We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Vacation July 2014”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Jasper Inn & Suites
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
“Family Vacation July 2014”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Tired hotel in need of refresh/update. 2nd floor room next to stairs and street was noisy. Rooms were hot. No A/C. WIFI reception (although free) was very poor compared to other Best Westerns. Restaurant prices are exhorbitant. $13.99 for a cheese pizza?

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Darcy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,594 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    371
    660
    361
    122
    80
See reviews for
548
689
44
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

First the good stuff. The rooms are very nice (more later). The staff are excellent (especially Jessica). The staff were friendly, professional and very accommodating. We arrived late on a Sunday (are train was 5 hours late) and everything had closed. They were able to arrange a tour for us. We had lots of contact with reception and their attitude and helpfulness remained the same throughout.
Now the concerns, this property is well outside the downtown area ( we did not have a vehicle), the rooms are dark and the in room lighting is not adequate. The $9.95 (plus $2.00 for coffee) is for a buffet breakfast, there is no breakfast menu. The main dinner menu is very eclectic, although it is very varied. The No Elevator and No Air Conditioning is well advertised and should not be considered a negative unless you have physical limitations, or it is exceptionally hot (which it was during our three night stay). The provided fan(s) provide limited relief.

Room Tip: Ask for a room closer to reception unless you have a vehicle. This is a very large property, but ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PapaHow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We spent 2 nights at this hotel. Beautiful location. It is about a 10 minute easy walk into town. Well stocked supermarket about a 5 min walk on way into town.
The second day my husband was sick. The reception staff helped me and suggested I speak to a pharmacist. She gave me a map and directions. Everyone helpful and friendly.
Nice quiet room. Elk were munching on the grass behind hotel and then the bushes in the garden.
Jasper is beautiful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager61073, Manager at Best Western Jasper Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Lindsay1

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Sorry to hear that your husband was not feeling well and hope he has now made a full recovery. We are pleased that you were able to enjoy a nice experience with the wildlife and found Jasper beautiful!
Sincerely
The Best Western Jasper Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

awful experience. charged us an extra $15.00 on our credit card because we left dishes in the sink. hotel was not cleaned well, looked old and dated, and it had a white powdery substance behind the night-stands in the bedroom. woke up at night, congested and scratchy throat, and felt better once I left the room in the morning and got some fresh air. Apparently it is for "pest control" and "safe" but it made me physically unwell. Wonder why they hid it behind the nightstands then. Stayed in 5 different hotels on this road trip, all exceptional and less money then this one. Would never stay at this hotel or another best western after this experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Norine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager61073, Manager at Best Western Jasper Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Manager’s Note:

Our housekeeping employees will clean the coffee mugs and glasses used in our kitchen suites as they would in a standard room, however if a guest wishes to prepare more and leave a sinkful of dishes, we charge a cleaning fee of $15 + tax as noted on the sign that is posted directly above the kitchen sink.

The powder in the rooms is Diatomaceous earth also known as diatomite or kieselgur/kieselguhr, is a naturally occurring, soft, siliceous sedimentary rock that is easily crumbled into a fine white to off-white powder. This is a natural and human friendly substance, non-toxic, non- allergenic and is actually edible. It is used as a pest preventative, as a safe alternative to an invisible insecticide spray. It is not ‘hidden’ but distributed on the back of the headboard and along the baseboards. We have found this substance to be very effective and environmentally friendly. This information is also detailed in our Guest Directory located in each room. Should a guest have any questions we can be reached at 1-800-661-1933.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Jasper hotels

NYC, United States
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Nice hotel which was quiet and comfortable. Great restaurant on property too! The rooms do no have AC which did not seem to be a problem for us since the weather cools down at night. Didn't even need the fan and opted for open windows and fresh air instead!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Lawrence A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager61073, Manager at Best Western Jasper Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Lawrence A

Thank you for sharing your recent stay with us! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed a quiet and restful stay and happy to pass on your kind words to our Restaurant Team!
We hope you had a fabulous vacation in the mountains!
Sincerely
The Best Western Jasper Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I searched TripAdvisor for a hotel in Jasper with a kitchenette that could sleep three (mom and two 20-something daughters), and this place fit the bill. It was clean, quiet, the beds were comfortable -- even the fold-out sofa -- and the kitchenette allowed us to prepare our own simple meals. A grocery is just a few blocks away for any items you didn't bring in your cooler. While the hotel is a little bit dated in appearance, most other hotel options in town looked of the same vintage. Late on this summer solstice evening, we stepped out on the balcony to enjoy the alpenglow on the mountains, and were pleasantly surprised to see two elk grazing in the small field/forest behind the hotel, just steps from our parked car. If possible, give yourself at least two days here. You'll want to stroll around town in the evening after visiting the lakes (don't miss Maligne Lake), taking the SkyTram, and hiking as many different trails as you can. The Best Western is a good, comfortable, easy choice; but the town will find a special place in your heart.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chip004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager61073, Manager at Best Western Jasper Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Chip004

Thank you for your very informative review! It sounds like you enjoyed alot of what Jasper and the surrounding areas have to offer and can relate to how it found a special place in your heart.
We hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the future!
Warm regards
The Best Western Jasper Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
355 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We took a suite with 3 bedrooms: a lounge with a sofa bed, a separate bedroom and an upstairs bedroom that looks down on the lounge.

The facilities in the room were excellent - an equipped kitchen that made it a self contained apartment and a small balcony that allowed us to sit and enjoy the wildlife outside.

Service was good (in fact they warned us of a mudslide that had happened on the road to our next destination) and the room spacious and clean.

It wasn't the cheapest of the hotels I stayed in in Canada but if you have young children (we have 2) and having space and a good nights sleep is important to you then this is a good option.

Room Tip: If you have young children then pay a bit extra and get the space of a suite with extra bedrooms it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MDowning1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.4 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
0.2 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
375 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#5 of 17 in Jasper
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#6 of 17 in Jasper
1,504 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tonquin Inn
Tonquin Inn
#15 of 17 in Jasper
1,015 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chateau Jasper
Chateau Jasper
#10 of 17 in Jasper
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Jasper Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Jasper Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Jasper Inn & Suites
Address: 98 Geikie Street, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Jasper Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Jasper Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Jasper Hotel Jasper
Jasper Inn Jasper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing