We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small and Cozy”
Review of Tonquin Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tonquin Inn
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Terrace, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Small and Cozy”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We booked our room enroute to Jasper through Expedia and were actually surprised to be able to get one as it was the Thursday before the long Easter weekend. The beds were awesome - I also like the sink being apart from the shower and toilet. The room was a bit small - not a lot of room to walk between the bed and the desk and impossible if someone was sitting in the chair at the desk. The only thing that I didn't like was we could not adjust the heat - it was so hot. We turned the thermostat right down and opened both windows but couldn't get the room cooled down.
Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
We appreciate you sharing your kind words on Trip Advisor. We are happy to hear that we were able to accommodate you on the Easter Weekend and that you would definitely stay with us again. All of the staff and management hope you were able to take home fond memories of your stay and will give us another opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    341
    290
    138
    68
See reviews for
308
424
32
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Our studio unit with kitchenette was a nice layout for 4..much better than a standard queen room. Loved the proximity to town. Cons were hearing the trains go by thru the night, the floors were super squeaky, and we could hear all our neighbours, even those not right next to us. Definitely needs some soundproofing. The staff here were awesome!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R0TaNa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
I am delighted to hear that the staff were awesome and that you enjoy our family kitchen room and our location. Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. It is always great to read feedback from our guests. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

The indoor hot tub had a lot of sand in it. The outdoor hot tubs were fine but there was never any towels available at the tubs. Our entrance light bulb was burned out, so our room was very dark. The breaker tripped on our first morning while I blow dried my hair, and we had to wait about 20 minutes for the maintenance person to fix it. Our room wasn't cleaned after our first day of skiing, but fresh towels were provided when I phoned the front desk. The shower curtain didn't close, so the floor and door were soaked(hence the rotten tiles in the bathroom). The Tonquin(Decore Hotels) needs some serious maintenance!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your stay at the Tonquin Inn. Your comments have been shared with my team and they were very disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay at our hotel. Please be assured that your concerns are being addressed and that all proper maintenance procedures are being followed. Hopefully we can welcome you back on your next visit to Jasper.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Pros:
Location - it's Jasper and we love Jasper. It's not a big town so location desirability is limited. Anywhere in Jasper is decent. We like this location as it's away from right down town

No other pros

Cons:

Noise-walls are paper thin.

Rooms-temperature controls are poor. Was either too hot or too cold. The decor and upgrades are terrible. The card entries only worked half the time, super annoying.

Cleanliness-let's just say, kids complained that the pool water was burning their skin. Walk past the outdoor hot tubs and the smell burned my nasal passage! The condition of the kids swim suits determinate do after 3 pool sessions. This can't be a good sign. In room was okay, as I personally had kept it clean. The rooms stink. Over sprayed with floral air crap.

Service-I cleaned the room and had to ask for towels. Out at Marmot all day to come back at 4 pm to find our room hadn't been made up yet. Their excuse, they were really busy....sorry Tonquin but we were one of maybe 10 vehicles present! His also happened to our friends who we travelled with. I also had to call for pool towels every time we went to the pool. Why? Understaffed perhaps, I'm not sure.

Value-poor. Won't give my $160/night to Tonquin ever again. Not for what we were provided. As a side note, we stayed here 10 years ago and the service and rooms were just the same, poor.

Did this ruin our trip, nope! Because we had good friends, made good food and the snow was great :)

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaF0607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you for submitting such a thorough and helpful review of your recent stay at the Tonquin Inn. We are glad to read that you love Jasper and that you liked our location. We are required by Alberta Health to provide water samples of our pool and outdoor hot tubs on a regular basis to ensure the chlorine levels are within Alberta Health guidelines. We are truly sorry that we were unable to meet your expectations. The hotel has undergone many upgrades with new furniture, beds, carpets, bedding and granite. We are constantly upgrading our product to ensure that we always provide the best service and product we possibly can for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Jasper hotels

Malahat, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We stayed at the Tonquin Inn in Jasper AB on our way to Grande Prairie and also on our return trip. When we checked in we found the room to be small and crowded with oversized furniture. We stayed in this room for the night and my wife banged her leg and banged her head on the coat rack hanging in the cramped hallway. We informed them at the front desk the next morning and they moved us to a room twice the size. We were told the hotel was full also. The maintanence man informed us that the whole side of the hotel we were staying was completely empty and we would not be disturbed. we thought this strange since we were just informed they were full. On our return trip through we stopped again here and again were informed the hotel was full but they miraculously found 3 rooms for us to check out and see if we would like one. The price of these rooms were in the high hundreds and then again the maintanence guy showed us another empty room. We took this room and were a little set back they we paid more than the first time we stayed there. When l stepped out for a smoke l noticed the rooms across from us had their lights on and curtains open. As the night wore on these same rooms were left the same way. Then in the morning l noticed that the same rooms were left the same way. I realized that they had rooms and were just trying to give the illusion of a full hotel to charge more. This just irked me. I hate being lied to and will not be returning to this hotel or Jasper for that matter. We will be going through to the next town in the future.

Room Tip: If you don't see the parking lot full, the hotel is not full. Don't be fooled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chumlee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the Tonquin Inn. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay and that you might have received misinformation regarding the availability of rooms. The only personnel that have accurate information regarding available rooms is the front desk. We do not "lie" to our guests. We always have a couple of rooms that are put aside in case we have to make room changes to accommodate our guests. It is unfortunate that you felt that you were lied to as we make every effort to accurately inform and accommodate our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

We booked online..checkin was efficient, room only had one back window and our view consisted of another row of rooms, walls were paper thin, could hear anybody walking in other rooms and could even hear them using the bathroom facilities, floor was squeaky, TV went out just as we started to watch it and they couldn't fix it..gave us breakfast vouchers to make up for it. :/

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Geotreeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
I am disappointed to hear that we did not meet your expectations. It is with valuable feedback such as yours that we are able to address the concerns of our guests as we continue to try and improve our product. Thank you for posting your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Tonquin Inn in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We stay here purely for the room layout but I think this will be our last stay here. We have 2 small kids and the family suite works well for us. This stay however is very conclusive of not staying here again. The walls are paper thin, we can hear the niehbors having a shower. The bed when we arrived had hair under the pillows. Walls are filthy, the entire hotel need a remodel. Stay elsewhere if you can.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aeroplanman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you for informing us of the issues you had with your room during your most recent stay. Your comments have been shared with our Housekeeping Department and our Maintenance Department for them to address the issues. Please be assured, that the issues regarding housekeeping are not indicative of the high standards we have set. We are constantly upgrading our product and your comments will be taken into consideration as we move forward.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper hotels
1.2 mi away
Maligne Lodge
Maligne Lodge
#13 of 17 in Jasper
678 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
0.1 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
353 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
1,461 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Jasper Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tonquin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tonquin Inn

Property: Tonquin Inn
Address: 100 Juniper St, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tonquin Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by majestic mountains and endless opportunities to appreciate the great outdoors, The Tonquin Inn provides a perfect getaway for adventure seeking families, friends and couples. Located in the heart of Jasper, this property features easy access to hiking trails, ski fields, rafting adventures and so much more! With its cozy sunken living rooms, convenient kitchenettes and "home away from home" charm, the Tonquin Inn is the ideal spot for an escape from the city! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Tonquin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tonquin Hotel Jasper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing