We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only good thing in Sunwapta”

Sunwapta Falls Restaurant
Ranked #38 of 90 Restaurants in Jasper
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The restaurant is attached to the Sunwapta Falls Rocky Mountain Lodge
Izmir, Turkey
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Only good thing in Sunwapta”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Good service... Delicious and fresh food... I don't recommend to stay at Hotel but you may eat in Restaurant...

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Xtrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    50
    15
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nakskov, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
457 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Super dinner”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We have reviewed the Sunwapta Lodge itself elsewhere, so this goes for the restaurant only. With no competing eateries within the next 35 miles you might fear that the kitchen staff would maintain a fairly relaxed attitude in preparing the meals. So it is definitely not so. Everything was well prepared and top quality!
My wife had a wonderful coldwater Rainbow trout with wild rice and crisp lettuce. I had wild boar belly with garlic mashed potatoes and broccoli. The boar was great when you allowed yourself to indulge in tasty fat banned on any other ordinary day.
The service and the ambience was great. So if we actually lived in Jasper I think we would gladly travel those 35 miles every now and then to have such a treat.
The price tag reflects the quality and is also justified by the remote and impressive mountain location.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Finn Spurre P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Delicious, Exotic, Excellent”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

A coffee shop serving passing coach tours by day, the Endless Chain Ridge Restaurant warmed by a large fireplace is transformed into a wonderful and intimate dining room by night.

Located about 45 minutes south of Jasper, and about as isolated from civilization as you can get, the Sunwapta Falls Resort restaurant is among Jasper National Park's best.

The service is excellent. Attentive and friendly staff ensure your dining experience is as good as it can possibly be.

Meanwhile the menu is varied and of the highest quality, representative of all the traditional foods in the region. Alberta is famed for its beef. Rainbow trout is a favourite local fish. Bison and elk are the game meats of choice and all are served with a continental flair.

Some might say the restaurant is a bit expensive but in recent years I have found that food prices in the Canadian Rockies has gone up noticeably everywhere. Considering that everything has to be trucked in from Jasper or further with no other nearby business to defray delivery costs, I'd say the prices are not out of line with what should be expected of such a remote locale. That said, I am happy to say that the prices in the menu are worth very penny.

While the average price of a main course is just over $20.00, the elk pot pie was $32.00 and <i>la piece de resistance</i>, tenderloin of bison and elk came in at over $50.00. Naturally, I chose the tenderloin offering and could not have been happier with my choice. The portions are excellent. Not too much but not too little. Albertans like their food but not excessively so. :-)

The wine selection was limited but it appeared to be excellent- with one reservation: they have no wines from France despite a small selection from several countries. So I made do with an Australian red. As disappointed I was for having to choose something other than a French wine, it was an great match to the tenderloins, especially the elk.

Meanwhile, breakfast is served in a sunroom behind the fireplace. As bus tours pass through on a regular basis during the day, it was nice to see that Sunwapta Falls Resort reserves this quiet space for hotel guests to enjoy their breakfast in peace.

The menu selection was varied and reasonably priced considering where it is located. Just as it is with the evening menu, everything has to be trucked in for you to carry it out again, so to speak. So $12-$13 for a good-sized breakfast is completely reasonable.

The first morning I had the standard 2 eggs, bacon, toast and potato chunks. The potato is worth mentioning: they were among the very best potato cubes I've ever had at breakfast time.

The second morning, I had a bowl of their homemade granola and toast. The granola was like none other I've ever had (in a good way). It was plenty to get me through to lunch.

If you're in Jasper and are considering the options for an 'experience' meal, I'd seriously consider Sunwapta Falls Resort if I were you. Actually, while you're at it, if you're considering an 'experience' in the Canadian Rockies, I'd have my excellent, world-class evening meal and then spend the night there too.

And why not? You will have come to the Canadian Rockies for that away-from-it-all feeling, right? The Sunwapta Falls Resort and Restaurant will tick all the boxes.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem of Fine Dinning in Jasper National Park”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Sunwapta Falls Restaurant is 55 km south of the town of Jasper, about 45 minute drive. We dined at Sunwapta Falls twice, and my wife and I rated the food in this restaurant one of the best, if not the best, in the Jasper area. The service is excellent. The food is freshly prepared with very generous portion and it is good value for the money. It is worth a short drive from Jasper to visit Sunwapta Falls Restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2CanadianTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very good restaurant”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Remotely located ca 50 km South of Jasper, alongside the Icefields Parkway. The waiters are highly motivated and they serve brilliant food like Elk, local Salmon and Trout. Perfectly cooked and prices are absolutely ok.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ThePunchBowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sunwapta Falls Restaurant also viewed

Jasper, Jasper National Park
 
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 
Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 

Been to Sunwapta Falls Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing