We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy cottage with mountain view”
Review of Bear Hill Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bear Hill Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cosy cottage with mountain view”
Reviewed 25 January 2010

This was our splurge accommodation on an otherwise budget backpack accross Canada. It was so worth it. The location was amazing - wake up to mountains (though that's probably true of most places in Jasper). It's a short walk out of town - enough for it to seem quiet but easy walking distance to the main street.

Our room was amazing - so warm!! Really clean and cosy and had everything you needed. We had a Queen Cottage which had a little kitchenette which was well equipped. The bed was really comfy and the bathroom was a decent size.

Overall, it was brilliant.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mokkapokka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    194
    51
    18
    6
See reviews for
119
223
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2009

The room was clean and comfortable. The location was quiet and close to restaurants and town center. The staff were friendly and capable. Breakfast was included and was of good quality. The price was competitive with other Jasper locations. We enjoyed our stay and look forward to returning at a future date.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sheffieldblades11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2009

The Forest cottage was even more comfortable and well laid out than even a comfort room at Coast Edmonton Plaza. The washroom is more spacious than the Days Inn, Prince George . About the soap way better than the disaster we had at Days Inn Prince George. We had been upgraded into a Colin room for the 2nd night after our journey to Prince George and back with VIA rail. I found the entire room way better than a Fairmont Empress, Victoria (Deluxe sea view room). All in all a warm and soothing stay we had with Bear hill lodge. The breakfast was awesome especially with bakery from Bears Paw which is included in the Forest cottage. Looking forward to going back soon, may be next year.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WildwestCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2009

This was our second hotel out of seven on our roadtrip from Clagary to Vancouver. The hotel is set slightly outside the centre of Jasper and I would estimate it took 15-20 minutes to walk into town.
After reading some reviews I was fairly nervous and if your expecting the Hilton, go someone else, but for our two night stay in Jasper it was perfect.
There is no getting away from it, the lodges are small, with one double and one single bed in the room. If you're a couple then the single bed is perfect to rest your cases on. The bathroom is also small, but very clean and with sufficient towels. I took towels on this trip after reading somewhere on here that the towels were so thin. Granted, they're not amazing, but they do the job - do not weigh down your case with towels!!
The breakfast was fine. Toast, fruit salad and gorgeous muffins and cakes from the bakery in town.
My only complaint and I don't want to put anyone off, was the extractor fans in the bathroom are very loud and when the ajoining cabin failed to turn there's off, the noise was very clear in our room. My husband knocked next door and they kindly turned it off, but there is no way you could have slept with it on.
We sat outside both evenings on the picnic bench and if your lucky, Elks wonder around the grounds and one even settled for the night not far from our lodge. Lovely.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LushWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edmonton, alberta
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2009

We booked two cabins for an extended family getaway. The location was excellent with many amenities located within walking distance. Our bungalow was very well equipped and comfortable. The towels and TV could stand to be replaced. The beds were OK. I slept well but they are small. There was no vacancy while we were there but even though it was full, it remained quiet. The other guests we did meet were very friendly and very tolerant of our family get togethers outdoors. I would definitely stay here again and would love to make it a yearly event as I found it suited our needs perfectly. The staff we encountered were extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chattykathy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, AB
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2009

My daughter and I stayed in a forest cabin for two nights. The location was excellent. It was quiet and a bit out of the way but very comfortable walking distance from Jasper restaurants, shopping, etc. I loved the convenience of parking right in front of the door. I thought the cabin was cute and certainly works for just a couple of days but it was very basic and small, just room for the two beds. I am disappointed that there was no kitchenette at all. I think a mini fridge and microwave are bare minimum requirements for a cabin. They attempt to compensate for the lack of kitchenette by providing free breakfast for the forest cabins but the breakfast is very minimal - just coffee and tea with toast, biscuits, some fruit and cereal (no juice or hot foods). The shower was awesome with excellent water pressure and plenty of hot water. The rooms were fairly clean. I would generally agree that my expectations would be higher for the cost but it is Jasper and accommodations cost a premium here. It was okay. I would probably give some place like Becker's a try next time but would not find it to be a hardship to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Partial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlingame, CA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2009

Initially we had reservations across the way at the Best Western, but changed our minds after seeing the room. We drove around the corner to Bear Hill. The man at the front desk was friendly and offered a better rate than BW. Our studio room was upstairs, had two chairs in front of the fireplace, small table and chairs for eating, kitchenette, tv/armoire, and a roomy bathroom with jetted tub. Wifi was available too. There are deck chairs at the entrance and a big flowerbox full of nasturiums. We had view of the mountains. I slept well, but my husband thought the bed was a bit hard. However, we both agreed that the room was very comfortable and a decent value. It is walking distance to town. Be sure to check out Bear Paw Bakery for breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LavenderHydrangea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.2 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
402 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
0.3 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
1,543 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Jasper Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Chateau Jasper
Chateau Jasper
#10 of 17 in Jasper
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear Hill Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Hill Lodge

Property: Bear Hill Lodge
Address: 100 Bonhomme Road, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bear Hill Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Bear Hill Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bear Hill Hotel Jasper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing