We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loud!”
Review of Whistlers Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Whistlers Inn
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loud!”
Reviewed 8 April 2012

This hotel was the noisiest I have ever been in! Our room seemed to be directly above the smoking area for the bar downstairs so all we could hear all night was extremely loud swearing and shouting. This was also going on in the corridor outside the room, with what seemed to be a coach of people running up and down the halls. We were also unlucky to have the room beside the lift (though admittedly we did get the last available room so this couldn't be helped!) . All in all I did not sleep until at least 2 in the morning. Not very restful at all!! The hotel itself is dated (there is a strong smell of smoke in the lobby) but the room was still very clean, which is a positive. The staff were also very friendly too! A big bonus at this hotel are two large rooftop hotbubs with a beautiful view of the rockies! Despite these positives and a great location, I would not stay at this hotel again or recommend it to others wanting a quiet evening.

Room Tip: Away from the lift and not a room on the car park side - these seem to be the noisiest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank me929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    248
    145
    46
    34
See reviews for
91
316
34
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 8 April 2012

I have stayed at this hotel mulitple times, all days of the week, and have never heard any noise. The staff is always friendly and very hepful with directions, recomendations, etc. and the location is great, never had trouble with parking either (but yes, there are limited spots, a large truck would have a difficult time). I love going to this hotel and the roof top hot tubs are amazing and worth the trip, the rooms are always clean and comfortable. Last visit there was a band playing in the bar and we could hear non of this in our room. Of all the hotels I have stayed at, including $600/night luxury hotels, Whistler's Inn is my favorite hotel and I will always return and recommend a stay here. The comfort beats and hospitality beats out 5 star, brand new hotels any day. Thank You for the great stays and soaks in the tubs.

Room Tip: Get a room across from the tubs, or close to them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 549Amanda_B_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

This is right in the heart of Jasper, we had room in the back of the hotel with 2 double beds with old fashion air conditioner and tv. Bathroom was large and clean. It was quite, but we could not use the wi-fi, had to go to the lobby to use it and it was packed with young people doing the same thing. Room was clean and comfortable. It has a surprise a animal museum down stairs, well worth a visit, (free for guest).

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank microdotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Posen
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

In front of the railway station, with a pretty good bar with nice prices. In the middle of the night someone from the staff came to our room and said that it is too loud in our room :) They were very polite saying that it is late and we should calm down. Nice stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pawel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Traveling with my life partner and friends for the 2012 Jasper Pride Mardi Gras weekend, this hotel provided friendly welcoming service. We were provided a great room and rate by calling ahead about a week in advance and inquiring about their suites. We ended up with a good top floor suite with a gas fireplace, sitting area, small wet bar, and large bathroom. Great beds, very clean room and linens.

The central location of Whistler's Inn mean there was no need to use a car to get around town. Close to restaurants, shopping and all major services, across the street from the train station. Great in house/attached restaurant called Cassios.

The only detracting comment I would make is about the cleanliness of the hot tubs - definitely a much appreciated and heavily used feature, but in need of more frequent cleaning and general litter removal from the area.

Room Tip: Suite 236 was at a nice quiet location at the end of the hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Colton K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatton, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

I think most of the reviews here are a bit harsh. It's a bit older than a lot of the hotels, but it's also cheap. I never had any problems with smoke or anything like that. I would probably return here because of the great value for money, there is a couple of negatives though. THe hallway noise is so loud, unfortunately. But it did seem like there was grown men running up and down the hallway too. The location is great, but bad at the same time. It was handy with the super heavy bags we(my brother and I) had, when we got off the train, as it was just across the road, but there's trains going through at all hours of the night.
The hotel itself, I can't really fault too much though.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bek91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Stayed here for two nights on a family vacation. Reviews on TripAdvisor, as well as online pictures, convinced us to stay here. Never again, though. The property is in the heart of downtown Jasper on the main road in town and within walking distance of many restaurants and shops. But, the property is older and showing its age. There are only about eight parking spots available for approximately 30 guest rooms. If you're not lucky enough to get one of these spots, you have to drive around hoping to find a place to park on the street or need to park in one of two public parking areas that are two or three blocks from the hotel. Property has a pub in the back and smoke from the pub drifts into the lobby area, as well as the parking area access door. In addition, the train station is right across the street, so the arrival and departure of trains was noicy. If we ever make it back to Jasper, we will definately not stay here and stay at a property on the out-skirts of Jasper.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the front of the hotel, as far away from the pub, as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Jasper hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.4 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
375 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
0.8 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#5 of 17 in Jasper
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Jasper Inn & Suites
0.6 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#6 of 17 in Jasper
1,504 reviews
0.6 mi away
Maligne Lodge
Maligne Lodge
#13 of 17 in Jasper
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whistlers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whistlers Inn

Property: Whistlers Inn
Address: 105 Miette Drive | P O Box 250, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Whistlers Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The friendly and knowledgable staff at Whistler's Inn are able to provide you with information on all of Jasper National Park's attractions and can also offer suggestions on how to best enjoy your time in Jasper, Alberta, Canada. So for your next getaway to the mountains, let the staff at Whistler's Inn help make your vacation memorable. The Whistler's Inn welcomes our LGBT clientele and is pleased to offer an array of services and programming designed to make every stay special. We are the perfect venue for parties, group retreats or intimate weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Whistlers Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whistlers Hotel Jasper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing