We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, comfortable stay with our Dog.”
Review of Tonquin Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tonquin Inn
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Reviewed 6 October 2011

This is our third stay at the Tonquin Inn, and easily our best. This time, likely due to having our dog with us, we were put in a room on the 'back' of the hotel across the street from another hotel, room 151. Our window looked out to the hill up to Pyramid Lake & mountains, which was very nice. We were given a comfortable, queen-bed room with a wheel-chair accessible washroom. The room was nicely re-decorated and our only complaint was that the flat screen TV was too low to watch while laying in bed.

Our trip was for relaxation, hiking and shopping at a relaxed pace. We enjoy staying here because it fits our budget and it's away from all the activity in the centre of Jasper.

We enjoyed leisure breakfasts at the Hotel's restaurant which transforms into a tasty buffet every morning from 7-10 am. It serves coffee, tea, orange juice, yogurt, fruit, mini cereal boxes, luncheon meats, muffins & pastries, as well as warm food like eggs, potatoes, bacon, sausage, toast, french toast and eggs benedict. We ate well with our $10 vouchers purchased at the front desk. The staff in the restaurant were friendly, attentive and kept the food fresh.

Although we did not use them this trip, we have in the past enjoyed both the outdoor hot tubs as well as the indoor pool & hot tub.

I find the $25 pet fee acceptable when staying multiple nights, but would be upset paying that much for one evening. I understand that we are supposed to receive a "pet package" when we arrive, but we were not given one. There are multiple pooper bag disposal bins on site, those were very convenient. One near our room and one near the outdoor hot tubs.

We will continue to stay with the Tonquin for our future trips, we are always happy with the rooms and the service.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alliston F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

738 - 744 of 1,110 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2011

Went there for an overnigth after the Icefields drive,the hotel is good,beside with a fantastic pool with jacuzzis in and out,and a very good restaurant just across the street ,with a 5stars buffet breakfast and bar.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cacoRiodeJaneiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

This motel is quite a large property with a pool and two outside jacuzzi's.

The rooms are nicely sized and look modern. Because of the interconnecting doors it can be slightly noisy though.

Unfortunately the Wifi Internet is not very dependable.

Breakfast buffet accross the street is fine. The walk to the towncenter is about ten minutes.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulArts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We arrived in Jasper in late afternoon with no idea of where we were going to stay. We drove around looking at our options and decided to try the Tonquin Inn. Our room was on the second floor and we were very impressed. There were two queen sized beds and it was spotlessly clean. Upon first entering the room smelled very strongly of air freshener but we fixed that by running the air conditioner for awhile. The restaurant was right below us but we didn't eat there so I can't comment on that. Overall, the Tonquin is modern, clean and a bit removed from downtown Jasper but within easy walking distance. The front end staff were friendly and helpful and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again or recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mouselady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

This establishment is fairly old, and the facilities reflect this. The room was about 26 Degrees C, and when the staff were ask how to turn it down, I got nothing but excuses and the fact that they had no control over it. The bathroom looked like it had been built in the closet, very cramped and nowhere to hang anything.

Two beds in the room nade it a bit cramped and it was hard to sleep in the heat. It was 5 Degrees C outside and we slept with the window open

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Radarz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

This was in a great location at the end of the main street 10 min walk to the centre. We were given a twin even though we booked a double and were told it was an upgrade and the hotel full, the beds were small so we had to use both and they took up most of the room, the bathroom was not spotless but OK and we had booked a mountain view but were at the top of the stairs so could not have the curtains open. I later saw a double so it was not an upgrade. The restaurant attached was expensive and average food and they had breakfast for $6 in town cheaper. There is also a walkway to the lake walks behind the hotel. We enjoyed our stay and as it was he only hotel available on booking it was OK but it wasn't the best hotel during our holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

We stayed here for 1 night with our dog, as part of a 2 day out-and-back trip from Calgary on the Icefields Parkway. We stayed in a two-room suite with a queen in 1 room and twin beds in the main room. Came with fully equipped efficiency, which we didn't use, but would be great for an extended stay.

Rooms were a little dark, but furniture was good quality, and aircon worked well. Ours was a downstairs suite, and the suspended floor above was a bit noisy. Luckily our vertical neighbours turned in early.

Rooms are not cheap, but hey, this is Jasper, a prime location. Nice walks for the dog around the town.

The Tonquin charges a one-time fee of $25 for a pet, which is fine, but if you're only staying for one night, it's something to factor in. Bargain price for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Go for an upstairs room - quieter, better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timskitour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper hotels
1.2 mi away
Maligne Lodge
Maligne Lodge
#13 of 17 in Jasper
745 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
0.4 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
991 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chateau Jasper
Chateau Jasper
#8 of 17 in Jasper
896 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
1,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tonquin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tonquin Inn

Address: 100 Juniper St, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Price Range: £56 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tonquin Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by majestic mountains and endless opportunities to appreciate the great outdoors, The Tonquin Inn provides a perfect getaway for adventure seeking families, friends and couples. Located in the heart of Jasper, this property features easy access to hiking trails, ski fields, rafting adventures and so much more! With its cozy sunken living rooms, convenient kitchenettes and "home away from home" charm, the Tonquin Inn is the ideal spot for an escape from the city! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Tonquin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tonquin Hotel Jasper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing