We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super location for Rocky Mountaineer”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Whistlers Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Whistlers Inn
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
89 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Super location for Rocky Mountaineer”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

This is a nice hotel right across the street from the train station. The room was large and nice. The bathroom was a good size but not well lighted. The two hot tubs on the outdoor deck are very nice and have a great view of the mountains. The jets were not very strong but it was very relaxing. The staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurieTEX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    233
    139
    44
    29
See reviews for
88
294
33
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

We booked 2 rooms for 2 nights , location was right across from train station so no getting lost and found them spacious and nice view street. Better to park on street which is ok after 5 pm then try the hotel carpark or big public car park across road . The bar staff service was very efficient . Had breakfast in restaurant one morning filling. I would stay here again , good base for starting exploration

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank travelmadEmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medicine Hat, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We booked one night at whistlers inn. Upon arriving, it was one disappointment after another starting with the severe lack of parking (we had to park almost 5 blocks away in a public parking lot) to the poor customer service and the horribly out of date decor. I don't think the carpet in the lobby have been cleaned in years.

We had a room overlooking the parking lot (if 10 stalls behind the building can be called a parking lot), we could constantly smell garbage. The condition of the room was fair at best. The bathrooms had rusty faucets and drains, as well as some disgusting stains on the sides of the tub.

We contemplated driving the extra 100 kms to stay in Hinton to save some money and are kicking ourselves for not doing so. I believe a $250 hotel room should have better customer service, amenities and house keeping then we witnessed.

Save your money and stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerrilg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VHugie, General Manager at Whistlers Inn, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Thank you for your review however we would like to clarify the following:

* While the hotel has a limited first-come-first-served parking lot as clearly noted in our listing, there is also plenty of street parking around the hotel and 5 public parking lots that are one block from the hotel - not 5 as you have indicated. The Front Desk staff provide maps and clear instructions to assist all guests that arrive after the lot has filled up.
* The lobby and all high traffic public areas of the hotel are thoroughly steam-cleaned by EcoSteam a minimum of twice a year and are regularly spot cleaned as necessary.
* All the hotel rooms were completely renovated and updated in the last week of April 2014 and received new energy efficient windows, drapes, air conditioning units, paint, artwork, linens, furniture, flat-screen tv's and fridges. While the decor chosen may not be to every guests' personal taste, it is far from outdated or run-down. None of the faucets or drains are rusty as they are inspected and maintained regularly by both housekeeping and maintenance. If housekeeping had missed any marks in the tub, it would have been a human oversight and could have easily been rectified with a phone call or word with the Front Desk who are also fully trained in housekeeping duties.
* The rooms offer complimentary tea/coffee/bottled water, soap, shampoo, conditioner, lotion and body wash, cable tv and a/c. The hotel offers complimentary hot tub and steam room access, a wildlife display and free wifi. We are unsure what other amenities a basic hotel room should offer but welcome any suggestions.

We are sorry that you were unhappy with your stay but hope that you enjoyed the rest of your trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Jasper hotels

Ware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed here the night before our 2 day Rocky Mountain train trip. The receptionist was nice and we checked in finr, it was such a shame they could not help very much with what may happen to us the next morning for our train trip. We could work out what time the train went, and our itinery gave a time for collection, but they had no idea how our bags would be collected. It actually turned out the time was not early enough, luckily we were ready to go.

Unfortunately for them they did have a power cut in part of the town, so the bar and restaurant were closed, so we did not get our free drink :(

The hotel is located downtown so everything was easily accessible. Sadly we had a room overlooking the carpark.

It was perfectly fine for the overnight stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JanetteS_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
74 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

This is an older, pleasant place in the middle of town, but with very limited parking. However, you can park for free on the street overnight or in public lots. Best for this place is next to post office on Patricia St. We arrived here on evening of Canada Day but no problem finding a space. Btw, the local fireworks were wonderful and just a few blocks walk away.
Our room, booked many months ahead because of the holiday, was a really spacious corner one with nice view and pretty quiet considering it overlooked the street and train yard. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rah373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Hotel room had blood stains on the pillow, blood streak on the bathtub and some kind of string from a fabric found in the bed.

After telling the hotel staff, they cleaned the blood off and they offered a 15% discount on the room. I told them I wasn't happy with this, and they said that's the best that they can do. I would never stay at the hotel again, and I recommend if you are travelling in Jasper to find somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WesternEli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plattsville, Ont
Level Contributor
105 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Unfortunately we did not have a reservation when we went to Jasper and had difficulty in finding a hotel. We found a room at the Jasper Inn and when we went to check in we were told the price was $179.00 for a small room. After we went to look at it and checked in we got it for $149.00. The room was clean but very small. We were just there for one night so it was OK. One funny thing is we were told we had no view and when we looked outside we were looking at the mountains. To me that is a VIEW...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barrshar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.4 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.8 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Jasper Inn & Suites
2.8 mi away
Pyramid Lake Resort
Pyramid Lake Resort
#8 of 17 in Jasper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whistlers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whistlers Inn

Property: Whistlers Inn
Address: 105 Miette Drive | P O Box 250, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Whistlers Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The friendly and knowledgable staff at Whistler's Inn are able to provide you with information on all of Jasper National Park's attractions and can also offer suggestions on how to best enjoy your time in Jasper, Alberta, Canada. So for your next getaway to the mountains, let the staff at Whistler's Inn help make your vacation memorable. The Whistler's Inn welcomes our LGBT clientele and is pleased to offer an array of services and programming designed to make every stay special. We are the perfect venue for parties, group retreats or intimate weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Whistlers Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whistlers Hotel Jasper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing