We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Standard but good hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tonquin Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tonquin Inn
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Jasper
Alphen aan den Rijn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Standard but good hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

There so much to do and see in Jasper and its surrounding national park, so we were only at the hotel to sleep. Had dinner and breakfast in the village. Nice and friendly staff.
Tip : Jasper Wildlife Discovery Tour. Guided by a former park ranger who knows where to see bears, elks, eagles, sheep, moose etc. Picks you up at and returns you to the hotel !

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WvB2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
There is definitely a lot to do and see in Jasper and the National Park. We are glad to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and that the tour guide was able to enhance your wildlife experience during your discovery tour. We hope that your thoroughly enjoyed the remainder of your visit to Canada and that you had a safe return journey home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    321
    274
    133
    64
See reviews for
298
399
30
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

I have stayed here in April, 2014 for two nights and again in July, 2014 for two nights. As a family we enjoyed the hotel, the rooms were clean and modern. The pool and indoor hot tub were great after hiking! The outdoor hot tubs were not open in April, it was still chilly out! But in July we loved them, they were not overly hot but it was so hot outside that we enjoyed sitting in them! The only down side was the portable air conditioner didn't cool the back room, so we were warm to sleep and the front area was too cold. We enjoyed having a full size fridge and stove with dishes! We will go back but maybe not in the hot weather.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. We are delighted you enjoyed the comfort of your room and the amenities provided by the Tonquin Inn. We are especially glad to hear that we are your hotel of choice when visiting Jasper. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Tonquin Inn on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Great place to stay, hot tub included,good stretch of the legs to town,but after six hours on a coach it was ok.staff were great and I would recommend breakfast. Great views and crisp clean air, comfy beds and ac.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tracr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
We are very delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the Canadian Rockies and that we were given the opportunity to share this experience with you. We look forward to seeing you back at the Tonquin Inn on your next journey to the Canadian Rockies and Jasper.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarsdale, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Price at lower end of range for Jasper but more than we wanted to pay; OK indoor pool, OK WiFi (didn't try outdoor hot tub, fitness room, or the hot breakfast buffet for extra $$)
Pros: Our room (queen bedroom with kitchenette and fireplace) was mostly remodelled, nicely; kitchenette had just about everything for cooking/eating; front desk supervisor let us stay the 2nd night (booked through a different site) in the same room, apparently better than the one we originally booked
Cons: Room had musty smell initially (it went away quickly after opening the windows); space of room on the tight side
(Stayed July 19-20)

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sockrateez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us at the Tonquin Inn and we thank you very much for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor. All of the staff and management hope you were able to take home fond memories of your stay in Jasper and will give us another opportunity to serve you on a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed 3 nights and ac did not work. Also they were working on the stairs across the way and banging was heard all day. The Internet must be based on a modem. I went to the spa and there were no towels. I went to the front desk and they never came. I think they are clean and nice rooms but I got screwed. Just my luck! Good luck to anyone who chances staying here!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
We offer our most sincere apologies for falling short of your expectations. Your comments are being reviewed by our entire management team so as to rectify the mishaps you encountered during your stay. We also have contacted our internet supplier to look at our wireless system as our system was upgraded to wireless over a year ago. We hope that you had an enjoyable visit to Jasper National Park. Thank you once again for sharing your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Jasper hotels

South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

When I read the other reviews about this hotel, I actually got a bit nervous about staying here. I don't quite understand them now that I've been there. We had a regular hotel style room. We were extremely pleased by how roomy it was! My sons don't like to share a bed and we always bring a portable blow up bed for this reason. There was plenty of space to have this extra blow up in the room and no one felt crowded at all. It was quiet and pleasant. We never had trouble parking and the hotel was full to capacity. It was close to downtown Jasper. We walked right into town each evening and this was AFTER hiking mountains all day. We were really pleased with this place... and the price was right! Most places were at least two to three times the price in this area. A negative to the hotel is that the AC unit was a bit noisy, but you really needed it on because it was quite warm otherwise. Also, I was a bit unhappy that the breakfast was only a buffet and it was a bit pricey. Consequently we chose not to eat there.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smzek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
We are delighted to hear that you were pleasantly surprised about the property and that you enjoyed your stay and thought it was a good value. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Jasper.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

I never thought the word, 'vacancy', could be the best word in the English language until we were turned back on the road to Banff where we had a room. The wildfires were dangerously close to the road, so it was closed. Many people were stuck without a room on the road between Saskatchewan Crossing and Jasper and there were NO rooms available in Jasper by the time we got there. We were fortunate to drive up to the Tonquin shortly after someone on the OTHER side of the road closing had called to cancel and saw the sign saying 'VACANCY'. So, my opinion may be somewhat swayed by our circumstances. It was clean, safe, and very comfortable. I have to agree the AC unit was very loud, but it beat sleeping in the car. I would recommend the Tonquin and would not hesitate staying there again...even if it wasn't in an emergency situation. Oh yes, Nick's, the restaurant next door had a great buffet breakfast!! Vouchers were available for $12 from the front desk at this hotel.

Room Tip: First floor room was easy in & easy out in the motel style parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChixSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
We are delighted to hear that we were able to accommodate you and that you would not only recommend the Tonquin Inn but that you would also stay with us again.. We have shared your comments with Nick re the breakfast. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Jasper.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.3 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#2 of 16 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#5 of 16 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
1.2 mi away
Maligne Lodge
Maligne Lodge
#13 of 16 in Jasper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#4 of 16 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,386 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Jasper Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tonquin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tonquin Inn

Property: Tonquin Inn
Address: 100 Juniper St, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tonquin Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by majestic mountains and endless opportunities to appreciate the great outdoors, The Tonquin Inn provides a perfect getaway for adventure seeking families, friends and couples. Located in the heart of Jasper, this property features easy access to hiking trails, ski fields, rafting adventures and so much more! With its cozy sunken living rooms, convenient kitchenettes and "home away from home" charm, the Tonquin Inn is the ideal spot for an escape from the city! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Tonquin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tonquin Hotel Jasper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing