We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have I ever told you how nice this place is?”
Review of Tonquin Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tonquin Inn
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Have I ever told you how nice this place is?”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We have stayed here on four occasions over the course of 5 years. BTW you get a discount for being a return customer.
This complex has multiple buildings, and MANY options for rooms. Some suites, some with kitchens and some just a room with beds.
We have stayed in the regular rooms and a room with kitchen facilities. We have Never been disappointed here.
There are two outdoor hot tubs, a beautiful, large, indoor pool, and exercise area.
There is a bar, and renowned restaurant, that I HIGHLY recommend for dinner.
The breakfast buffet was more than average, and the staff at both the restaurant and front desk are top notch.
You will not be disappointed. Just ask and they will help you.
It's a lovely walk from this end of town to centre of downtown Jasper, and affords you the opportunity to take in the mountain scenery along the way!
Child and family and couple friendly, make this an easy decision for anyone.
Prices are what to be expected in a mountain resort, but you may be surprised :)

Room Tip: Choose the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacky-Murray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
I am delighted to hear that you are a repeat guest and that you would recommend us. It is always nice to hear positive comments about our property and that our staff are "top notch". Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. For your next visit, please be sure to contact me directly so that I can personally make your reservation for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,040 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    353
    306
    144
    71
See reviews for
329
441
33
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Room smelled old and mouldy.
Noisiest heater I've ever encountered.
Door when shut can just be barged open from outside if you try hard enough.
No safe for valuables.
Service? What service ... perfunctory check in at best.
Everything in Jasper seemed overpriced, but I would have paid more to stay somewhere else. After seeing our room we even checked availability only to find all of Jasper booked out.
One upside - free wifi.

I would highly recommend you continue looking.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Natalee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay at the Tonquin Inn. We offer our sincere apologies for falling short of your expectations. Your comments re being reviewed by our entire management time so as to rectify the mishaps encountered during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Jasper hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fort Macleod, AB
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We rented a one bedroom family suite. There was a bedroom at the back with a queen bed, then you have a bathroom off to one side and a small kitchen area with 4 person dining table. In that same area was a small couch and over-sized coffee table. Next to that was another queen bed. Pro's: Clean Room, Comfortable bed and bedding, lodge style table, chairs and TV cabinet were nice, pool & hot tubs had good hours, staff were helpful and friendly. Con's: A/C wasn't very effective and it was loud, room felt stuffy quick. Toilet had a problem, it ran and randomly flushed. Couch looked like it was from a flea market. In the pool area the roof had patch marks and needed paint. No towels in pool area had to walk wet to office to ask for towels.

Room Tip: The hotel will pay for a taxi. We came in on the train and they covered the cost. That was super ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Senga73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your review. I am glad to read that you found your room clean and comfortable and that you were able to enjoy some of our amenities. We will take your comments into consideration as we continue to improve our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

We had a 2 bedroom apartment with 2 queen-size beds plus a pull-out sofa-bed in the living room: ample space for our group of 5 to all sleep in beds comfortably.

The apartment also comes with a fire place, dry sauna and full kitchen - which provided a great opportunity to prepare some home cooked food.

The apartment was generally clean, apart from the odd chocolate wrapper on side tables and the floor that had been missed during the clean. The floor of the dry sauna was quite dirty and one would hope there should be some way for "dry sauna floors" to be cleaned.

Internet wifi is free and relatively stable. There is also an indoor pool and hot-tub as well as a fitness centre - which is a darkish and smallish room with a couple of aerobic machines but also a good selection of free weights and squat rack.

Staff at check-in and check-out were extremely friendly as were the restaurant staff at breakfast. And the breakfast buffet was very good.

My biggest complaint is associated with the high price, but I assume this applies to all hotels in Jasper which is a busy tourist town.

I would stay at the Tonquin again, but next time I head to Jasper my preference would be to book ahead and stay at a B&B.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank helloseanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share the experience you had at the Tonquin Inn. We were glad to see that your enjoyed one of our many Executive Suites. We are disappointed to hear that the housekeeping services were not up to part and we will definitely address this with our housekeeping department. All of us hop that you were able to take home fond memories of your stay in Jasper and will give us another opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elyria, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Our room was very small, but pleasantly clean, decorated nicely and provided a good nights sleep. The hotel itself was sort of on the edge of town, but at the same time a manageable walk and you were into the town attractions easily. I assume all accommodations in Jasper come at a premium during summer months so you will have to pay more than you'd expect for what basically amounts to a clean motel room. No complaints, parking seemed limited but we managed to always get a spot.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DB105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
It is great to hear that you found your room clean and that you were able to get a good night's sleep. We appreciate you taking the time to post your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Jasper.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Since we were not driving, we wanted to be close to town. Brewster, the bus shuttle from Banff, dropped us off at 7pm. This is not an inn, just a large motel and it's about 5-6 blocks from town. The dining facilities next door are another owner and dubbed a steak house. Too late to walk to town so ate there. Again just average. The room was adequate comfortable and quiet but no view (inner walkway). Breakfast was available next door for a fee..A nice selection, but spouse says not cooked very well. The better news is that the front desk staff were most helpful and we appreciated that.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sparky6843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
We appreciate your comments and your feedback. I am glad to hear that the front desk staff were helpful during your stay and that you found your room comfortable and quiet. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and we hope we can be of service on your next visit to Jasper.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Catharines, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Nice hotel, staff very friendly and helpful. Wanted to go on the Maligne Boat trip, so gave the reception details while we went to breakfast, and they booked it all for us. 10 minute walk to town. Buffet breakfast was great, and so was the meal we had in the evening. No hesitation in booking this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ayers01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth B, General Manager at Tonquin Inn, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
It sure sounds like you enjoyed your stay and our friendly, helpful staff and that you would stay with us again. We appreciate your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back to the Tonquin Inn on your next visit to Jasper.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.2 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
0.4 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
398 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Maligne Lodge
Maligne Lodge
#12 of 17 in Jasper
707 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Jasper Inn & Suites
1.2 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
1,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tonquin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tonquin Inn

Property: Tonquin Inn
Address: 100 Juniper St, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tonquin Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by majestic mountains and endless opportunities to appreciate the great outdoors, The Tonquin Inn provides a perfect getaway for adventure seeking families, friends and couples. Located in the heart of Jasper, this property features easy access to hiking trails, ski fields, rafting adventures and so much more! With its cozy sunken living rooms, convenient kitchenettes and "home away from home" charm, the Tonquin Inn is the ideal spot for an escape from the city! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Tonquin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tonquin Hotel Jasper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing