disappoint. The quality of the food, flavor & presentation was 5 star. The service was excellent as well. I would highly recommend it to anyone. My only negative criticism would be that with the open kitchen the chefs should keep in mind that if they have a concern with something the wait staff is doing they need to go to a different area to speak to them or lower their voices, This happened at dinner & again the next morning at breakfast, It really reminded me of an episode of Hell's Kitchen which is a bit awkward when trying to enjoy your meal.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Pines Restaurant also viewed

Jasper, Jasper National Park
 
Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper National Park, Canadian Rockies
 
Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 

Been to The Pines Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing