We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food and Service for Jasper”
Review of The Raven Bistro

The Raven Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
The Raven Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 88 Restaurants in Jasper
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Grab & Go cafe by day, Cozy, modern, Moroccan-Fusion Restaurant with local flair by night.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service for Jasper”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Having lived in many large cities and traveled to many culinary-centric locals, The Raven Bistro does not rank on the top of my must-return restaurants. However, considering the location and other dining options (not to mention how difficult it must be to get good produce and meat) I think the high ranking is justified for The Raven Bistro.
Their small space gets packed very quickly, so I'd recommend putting your number in for a reservation as soon as the restaurant opens for the evening service. My hubs got the three meats plate and enjoyed it thoroughly. I had the "Kitchen Confidential," which is basically the chef's choice of the night. I had a delicious tabbouleh side, yummy Mongolian beef, and a scallop that was cooked to perfection (probably the best I've had in a while). We had the seafood chowder, which was flavorful and creamy. The pita and dip appetizer was nothing to write home about. Service was great and drink options were nice. Overall, a great meal in a lovely setting.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bui101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    438
    111
    31
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Alberta
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“What was the Hype About?????.”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

As usual, as soon as I settle into my hotel I look on my internet to see where Trip Advisor tells me I should eat. The Raven Bistro came up number one out of 77 restaurants in Jasper Alberta. Really????. They only take reservations up to 6:30 so we made our 6:30 reservation. The venue is small and we were seated very close to the diners next to us...elbows almost touching. The menu was varied and I suppose within the price range for Jasper. My husband's halibut was $32 as was my steak. My steak came on a bed of frites.....in other words fries. Instead of being crispy hot fries they were so soggy I could not eat them. I guess the chef does not watch Master Chef or he would have known you cannot make fries ahead of time or you cannot cook them in oil that is not hot enough, a little bowl of salad accompanied this steak which by the way was cooked medium rare as requested and was very good. My husband's halibut came on a bed of mashed potatoes (tasted as from a box) with a few peas as a side . The halibut lacked any flavour but I am told that is normal. It was a very bland dish. Diners beside us loved their lamb.....I saw it was also served on a bed of potato mash with a side of peas. When I read the reviews I thought this would be an excellent place to dine.....not in my books. Crowded, food unimpressive, no originality in presentation and over priced. I would not recommend it. There are many other good places to eat in Jasper

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Valentinateeshka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Excellent Food & Service”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Food was out of this world. We have been in Jasper for three days, sat at the bar the first evening and then returned the next day to try more of this outstanding menu. My husband declared the lamb "the best ever."

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dorthe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A bistro worthy of a number 1 rating!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

We had a most delightful meal and evening on June 30 2014. The menu was so interesting that it was very difficult to decide what to have. Everything that was ordered was excellent. For aparty of 10 to all agree that this bistro ranks among the best they have visited is saying something. Our next visit to Jasper wii surely include a visit to the Raven.


Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank jayzee780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We had to get there by 6:30 if we wanted a reservation. The place is small so we did make a reservation for the next day.
I had an awesome basil martini before dinner. My husband and I both ordered the halibut and we're not disappointed. Delicious !! We scarfed it all down.
Good recommendation Trip Advisor.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank msacks71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Raven Bistro also viewed

Jasper, Jasper National Park
 
Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 

Been to The Raven Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing