We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tonquin Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Marmot Lodge(Jasper)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Filia Inn(Jasper)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,119)
Filter reviews
1,119 results
Traveller rating
172
378
335
151
83
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
172
378
335
151
83
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprime ribfamily suiteindoor poolthird floorbeds were very comfortableseparate bedroomcoffee makerliving areafull kitchenthe main streetlake louisetubsfireplacekitchenettesaunaskiingedmonton
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
546 - 551 of 1,119 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2014

The indoor hot tub had a lot of sand in it. The outdoor hot tubs were fine but there was never any towels available at the tubs. Our entrance light bulb was burned out, so our room was very dark. The breaker tripped on our first morning while I blow dried my hair, and we had to wait about 20 minutes for the maintenance person to fix it. Our room wasn't cleaned after our first day of skiing, but fresh towels were provided when I phoned the front desk. The shower curtain didn't close, so the floor and door were soaked(hence the rotten tiles in the bathroom). The Tonquin(Decore Hotels) needs some serious maintenance!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your stay at the Tonquin Inn. Your comments have been shared with my team and they were very disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay at our hotel. Please be assured that your concerns are being addressed and that all proper maintenance procedures are being followed. Hopefully we can welcome you back on your next visit to Jasper.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Pros:
Location - it's Jasper and we love Jasper. It's not a big town so location desirability is limited. Anywhere in Jasper is decent. We like this location as it's away from right down town

No other pros

Cons:

Noise-walls are paper thin.

Rooms-temperature controls are poor. Was either too hot or too cold. The decor and upgrades are terrible. The card entries only worked half the time, super annoying.

Cleanliness-let's just say, kids complained that the pool water was burning their skin. Walk past the outdoor hot tubs and the smell burned my nasal passage! The condition of the kids swim suits determinate do after 3 pool sessions. This can't be a good sign. In room was okay, as I personally had kept it clean. The rooms stink. Over sprayed with floral air crap.

Service-I cleaned the room and had to ask for towels. Out at Marmot all day to come back at 4 pm to find our room hadn't been made up yet. Their excuse, they were really busy....sorry Tonquin but we were one of maybe 10 vehicles present! His also happened to our friends who we travelled with. I also had to call for pool towels every time we went to the pool. Why? Understaffed perhaps, I'm not sure.

Value-poor. Won't give my $160/night to Tonquin ever again. Not for what we were provided. As a side note, we stayed here 10 years ago and the service and rooms were just the same, poor.

Did this ruin our trip, nope! Because we had good friends, made good food and the snow was great :)

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaF0607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Thank you for submitting such a thorough and helpful review of your recent stay at the Tonquin Inn. We are glad to read that you love Jasper and that you liked our location. We are required by Alberta Health to provide water samples of our pool and outdoor hot tubs on a regular basis to ensure the chlorine levels are within Alberta Health guidelines. We are truly sorry that we were unable to meet your expectations. The hotel has undergone many upgrades with new furniture, beds, carpets, bedding and granite. We are constantly upgrading our product to ensure that we always provide the best service and product we possibly can for our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We stayed at the Tonquin Inn in Jasper AB on our way to Grande Prairie and also on our return trip. When we checked in we found the room to be small and crowded with oversized furniture. We stayed in this room for the night and my wife banged her leg and banged her head on the coat rack hanging in the cramped hallway. We informed them at the front desk the next morning and they moved us to a room twice the size. We were told the hotel was full also. The maintanence man informed us that the whole side of the hotel we were staying was completely empty and we would not be disturbed. we thought this strange since we were just informed they were full. On our return trip through we stopped again here and again were informed the hotel was full but they miraculously found 3 rooms for us to check out and see if we would like one. The price of these rooms were in the high hundreds and then again the maintanence guy showed us another empty room. We took this room and were a little set back they we paid more than the first time we stayed there. When l stepped out for a smoke l noticed the rooms across from us had their lights on and curtains open. As the night wore on these same rooms were left the same way. Then in the morning l noticed that the same rooms were left the same way. I realized that they had rooms and were just trying to give the illusion of a full hotel to charge more. This just irked me. I hate being lied to and will not be returning to this hotel or Jasper for that matter. We will be going through to the next town in the future.

Room Tip: If you don't see the parking lot full, the hotel is not full. Don't be fooled.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chumlee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the Tonquin Inn. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay and that you might have received misinformation regarding the availability of rooms. The only personnel that have accurate information regarding available rooms is the front desk. We do not "lie" to our guests. We always have a couple of rooms that are put aside in case we have to make room changes to accommodate our guests. It is unfortunate that you felt that you were lied to as we make every effort to accurately inform and accommodate our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

We booked online..checkin was efficient, room only had one back window and our view consisted of another row of rooms, walls were paper thin, could hear anybody walking in other rooms and could even hear them using the bathroom facilities, floor was squeaky, TV went out just as we started to watch it and they couldn't fix it..gave us breakfast vouchers to make up for it. :/

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Geotreeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

I am disappointed to hear that we did not meet your expectations. It is with valuable feedback such as yours that we are able to address the concerns of our guests as we continue to try and improve our product. Thank you for posting your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Tonquin Inn in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We stay here purely for the room layout but I think this will be our last stay here. We have 2 small kids and the family suite works well for us. This stay however is very conclusive of not staying here again. The walls are paper thin, we can hear the niehbors having a shower. The bed when we arrived had hair under the pillows. Walls are filthy, the entire hotel need a remodel. Stay elsewhere if you can.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aeroplanman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Thank you for informing us of the issues you had with your room during your most recent stay. Your comments have been shared with our Housekeeping Department and our Maintenance Department for them to address the issues. Please be assured, that the issues regarding housekeeping are not indicative of the high standards we have set. We are constantly upgrading our product and your comments will be taken into consideration as we move forward.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews