We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet, sweet place”
Review of Tonquin Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tonquin Inn
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Sweet, sweet place”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I never thought the word, 'vacancy', could be the best word in the English language until we were turned back on the road to Banff where we had a room. The wildfires were dangerously close to the road, so it was closed. Many people were stuck without a room on the road between Saskatchewan Crossing and Jasper and there were NO rooms available in Jasper by the time we got there. We were fortunate to drive up to the Tonquin shortly after someone on the OTHER side of the road closing had called to cancel and saw the sign saying 'VACANCY'. So, my opinion may be somewhat swayed by our circumstances. It was clean, safe, and very comfortable. I have to agree the AC unit was very loud, but it beat sleeping in the car. I would recommend the Tonquin and would not hesitate staying there again...even if it wasn't in an emergency situation. Oh yes, Nick's, the restaurant next door had a great buffet breakfast!! Vouchers were available for $12 from the front desk at this hotel.

Room Tip: First floor room was easy in & easy out in the motel style parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChixSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
We are delighted to hear that we were able to accommodate you and that you would not only recommend the Tonquin Inn but that you would also stay with us again.. We have shared your comments with Nick re the breakfast. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Jasper.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    332
    279
    134
    66
See reviews for
303
409
32
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CALGARY
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The year was 1977 our wedding anniversary We liked the looks of the Tonquin Inn with the balcony facing the mountains. Outside along the side walk were roses.I told the manager that I had for the first time in my life picked yellow roses at the Hotel for our anniversary. She thought it was very romantic that I had scattered the rose petals between the sheets. Imagine my husband's surprise and delight to find rose petals in his bed.
We always went back to the Tonquin, same suite, Staff are helpful and polite. Rooms have been redesigned over the last 37 years always for the better.. Only complaint that we cannot stay for a month..
We will be going to Jasper this fall to see the larch trees returning to the Tonquin and showing my partner the beauty of Alberta. May we live to be a hundred and visit many more times.

Room Tip: location and a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANNE V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments. We are so thrilled to have been your hotel of choice since 1977 and we sincerely hope that you will be able to visit many more times. All of the staff and management hope that you will always take home fond memories of your stays at the Tonquin Inn. Please contact me directly for your next visit and I would be more than happy to make the arrangement for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Our room was on the first floor off the parking lot right next to the kitchen attached to the hotel. so, I was worried about the room before we even got in, but it ended up being a nice, spacious room with two queen beds. I was a bit disappointed in the fact that the AC was a rolling machine with a hose that went out the window. Alberta is experiencing one of the hotest summers on record, resulting in numerous wildfires in AB and BC, so the AC unit was necessary. It made the room a bit noisy but, hey, we spent most of our time out of the room so.... the bathroom was large with a large sink area which was great with three people in the room.

There is one indoor pool and one outdoor jacuzzi on the property.

The staff was helpful, but I have to say that their greatest help came after we had left the hotel. We were turned around about 20 minutes south of the Ice Fields on our way to Lake Louise, and had to make our way the 2.5 hrs back to Jasper. By the time we got there every hotel in the area was sold out. The manager of the hotel helped our group (47 people) by trying to find rooms in the area or towns nearby (nothing) and talking to the RCMP to get them to understand our situation. Many of the people on our bus were in their 70's and could not do as the RCMP suggested and "Just sleep on the bus". Since Jasper is a smallish town, he knew the head Mountie and securred permission from them for our driver to go past his limit as we were forced to drive four more hours to Edmonton. For this I believe I speak for all 47 when I say "Thank you John".

Room Tip: Make sure if you have folks who don't do well with stairs to either be put in the building (ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Intrepid_Traveler58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us at the Tonquin Inn. It is our top priority to provide our guests with a positive experience while visiting us and we thank you very much for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We are especially glad to see that John was able to assist you as a result of a situation that was beyond our control and that he was able to get you on your way to Edmonton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

In Jasper overnight, the two of us with two other adults. So the kitchen room with separate bedroom was perfect, as it had a full bed in the "living room" There was a sofa bed too if you had one other adult or child. The hotel was quite old, but fairly well kept. The bed was ok, kinda soft. But everything was clean. Train was just outside, but that's true for pretty much all the hotels in Jasper. If you're a light sleeper, bring ear plugs. This is a motel style property where you park in front of your door. Actually quite convenient that way.

They had a restaurant right on premise which served (extra pay) a buffet breakfast in the morning. We didn't have it, but it looked decent.

OK place if you're spending a night or two in Jasper.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarshBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the Canadian Rockies and that we were given an opportunity to share this experience with you. We look forward to seeing you back at the Tonquin Inn on your next visit to Jasper.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
42 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Stayed here for one night in room 150. Much bigger than I expected with separate TV area and fireplace. Good bedding. Newish bathroom with nice products. There was a big tour bus parked outside, but it didn't seem to busy or noisy for the night we stayed.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Halfwayhome101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
We appreciate your comments and feedback and we are delighted to see that your room exceeded your expectations. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the Canadian Rockies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Our room was very small, but comfortable. The only window was facing the outdoor hallway, so we could not open the curtains due to privacy concerns. Unfortunately smoking is allowed in the outdoor hallway and every time we opened the window for fresh air, the cigaret smoke was filling up the room.
The hotel offeres a $12 buffet breakfast voucher at the restaurant next door. The breakfast was OK.
The location is quet and only 7 minutes walk to town.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThePickyQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience of your recent stay at the Tonquin Inn. We are definitely located in the quiet area of Jasper but still within walking distance to downtown. As all of our rooms are non-smoking, smoking outside is a challenge to control and I apologize for you being inconvenienced by other smoking guests. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back to the Tonquin Inn in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Brunswick, Canada
Level Contributor
139 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The good,
Lemon-aid at the from desk upon your arrival. Pine furniture, clean sheet, a full size fridge/freezer, stove, pots & pans. You really need this feature as the restaurants here are horrible & horrible expensive. Great towels.
Pool & exercise room.

The bad,
Location(right across the train tracks with trains going by often. It's ok if you don't need to sleep!). Also other guests constantly go by your windows & they try to peer through. Portable & super aloud air-conditioning unit. No breakfast.
The prices are the same or higher than much nicer towns such as Banff.

The ugly,
It has not had a major upgrade in decades. The countertops, carpets, doors,...all seem to be from the '80's???

Jasper pails in comparison to Banff. Dive right on by if you don't need to be in this depressing town.

Room Tip: Don't stay in this depressing town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darius S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for posting your comments about your recent stay at the Tonquin Inn. We are glad to see that you enjoyed one of our family kitchen rooms and the other amenities that we offer. Unfortunately, as Jasper was founded as a railway town, trains do come through Jasper on a regular basis. Upgrading of our property is ongoing and we just completed a major upgrade of 98 rooms with new furniture and granite in the bathrooms. Thank you again for your comments and we hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Jasper.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Jasper hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.4 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
1.2 mi away
Maligne Lodge
Maligne Lodge
#14 of 17 in Jasper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
1.2 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Jasper Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tonquin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tonquin Inn

Property: Tonquin Inn
Address: 100 Juniper St, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tonquin Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by majestic mountains and endless opportunities to appreciate the great outdoors, The Tonquin Inn provides a perfect getaway for adventure seeking families, friends and couples. Located in the heart of Jasper, this property features easy access to hiking trails, ski fields, rafting adventures and so much more! With its cozy sunken living rooms, convenient kitchenettes and "home away from home" charm, the Tonquin Inn is the ideal spot for an escape from the city! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tonquin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tonquin Hotel Jasper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing