We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pyramid Lake Resort
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Calgary
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

About 7 km outside of town, the resort is set on the beautiful Pyramid Lake, where you can skate or crosscountry ski right from your door. We were here on a Living Social Deal so the value was fantastic. The rooms are well-maintained and ours included an electric fireplace. A continental breakfast was included but the restaurant was closed Monday and Tuesday so instead we were given vouchers for a hot breakfast on Wednesday and Thursday. We were more than happy with that. There is also a outdoor hot tub, which was great to soothe our after-ski aches and a fitness room (though why anyone would use it when they have Jasper National Park out their door is beyond me). The staff were very friendly and we really enjoyed our time here, though we did miss being able to walk to all the restaurants/brew pub from our hotel as you have to drive in to town.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a view of the lake so it's hard to go wrong. Top floor rooms will likely be t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    227
    98
    63
    32
See reviews for
147
280
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Jasper is rustic, natural, beautiful... but lacking in good hotels and accommodations. That said, this resort is a special and unique experience for families, couples or friends getting away to the mountains. It is a 5-10 min drive up the mountain from the main town, but that's the main reason it's special as you are alone in the mountains. We had no issue getting a cab ride to/from the town when going out at night.
The view over the lake of the skyrocketing mountains in every direction is a spectacular backdrop for any of your activities. My personal favs were staking on the well groomed (by Zaboni!) track around the lake and a hockey rink in the middle. There's fire pits by the shore to warm up, and an outdoor hotub too. Although we had issues with getting into the hottub as they were cleaning it or it was too busy. Good value for a unique setting that will make your trip memorable in the winter.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the end, and ensure you have a view of the lake. They have skate rentals, but i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnwadecarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

I loved the location of this resort and the views from our room. There was skating, curling and xcountry skiing a few steps from the door on beautiful Pyramid Lake. The staff is friendly, the rooms are clean and the food is decent. However the building construction seems to be lacking - you can hear voices through the walls and as people climb the stairs or walk by your room, it's very loud. Unless you are a heavy sleeper, you'll probably be woken up by people coming and going. And the double-pane window was dirty in between the panes - I'm not sure how this happens but it meant that when the sun shined on the window, the dirt really took away from the stunning view. As well, the hot tub is kept at 35C which even the staff said wasn't hot enough. If it can't be kept at a warmer temp, it would seem it would be better to drain it for winter and save energy. Even with the problems, I'd stay here again and spend lots of time outdoors (easy to do with the location) so sleeping would be easier!

Room Tip: Try for the top floor in the 4th,5th or 6th building for the best views and less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Pyramid Lake Resort is perfect from the outside. Beautifully situated overlooking Pyramid Lake, it really is breath taking upon arrival. But that is where the dream ends.
We were advised upon arrival that for two of our three days there, the restaurant was closed. Not a big deal but would've been nice to know when I made the reservation.
We had to try about 10 times to get our key card to work, even once having to return to the front desk for help. We found our room to be average, save for the giant spider web and sagging mattress that nearly touched the floor. We also noticed a horrible draft coming from the fireplace, which is nice to look at but didn't have a fan to actually circulate heat.
We awoke on a frigid -28C morning to find that our heat had quit and it was a chilly 15C in our room. We notified the front desk, cranked the heat and hoped by the time we returned from our afternoon hike the issue would be fixed. It wasn't. We got to move all of our luggage to the next building into our new room.
That evening we looked forward to relaxing in the hot tub, only to find it was luke warm. Maybe the stream room? Cold room full of steam. At least when we returned to our room we still had heat.
The only good thing I can say about our stay is that the location is beautiful, the customer service was excellent, and the restaurant seemed decent. Next time we will spend our money elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jasperlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

This hotel features beautiful views, a wonderful lake nearby, courteous staff (and props to every one of them that we encountered), and nice looking cabins. It is a short drive from Jasper, has reasonable equipment rentals for skating, and a very fancy restaurant right on site. This is a very nice resort, and a perfect getaway from the city. We have enjoyed our stay, and consider it above average. This is a great place to go as a group to get away from it all.

However, the resort's little problems are many. The shower is exceedingly difficult to control. The hot tub should be much warmer. The lock on the door is so stiff that you can barely get your card in. Our alarm clock had been left on from the last guests, so we were woken up earlier than we wanted. The continential breakfast vouchers get you a side order for breakfast (namely, toast, a fruit cup, tea/coffee, and yogurt) and nothing more, so you end up purchasing a whole breakfast and then getting your sides free. The registration sign is so small that if you're coming in at night, you need an owl for a co-pilot to find the front desk (if anyone wants to know, follow the much larger "gift shop" sign).

Most of these are issues that I would never bring up independently. Even if one or two of these happened in a stay, they are not worth noting. But here it just seems like there's a little thing wrong here and there, all of which should be easily corrected by the new management. I feel like this place should have a 3.5 star rating - definitely above average, but just not in that "highly able to recommend" fourth star category, because something will probably be an issue to everybody. I would come again in a few years to see if these hiccups have been corrected, but I'm fairly sure that there's other places in town that are not making these same small mistakes.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank TA-Meyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince George, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

The rooms were very clean, well appointed and comfortable. Our room had an updated bathroom. The hotel staff were very accommodating and friendly. The restaurant...which I will review separately was very good.
The hotel has amazing views and is just a few minutes out of town, but is not at all an inconvenience. Will certainly come back again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Ryan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
128 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

My husband and I recently stayed here for one night for my husband's work. We arrived on Thursday night at 9:00 at night and after a long drive, were looking forward to a late dinner at the restaurant. It was very disappointing to find that the restaurant had just closed, that is the only issue I had with our stay. The king room was nice with a gas fireplace and large flat screen tv; the bathroom was spacious; and we had a lovely view of the lake from the patio in the morning. The resort is set in a beautiful location away from the town of Jasper so it was absolutely peaceful and relaxing. We would have loved to stay longer but could not at that time. We definitely hope to return to Pyramid Lake Resort.

Room Tip: Keep in mind that the resort is a few kms up from Jasper townsite in case you need to have food or a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrincessCaroline13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper hotels
2.4 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
2.0 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,436 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Jasper Inn & Suites
2.8 mi away
Whistlers Inn
Whistlers Inn
#11 of 17 in Jasper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pyramid Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pyramid Lake Resort

Property: Pyramid Lake Resort
Address: Pyramid Lake Road, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada (Formerly Coast Pyramid Lake Resort)
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pyramid Lake Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pyramid Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coast Pyramid Lake Hotel Jasper
Pyramid Lake Jasper
Coast Pyramid Lake Jasper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing