We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Careful of your room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Certificate of Excellence
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Careful of your room”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Good large room but the windows looked into the internal glassed square of the hotel which was very hot and humid ( there is a pool in that area). As a result the room was very hot and stuffy and the air-conditionaire was noisey. The buffet breakfast was very good and reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Ask for an outside facing room. the front of the hotel faces the railway track and therefore it may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre F, Director of Sales at Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for your review. The hotel does indeed feature 50 X atrium view rooms, which all face to the large indoor atrium on three floors. 102 rooms face to the outdoors with private balconies, and sliding doors. We trust you enjoyed your journey through western Canada and will have a safe return home to Great Britain.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    424
    617
    247
    78
    47
See reviews for
395
676
47
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile


Wi-fi is free with a single password which is given at reception and also on a card in room.

The location is right on the edge of town - you can walk in to the restaurants, but allow 15-25 minutes depending on where you want to go and how fast you walk.
It's a huge place and the reception smells of chlorine thanks to the pool at the far end of the atrium.  We were allocated a room on the ground floor with an outside view, but it had no safe.   The staff initally just advised that they have a safe at reception, but when I explained that this would be inconvenient and that I wanted an in-room safe, they checked for a room with a safe and someone actually went to the room to make sure (surprised that they can't tell from their computer system, but appreciate the effort).  Our room was still looking to the outside and was the same large size / layout as out original.  However, the decor was considerably nicer, so we were doubly glad that we moved.  Hope they plan to update the lower rooms, it really was a lot more modern and stylish.
Our new room had a good selection of power points and a clock with docking for an iPhone 5.  The room includes a coffee maker, ice bucket, iron/ironing board and bathrobes.
 
The bathroom is a little cramped which is a shame when the bedroom is quite spacious, with two double beds in.  Maybe just one double bed a decent size bathroom would have been more sensible?  A hairdryer is provided - hanging in a bag from the towel rack due to lack of space - although there is a nice surface that the sink is set in, there are no cupboards underneath.  The shower is fixed head on the wall, with no hand held attachment for washing your hair etc.  It was pretty weedy and also had a curtain rather than a glass screen, which is not nice because they don't get cleaned between guests.  

The reception staff were helpful - Koshi showed us the best routes to a number of places and helped us put an itinerary together.  He also booked an evening meal for us at a nearby restaurant.  

We ate in the bar on our first night - I have reviewed it and I wouldn't recommend it!

(I can't see a separate entry for the bar, so I'm adding my review here)
Hearthstone at Sawridge Inn 
This was ok, but we weren't very impressed.  We shared a starter that was supposed to be chilli, but had no chilli in it whatsoever, it was just mince.  And pretty cheap mince at that.  Main course was better - I had fish & chips and OH had salmon.  OH was very excited when they said they had Hoegaarden, although its obviously not a popular choice as it went out of date two months earlier...  He also tried a local wheat beer "shock top".  Not recommended if you are a wiessbeer drinker!
It took ages for the food to come out and the service was a bit lacklustre.  For example, serving a coke which was so flat there were actually no bubbles in the liquid, so it must have been flat for a while. More than once,  two waitresses stood at the bar chatting when customers were waiting for drinks.


Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Monk-san
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre F, Director of Sales at Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you very much for your thorough review. 100 of the hotel's 152 rooms have been totally renovated (2013/2014). The remaining 50 rooms (ground floor rooms) will be renovated this coming January, which will provide a complete roster of newly renovated rooms. There are no plans to enlarge the bathroom facilities, as most guests tend to spend a lot of their time enjoying Jasper National Park's great outdoors. Your suggestion for a hand held shower attachment and bathroom cupboards is being considered for our next round of renovations, in 2017. The pool filtration system is salt water based, however chlorine is utilized at times for the washing and sanitizing of the pool deck surfaces. I must provide our apologies for falling short of your expectations with regards to the Hearthstone Lounge food and service. Your comment has been passed on to the Food and Beverage team for review and rectification. We trust you enjoyed your visit to beautiful Jasper and had a safe return to the United Kingdom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coopersburg, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This property is in a good location, the staff was very polite and professional, the updated rooms are nice but the price is absolutely not worth it. The bed sagged in the middle which was uncomfortable, the patio is nice but tiny. The hot tub is in the main lobby area so it feels awkward to walk through the lobby and by the restaurants in your swimsuit and/or be sitting in the pool/hot tub with people looking at you. They additional $20 per night for older children is expensive and unjustified - maybe an extra used towel or plastic cup used? We were disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snus95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre F, Director of Sales at Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for your review and comments. One third of the hotel's room inventory face to the indoors (providing a view of the large indoor atrium, on three floors). Th pool is indeed an indoor heated pool, which restaurant patrons or guests in the lobby cannot readily view as it is located at the extreme rear portion of the atrium. The pool features complete change rooms with lockers (which hotel guests can use if they wish, in lieu of walking down in their bathing suits), Hotel guests are free to access the pool from their rooms using the plush bathrobes provided in each of our guest rooms if they chose to, and can use one of three access point to reach the pool. Jasper is a resort destination and we aim to provide a nice, relaxing casual atmosphere - without restrictions to the pool and spa access. The charge for extra persons in the rooms (i.e. triple or quad occupancy) is $20 per person per day for all guests 13 years of age and up. Stay is complimentary for all guests 12 years and younger when sharing a room with their parents. We hope you enjoyed your visit to Jasper and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eureka, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Very nice hotel; moderately priced. very good dining room. only downside is timing your breakfast and dinner around the numerous blue-hair tour groups that stop here each night.

Jasper is a lot more laid back and smaller than other towns, such as Banff. Can do it all in 2 nights.

Room Tip: ask for outside room (some face the inside dining room). check the times the tour groups are gatheri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DENNIS A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre F, Director of Sales at Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for your review. You are correct in that numerous senior groups do come and visit Jasper and the Canadian Rockies. For a lot of these elderly visitors, group tour travel is one of the very few means available to them to visit our area, and is an integral component of our clientele mix in the summer months. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay overall and the facilities of the hotel. We look forward to your next visit to Western Canada and hope you had an enjoyable journey through Western Canada.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The best thing about this hotel is the comfy bed and linen for a good night's sleep. However with almost CA$300/night you expect more, even if it's Canada Day. Room size is decent, but bathroom is small, the odor in the room is not the freshest, and above all, the staff could be warmer. They did their job, but that's all, just their job.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wei H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mpumalanga, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We had a good, spacious room facing the railway siding but the din of shunting Canadian Pacific trains did not bother us.
Although we had booked a table for 6 persons, we were tucked away in a dark corner outside the main dining room. The staff was obviously not up to the job. The wine took 45 minutes in coming. Then we were served with dirty plates, which had to be returned to the cleaners. Our starters were taken to the wrong table. The main dishes were placed in front of the wrong people.
Finally, our room was none to clean either. It would seem to me that management here needs a shake-up, and wake up.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VanRiebeeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre F, Director of Sales at Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
We are most concerned about this post... We do not have any records of any guests registered in this name, nor any dining reservations in the said name for June 29th. Walter's Dining Room is located within our indoor atrium, which has full natural light until well past 10pm in June (without dark areas). The Canadian Pacific Railroad passes through Banff (not Jasper). Nonetheless, we wish to extend our most sincere apologies should we have fallen short on delivering a positive experience, both in dining and in guest room comfort. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth ,England
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Lovely rooms,comfortable beds etc but the layout needs addressing. To have a swimming pool which is open until 10pm in the middle of the reception dining area etc so when you have Extra fine dining on an evening it is like being in the middle of a leisure center not a dining room!!!! the noise was terrible from the pool area and also people walking past with robes and costumes on while you are eating !!!! They had a bar area at the front of Hotel which was very quiet and would have been a wonderful area to Fine Dine In , we did complain to the manager and had a discount but all in all a very bad experience.So please someone take note and sort it out, very bad planning indeed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronanneclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre F, Director of Sales at Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for your review. I offer my most sincere apologies for the noise levels encountered whilst trying to enjoy your dinner, and for any resulting inconveniences. Although the pool is part of an open concept for our large indoor atrium, such noise levels are extremely rare in the summer months. We are delighted our manager was able to address your concerns and provide some compensation. We trust you had an enjoyable visit to Jasper and a safe return home to Great Britain.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.6 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
399 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
1,540 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Jasper Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
926 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tonquin Inn
Tonquin Inn
#15 of 17 in Jasper
1,041 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chateau Jasper
Chateau Jasper
#10 of 17 in Jasper
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper

Property: Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
Address: 76 Connaught Drive, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Jasper
#3 Romantic Hotel in Jasper
#4 Family Hotel in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper 3.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sawridge Inn And Conference Centre Jasper Hotel Jasper
Sawridge Hotel Jasper National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing