We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing wildlife search, awesome”

Jasper Tour Company
Ranked #2 of 22 Tours in Jasper
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: Jasper Tour Company offers fun, adventurous, sightseeing trips in Jasper National Park. Whether it's a visit up the Maligne Valley to see her crown jewel, Spirit Island, a winter's walk through the depths of the frozen Magline Canyon, or a search for some of the Rocky Mountains wild inhabitants such as bears, any adventure with the Jasper Tour Company can be described as "simply the best!".
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
182 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Amazing wildlife search, awesome”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Joe is a very nice person as a guide. He knows a lot about all the wildlife in Jasper National Park and the places where to look. We've seen lots of elk, bighorn sheep and even a wolf! We've had a wonderful search which lasted almost four hours. Absolutely fabulous!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Joe Knows Where To Find The Wildlife”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

The wildlife tour with Joe and the Jasper Tour Company was a highlight of our trip to the Canadian Rockies (Banff, Jasper and Yoho). Joe promptly picked us up at our hotel and gave us some history and background of the town as we picked up other people for the tour. On this tour we saw elk in several different locations, a large herd of bighorn sheep on a ridge near a lake and a smaller group closer into town and several deer. Joe also pointed out a bald eagle perced in the trees adjacent to where we saw the larger herd of bighorn sheep and an osprey near the river in town. Neither of which would we have spotted on our own. Up to this point we had seen no large wildlife in Banff or Yoho and had only a quick elk encounter on the drive into Jasper.

Joe is a very knowlegable and entertaining guide. Believe me, you'll see more wildlife on a tour than you will on your own. If you only do one wildlife tour in the Canadian Rockies, this should be it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Boy_Scout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wild with Joe!”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Joe provides an excellent educational wildlife tour.
Thanks to Joe, my family and I were able to get close to coyotes, ospreys, eagles, elk, mountain goats and sheep, and black bear!
Not only is Joe informative about the various animals we encountered, but also about the history, geography, geology and biology of the area of the Jasper National Park we toured.
He has a great sense of humour and shares memorable stories.
He picked us up and dropped us off at our accommodations; the consummate host/guide!
Highly recommended on all accounts!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ZambeziDreaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turner, Maine, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Tour Guide”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

If you enjoy seeing wildlife in their natural habitat and want to learn a little more about the local animals in Jasper, this is the tour to take and Joe is an outstanding guide who makes the sightseeing interesting and fun at the same time! We saw coyotes, lots of big horn sheep, several elk and even an elk with christmas lights on its antlers (obviously an accident!). You can tell he loves what he does and he tries his very best to make sure everyone gets to leave with some great memories of Jasper. After leaving Jasper, we traveled to Banff and we made sure to recommend this tour to those we saw headed to Jasper. We have traveled a great deal over the years and have had many tours and Joe's tour was the best one we have ever taken!!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gloria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Knowledgeable, Tenacious, Entertaining!”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

It is always great to meet someone with a highly-charged passion for his work - this is Joe in a nutshell.

Our family of 4 did a wildlife tour with him along with 5 others in his van the last week of August. He and his wife Patti were very communicative throughout the whole booking process (I did an almost-last-minute booking - but was lucky to find a slot) and set expectations on what the tour would cover.

A wildlife nut myself, I could sense his intense love for the animals. We encountered a strange situation when we noticed a sea gull clipped by a passing vehicle in the middle of the road, and Joe was very thoughtful in getting it out of the way, lest a coyote gets killed trying to grab this quarry.

He has an uncanny ability to see through the camouflage and spot animals in the most impossible vistas. We saw a coyote family, bald eagle, a couple of ospreys, several elk, bighorn - and as we held our breath - a cuddly black bear. Our greatest reward was actually seeing a majestic double rainbow a stone's throw away from Medicine Lake - a sight of a lifetime!

Needless to say, Joe's entertaining commentary on animals and habitat reveal immense knowledge on the fauna and flora of this place.

Keep up the good work!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank kvkrishnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jasper Tour Company also viewed

Jasper, Jasper National Park
 
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 

Been to Jasper Tour Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing