We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go elsewhere if you like sleep”
Review of Whistlers Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Whistlers Inn
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Go elsewhere if you like sleep”
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Whilst we weren't expecting the Ritz for $187 inc. tax, we did expect a room. Frankly what we were given was a converted broom cupboard.
Our room overlooked the, small, car park but I guess wherever you go someone will always have a car park view!
Our room backed onto the lift, and didn't we know it! Everytime the lift stopped on our floor it sent a shock along the wall and made something vibrate in the bathroom! When we explained this to the girl in the desk in the morning her only response was 'Oh, I didn't realise that happened!' I had to walk away as I could not believe that she didn't even offer a simple apology. Admittedly I am like a bear with a sore head when I am sleep deprived however my husband, the calmest person I know, was furious.
This is by far the worst place I have ever stayed in.
The staff are rude and totally disinterested in any comments you have.
This was my 3rd and my husbands 2nd visit to Jasper and I can see why this was the only place with rooms available.
We would have had more sleep if we had parked our car next to the railway line and reclined the seats.

Room Tip: Avoid room 122
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadaGoose001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VHugie, General Manager at Whistlers Inn, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and for including the room number that you stayed in. We do take feedback seriously and will look into the concerns of vibration and noise in this room. While we strive to provide excellent service and assistance to all our valued guests we recognize that there will be some times that we do not meet our goal and I apologize that you found us unhelpful in this instance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    244
    144
    46
    33
See reviews for
90
309
33
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

It's located in front of the train station and walking distance from all stores and restaurants. We didn't used our car to tour the city. Their parking space though is limited. Our room -- nothing fancy but it was clean and comfortable and that's what matters since we're only there to sleep. Service is good, we checked in and out without any trouble. If you are visiting for the summer, this hotel has an air conditioning one of the reaons why we chose this. We would definitely come back.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beetle025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2012 via mobile

Wow these guys just bumped the prices up what a joke just no good for the money for sure rip off merchantsFound the staff to be help full. But found it very strange how they dropped room rates from extortionate rates to lesser extortionate rates and the busy time and season is over as advertised on there web site

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Divingdog5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VHugie, General Manager at Whistlers Inn, responded to this review, 24 September 2012
While feedback is always appreciated, in order for us to improve our service the comments are better served if they are constructive. Unfortunately the information in this review is incorrect as Jasper's high season, as a town, does in fact extend to the end of September as do the high season rates advertised on our website and all booking partner sites. We offer a variety of advance booking specials, corporate, discount or regular rates and, on quieter days we reserve the right to offer walk-in specials if availability allows.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Jasper hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights whilst touring round the Rockies. Having read all the reviews I was a bit unsure about staying but accommodation in Jasper was hard to find and expensive. But we found the room clean and comfortable and conveniently located. We had no problem parking at the back of the hotel, but then we had a small economy car which was half the size of all the others so could squeeze into the last parking space! The hot tub was a great following an afternoons horse trek. However, we were woken up very early both mornings by inconsiderate guests who were obviously on a tour and had an early pick up which was not the hotels fault. Loved Jasper though!

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyB B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludlow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2012

A quiet room request resulted in being located on the main through road and within 100 meters of the main railroad. A train in the middle of the night stopped abruptly resulting in each goods waggon clanking against the next one (say 150+ waggons!).The hotel bar was open until two o'clock in the morning. Revellers/drunks were still shouting at 3 am, Despite agreeing, as we checked in, that they would take our cases across to the station on the Sunday morning upon checking on the Saturday evening they said it wasn't possible as the receptionist was pregnant!!

However the beer was good and the room was clean and we were tjhere on both the Friday & Saturday nights.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rodholmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

This hotel was great.
We really enjoyed the roof-top hot tubs, the friendly staff, the comfy bed. Centrally located (all of Jasper is centrally located, it's a tiny town, but this hotel is very central), we didn't try the hotel restaurant but they were kind enough to give us bowls and spoons so we could eat breakfast in our room.
Also, we were there on our honeymoon, and on check-in found out that they'd upgraded us to the king-size suite, the only room in the hotel with a balcony. We would have liked the hotel anyway, but this was a wonderful surprise.
Definitely a recommended stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lehons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
229 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Prices in Jasper are ridiculously expensive but this hotel was cheaper than most and was adequate enough. The room seemed a little 'seedy', and the rug seemed dirty. I do wish they would update their bathroom as the old fixtures seem tired and worn out. The windows were modern and very sound proofed.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the front will not have the train noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jnjdougan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.4 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
353 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
0.8 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
1,462 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Jasper Inn & Suites
2.8 mi away
Pyramid Lake Resort
Pyramid Lake Resort
#8 of 17 in Jasper
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whistlers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whistlers Inn

Property: Whistlers Inn
Address: 105 Miette Drive | P O Box 250, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Whistlers Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The friendly and knowledgable staff at Whistler's Inn are able to provide you with information on all of Jasper National Park's attractions and can also offer suggestions on how to best enjoy your time in Jasper, Alberta, Canada. So for your next getaway to the mountains, let the staff at Whistler's Inn help make your vacation memorable. The Whistler's Inn welcomes our LGBT clientele and is pleased to offer an array of services and programming designed to make every stay special. We are the perfect venue for parties, group retreats or intimate weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, Expedia, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Whistlers Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whistlers Hotel Jasper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing