We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“i quite enjoyed my stay in this cozy hotel for the most part”
Review of Whistlers Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Whistlers Inn
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Jasper, Canada
1 review
“i quite enjoyed my stay in this cozy hotel for the most part”
Reviewed 23 October 2012

pros-
- quiet (im sure that was mostly due to the fact that it is low season though and although
there is a train station across the street they didn't disturb me in the least)
- very cozy room; bedding was quite comfortable
- fantastic little pub located in lobby with exceptional pricing!
- my bill came to $98.00 total for a room with two beds (not at all the tourist trap i was expecting!)
- while my friends found the room to be outdated i thought it was very cute and much
better than similarly priced accomodations in the area
- perfect location! it is located right on the main strip near several gift shops, restaurants, a
cinema as well as a train station across the street which was perfect
- although i personally felt it was too cold to take advantage of their rooftop hottubs I
think it's an absolutely brilliant idea! the view from the rooftop is just gorgeous


cons-
- unfortunately i was aghast to find quite a few pubic hairs sitting in my bathtub when i arrived. fortunately i had taken a shower before i got to the hotel, and will wait to take another upon leaving
- there were also a few hairs on the floor of my bathroom
- the hotel doesnt have any way to book online and when i called them they were not willing to book me a room over the phone. fortunately, at this slow time of year it did not pose a problem
for me but i would not stay here during the busy season as it would be quite hard to secure a room before arriving.
- the final qualms i had with the room are very minor: no ice bags to line the ice buckets, and the tv picture was quite fuzzy

all in all i really enjoyed my stay here, and other than the unfortunate surprises in the bathroom i found the room to be very clean and well maintained. i will most certainly be staying here again when i return to jasper!

Room Tip: ask for a room on the 2nd floor as to be further away from the noisy pub
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bbbrittany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VHugie, General Manager at Whistlers Inn, responded to this review, 25 October 2012
First let me thank you for posting such a comprehensive and informative review. It is always appreciated when our guests take the time to pass along information - particularly information that is helpful for future visitors.

Second, I am so sorry that your bathroom was not cleaned to our regular standard and can only apologize. Had you notified the front desk of your concerns we would have been pleased to send up a staff member to completely re-do the bathroom for you.

Third, I am not sure why you were unable to book on-line. We offer online bookings through several online agencies as well as through the availability/reservations button on the upper right side of our website - www.whistlersinn.com. Online bookings cannot be made on the day of arrival simply to avoid any potential overbooking issues during our peak times.

Again, thank you for your comments. We will work hard to further improve our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    244
    144
    46
    33
See reviews for
90
309
33
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
246 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We were found this room in August 2011 by ViaRail, when the Canadian train was running very late, and we have neglected to review until now as we have been travelling the world...

The hotel is nice and central (opposite the rail station), and our family room (with a huge double bed and a pull-out sofa-bed for the kids) was large and clean. We slept well, but were disappointed that the hot tubs were closed in the morning, when we got up early hoping for a soak. We didn't have breakfast, but the rest of the hotel looked to be in good order. I think there was free wifi available...

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TalbotTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VHugie, General Manager at Whistlers Inn, responded to this review, 18 October 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments. We are sorry that you were unable to use the hot tubs in the morning prior to your departure but we do occasionally need to shut them down for cleaning and maintenance in order to comply with local Health regulations. We try to have a minimum of one tub open during all regular hours of operation from 9am to 11pm daily.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

The look of this hotel is deceiving, as I was quite surprised by the nice clean rooms. Good location in jasper near all amenities. The hot tub on the roof was spectactular ! Unfortunatly we were in a room above the bar and the noise was unbearable. This hotel I found to be more for the young party goers and skiers. If you stay here make sure you get a room away from the bar and back alley.

Room Tip: This is not a family friendly hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank April041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VHugie, General Manager at Whistlers Inn, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
Thank you for posting your comments. We are sorry that you were disturbed by noise and wish that you had notified one of our staff as to your discomfort. We staff our Front Desk 24 hours every day so as to do our best to assist in situations like this. If it was not possible to move you to a different room we would have been pleased to do our best to find a comfortable solution for you. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to take care of you in the future and invite you to call to discuss the situation further should you wish.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

WHistler Inn is in a great spot right in the middle of town. The hotel was very clean and staff were all really friendly. Make sure you take a visit to the hot tub on the roof it has spectacular views of the mountains all around. The pub downstairs we found also good for a night cap before bed (the sell take aways too!!).

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the pub
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 62wats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012 via mobile

Centrally located right in downtown jasper, close to everything. Good little cheap pub downstairs. Two hot tubs on the roof of the hotel with views of the mountains. A must after a hard day of hiking!

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank btm369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
185 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We loved our stay at the Whistler's Inn in Jasper, Alberta, CA. The quaint, cozy lobby welcomed us, as well as the helpful staff. They had a few unique features which really enhanced our visit. The rooftop hot tub and steam room combination was wonderful after a busy day of traveling around Jasper National Park. In addition, the hotel has a very interesting wildlife museum with professional dioramas of wildlife found in the area. Guests need only ask for a token at the desk for free admission to the museum. The accommodations were roomy, the evenings quiet and restful. The location allows for visitors to walk to stores, restaurants and area parks. The hotel is located across from the train station too.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Stayed October. Comfortable rooms, plenty of room to move about. Beds comfortable, restaurant and pub on site. The only down side was the first room 128 was over looking the car park, wasn't a problem, but the noise on the second night from the smokers at 2.45 after two complaints from 2 am was. In fairness the manager next morning up graded us to a better room 209 and apologised so all good. You do hear the trains, although still managed to sleep, but the trains are heard all over Jasper as its a small town.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms not over looking car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.4 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
353 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
0.8 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
1,462 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Jasper Inn & Suites
2.8 mi away
Pyramid Lake Resort
Pyramid Lake Resort
#8 of 17 in Jasper
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whistlers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whistlers Inn

Property: Whistlers Inn
Address: 105 Miette Drive | P O Box 250, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Whistlers Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The friendly and knowledgable staff at Whistler's Inn are able to provide you with information on all of Jasper National Park's attractions and can also offer suggestions on how to best enjoy your time in Jasper, Alberta, Canada. So for your next getaway to the mountains, let the staff at Whistler's Inn help make your vacation memorable. The Whistler's Inn welcomes our LGBT clientele and is pleased to offer an array of services and programming designed to make every stay special. We are the perfect venue for parties, group retreats or intimate weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Whistlers Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whistlers Hotel Jasper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing