We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful cabin in a beautiful town”
Review of Bear Hill Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bear Hill Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights, and wished we could have stayed longer. Cabin was very clean, really cosy with the fire. Lovely to be able to sit and relax outside the cabin. Easy walk to centre of Jasper for shops and restaurants. Staff really helpful and friendly. Breakfast included was just wonderful, homemade granola, muffins and scones. This was definitely one of the big highlights of our tour.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaccilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (477)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 477 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014

Large, attractive rooms, excellent location, good buy for the money. Lodge is near to everything but just far enough away to be in a quiet spot. If returning to Jasper would definitely stay here. Very quiet AC.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wmgriever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Bear Hill Lodge is in a nice green spot a 15 min walk (or 2 min drive) from dowtown Jasper (hence, very quiet, which was perfect for us). We stayed in Forest Cottage room #14, wich looks onto a nice patch of green at the foot of the mountain, and we loved it. The cottage room is cozy, with a gas fireplace (nice touch), a table and chairs, and coffee making facilities. There is also a picnic table outside the cottage, for those sunny days....
The only hick is that cottage rooms are two per Cottage, ie: you will have neighbours. And you do hear them when they use their facilities (particularly the shower). This should not pose a problem if you have considerate neighbours. We did not, though, and were woken up at 3am by someone taking a 20 min shower.....

The personnel was really kind and went out of their way to help (we arrived without our luggage, which got misplaced at Heathrow...).

We really loved the breakfast buffet: a selection of delicious home-made scones and muffins, toast, jam, greek yoghurt, cereals, muesli, fresh fruit salad. For us it was perfect.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ItalianGirl70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed here for 1 night, which was enough. We stayed in canada for 3 weeks and this was one of the worst stays. On check in the staff were not friendly, nor helpful, basically not welcoming. The room was nice, but with all the notices in the room e.g charges if dishes not done made it feel uncomfortable. Would recommend if the staff were friendlier. If you are welcoming tourists to your country it would be nice to feel welcomed!!! P.s we paid upfront for our room at time of booking before even flying to canada, so to ask for a £200 pre auth i feel is unacceptable as the room was paid in advance and you dont have dining facilities at the time of our booking which could incur charges so why charge £200??? Just felt check in was based on gaining card details, as working previously on a hotel reception desk i feel this is a bad perception guests see/feel before settling in.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hollz2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The lodge is a series of cabins of different sizes on a quiet road in Jasper.

The pros: the road is really quiet and it was nice to feel like we were far away from city life. It's also close enough to walk in to Jasper to get whatever you need. They also provide free bear spray rental.

I struggled a little with the self catering equipment. There is no oven, only a hob, microwave and toaster, and the pans were not non-stick so I'm glad we didn't set off the fire alarm. The staff do offer to give you other equipment that you might need but we didn't want to keep bothering them every time I though of something else I needed. We also had the cabin at the front of the property so it felt like people could look in on us.

They do offer breakfast on the premises and they also have a hot tub in the main area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rezrovs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Stayed for a night, rustic little cabins, ours had very few plugs available.
TV was not updated (still has an old CRT) but the cabin was clean.
The beds in our cabin were very hard, which is good for me, but not so much for some people..... mattress only on a piece of plywood ... no box-spring.
The continental breakfast offered was excellent, a real bonus.
Reasonably priced accommodations if not looking for anything fancy.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank c0verdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed a night and were left a note to let ourselves in.
We didn't see the host until the next morning as we were leaving. This did feel a bit odd as we felt like we were invading some ones home.
The room was comfortable and kind of old fashioned but we were comfortable.
We are tea drinkers and would have likes some tea but the herbal tea was very good.
The TV was tiny and very difficult to watch anything from the bed.
We enjoyed watching people go by from the window seat.
We had the largest (and in my opinion the nicest room). It was immaculately clean.
Although it is a B and B there was no breakfast provided. Given the price, we would have either liked the price to reflect no breakfast or given even a continental breakfast.
However for some reason the accommodation in Jasper is expensive.
Everyone said how hospitable the host was but we did not see her for long enough to comment.
She seemed nice when we spoke to her to pay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ishiarusha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.2 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
459 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
0.3 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
1,674 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chateau Jasper
Chateau Jasper
#8 of 17 in Jasper
896 reviews
2.2 mi away
Pyramid Lake Resort
Pyramid Lake Resort
#10 of 17 in Jasper
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear Hill Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Hill Lodge

Address: 100 Bonhomme Road, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Jasper
Price Range: £105 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bear Hill Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Bear Hill Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bear Hill Hotel Jasper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing