We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tonquin Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$244
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$211
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$254
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$247
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$287
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$223
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$277
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$251
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$258
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$236
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$203
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marmot Lodge(Jasper)(Great Value!)
US$222
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$212
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$551
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$404
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Filia Inn(Jasper)(Great Value!)
US$138
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,127)
Filter reviews
1,127 results
Traveller rating
173
379
339
151
85
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
173
379
339
151
85
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprime ribfamily suiteindoor poolthird floorbeds were very comfortableseparate bedroomcoffee makerliving areafull kitchenthe main streetlake louisetubsfireplacekitchenettesaunaskiingedmonton
Filter
Updating list...
951 - 956 of 1,127 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2009

My family looks forward to Jasper in January almost each year, and we have stayed at the Tonquin in the past. We booked a king room for my husband and me & a suite for my other family members. My family's stay was wonderful & problem free. My husband and I had a couple problems. We were accidently given the wrong hotel room key (the room was occupied) it was a good thing the key didn't work! We heard noises through the door and knew it wasn't vacant. So we went back to front desk, he realized his mistake and gave us a second room key. The minute we walked in the room we knew the temperature was far too hot for us to sleep, we shut the heat off, opened all the windows and doors and thought that would help cool the room. Neither of us are smokers, and there were smokers right outside our door & windows occasionally smoking, so we called front desk & asked to switch to anouther room even if it was not a king bed room. The front desk young man was nice and gave us one of the last available rooms. Our stay was wonderful after that.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlbertaCouple37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2008

I would highly recommend this hotel. We arrived in Jasper without anywhere to stay and struggled to find a place available for 3 nights, we tried the Tonquin Inn and were given a suite - 2 double bedrooms, kitchen and living room with dining table. Although, it was slightly expensive for a couple, for a family this would be perfect. We were able to cook a good breakfast and relax in the living area after a hard day's hiking. I loved it. It was brilliantly clean, too. I could not fault this hotel at all.

Its a short walk from the main street restaurants and shops, but not too far out.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mousekeville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2008

Grantham,Lincolnshire,England
This was our second visit in thre years and it was still great value for money
The staff are great and trhe food was brilliant.
Rooms were clean and comfortable for this style of Motel, would definitely use it again.

  • Stayed: December 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasper2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2008

Every hotel in Jasper is going to charge a fortune during peak season but we found the Tonquin to be slightly more reasonable and able to deal when they have vacancies. The larger rooms like the junior suites with kitchenette are nice and by far preferable over the standard rooms - looks like they are the ones that have been recently renovated. The beds are very comfortable. The portable air conditioner is rather loud but does the job. The kitchenette is well equipped and saves you from having to eat out and draining your wallet. Maid service was very courteous and efficient. The pool is not bad - a bit small. And the indoor hot tub was large but was covered in a huge froth of bubbles that manitenance never bothered to address - yuck. Yet the outdoor hot tubs got more than their fair share of chlorination - so much so that we couldn't stay in them because the fumes irritated our lungs. The pool also closed for 2 days for unexplained reasons. The only other glitch was that our TV remote control would not work. Oh yeah, our breaker kept tripping when we ran the microwave with some lights on.

So overall, we were pleased with the accomodations. Distance from town was not a big deal unless you have no transportation.
But anytime you are paying $200 - $ 250 per night for a hotel you deserve top notch service and accomodation. We had a few disappointments in that regard but nothing major. The peak season market is the real culprit that demands $ 200 + for average accomodations. But hey - whose fault is that - if we keep paying for it, they will keep charging it!

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2008

We could never recommend this hotel. We stayed 5 nights. Our room was above the kitchen and and there was noise throughout the night from refrigeration units. The air conditioning unit was a huge unit taking up space in the small room. The unit was too noisy to have on at night so the room was stuffy. The only window in the room was very small and opened onto a walkway and so there was alot of noise from people coming and going particularly if we left it open at night. The room was dark the decor boring and dingy, the furniture dark.There was no master light switch in the room so every light had to be turned on individually and they all had to be on to see other people in the room it was so gloomy.
We didn't eat at the hotel because we thought they had taken us for a ride with the room and they were not going to make any more money out of us. We walked into town but it is quite a trek.
Quite often we couln't park near our room aspeople going to the restaurant took the spaces.
We paid equivelant of £130 per night far too much for what we got.

Stayed: August 2008
Thank pencilneck_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews