We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Certificate of Excellence
North East England
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great base”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We loved the location as it was right at the end of Jasper and straight onto a variety of hikes and so, very quiet. A lovely stroll up the street took you into the centre of Jasper and gave you the opportunity to view some of the other hotels, the wonderful scenery and wildlife. The facade of the hotel is welcoming and inviting with a lovely old fashioned carriage on the lawn in front. The reception was very elegant with a couple of nice pieces of artwork by a local artist.

Our room had been pre paid as part of a package holiday yet we were shocked to be told that we were required to pay a fee for each night we were staying there, refundable at check out. We didn't have a credit card and so had to pay 400 dollars in cash. There was no mention of this when we booked with our travel agent and so put a black mark on our first experience of Jasper. Apparently this is normal procedure...( this was brought up with our rep and the fee was not requested at our next hotel on our itinerary).

Our bags were brought to our room by a lovely young man who then showed us how to put the lights on in the room. The lamps had their switches in a strange place...The coffee and tea items were in a drawer to the right of the dressing table, nice touch as it was all kept out of the way. Room was looking over the pool area and had no windows or ability to view outside which meant that we had to do a quick run to the entrance of the hotel each morning to see what the weather was doing. It also meant that if anyone was having a really good time in the pool area you knew about it. But to be fair it did tend to be on only the afternoon, and, generally we were out most of the day experiencing Jasper!

The room looked as if it had been recently refurbished and was a lovely muted, neutral colour. Two large beds, lots of room to move around and a large flat screen TV on the wall opposite the beds ideally situated with info on the hotel and a variety of channels to choose from. Our air con worked fine, even the maintenance man checked with us that it was ok. We did need it when we stayed as it was unseasonably hot for Jasper at this time of year. The beds were extremely comfortable with a variety of pillows to choose from. The radio alarm clock was put to good use to get up early and view the wildlife!

Bathroom was good, very clean, again, refurbished with some good toiletries, hair drier, robes to use. Shower was good. Towels changed every day if needed. Lots of mirrors with a full length mirror by the door and the wardrobes had mirrored fronts too. Safe, iron and ironing board in the wardrobe too. We didn't hear any noise from our neighbours or any noise in the corridors so had a great nights sleep each night. It could be dark during the day and when the lights were on in the room for privacy the curtains did have to be closed, as small niggle. But I do agree with other reviews that the design of the hotel was probably a bit 'out there' in the 70's....

I had a continental breakfast one morning by myself and one of the members of staff purposely invited me to sit in a nice quiet section of the breakfast area, this was a lovely thought and much appreciated as there were a few other guests there who looked as if they were part of a tour. The breakfast was very good, lots of fruit, pastries, yogurt, muesli, etc.

We dined at the Hearthstone Lounge one evening and it was ok. There are lots of other dining options in Jasper and we did try a couple. The hotel next door has a lovely menu, we can recommend that one. The Champs bar seemed very dark and a bit dated so we didn't try anything in there. To be honest, the main restaurant in the hotel is quite close to the entrance and is open to the pool area and just didn't appeal to us. A few people have mentioned a smell of chlorine but there was absolutely no smell of this when we were there.

I used the pool, jacuzzi and steam room. I couldn't find the sauna, is there one? The pool was barely large enough to get a couple of strokes in, so was more of play area rather than a serious swimmers one. The jacuzzi was very warm- controls were on the wall to turn to get it to come on btw... The steam room was very nice, it too looked like it had been recently refurbished. There was a locker area which required a bring your own padlock to secure it and a good shower to use. There were no towels to use, although it did state that towels would be available- the lady in the spa area kindly lent me one though. Children were allowed in the steam and jacuzzi areas.

The fitness suite was in a separate room next to the pool area and had free weights and some cardio equipment, not much room to move about though and I would think that 2 or more people would be a bit uncomfortable. We had every intention of using this facility but ended up doing so much walking that we just wanted to rest each evening.

A real treat was the use of a washer and drier at a dollar each, detergent could be bought at the reception for a dollar too which was sufficient for two washes!

The spa area looked good but I didn't try anything.

We loved that there was a fridge in the room, my husband doesn't drink tea or coffee and so a steady supply of cool drinks was appreciated. There is a great supermarket a couple of hundred yards down the street, everything you can think of, and more, there. A good juice bar located inside too. We loved the 'bear paw bakeries', there are two in town, lots of freshly baked goodies.

Jasper is a really small town, really only 2 streets to it. Lots of eateries to choose from ranging from burger bars to steak restaurants. We took a few photos of Jasper main highway with literally no traffic on it early in the mornings. We felt really safe here. There are a few good sports shops and a couple of high end shops but don't come to Jasper expecting to shop till you drop. There are the usual touristy tacky shops too.

Jasper is all about the wildlife, solitude and scenery. It delivers.

We completed a number of hikes around the area and hardly saw anyone. Wildlife spotted included: elk, bear, coyote, woodpecker, osprey, lots of squirrels, more squirrels.

Back to the hotel- my husband wanted to give the Sawridge a five rating. From his point of view it delivered all he required, a great base to sample Jasper, a lovely room with all the amenities you require, very clean in a great position, very safe with helpful staff.

If we were to return to Jasper I would have no hesitation in staying here again, it is what it is, a great base.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre F, Director of Sales at Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you very much for your comprehensive review of both the hotel and of Jasper - the destination. Most hotels do indeed run a pre-authorization of credit cards at check-in to cover any potential incidental spend generated on site during a guest's stay. This isn't a purchase per say. Alternatively, cash is provided for same in lieu of a credit card pre-authorization. We are most delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and very much look forward to your return visit. (PS we no longer feature a Sauna facility).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    420
    607
    245
    76
    47
See reviews for
384
672
47
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

We were only there 2 nights so we didn't use the facilities as we were busy hiking and looking for wildlife.

The front desk staff are very friendly and check in/out was very straight forward.

The rooms were large and clean with good facilities; I upgraded to an outer room with balcony as I read other reviews regarding the smell of chlorine from the pool (rooms face into the inner atrium).

To be honest, I couldn't smell chlorine when I was in the main area so not sure if is that much of an issue but for $20 per night, I prefer an outer view.

At the far end of Connaught Drive so a 10 min walk to town or 2 mins in the car. Parking not an issue.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre F, Director of Sales at Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you very much for the kind review. We are delighted we were able to meet your expectations. We are also always somewhat surprised at the rare mentions of hotel guests being able to detect chlorine smells as the pool filtration system is salt water based - although chlorine is occasionally used to sanitize the pool deck and change rooms flooring. Thank you once again, and we hope to be of service to you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

My wife and I were wanting to see Jasper and we did. The hotel was old and had a old hotel smell to it. It was over priced for what it was. I got the breakfast package and the buffet was good but not worth the $18.00. Sorry guys

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Cliff E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre F, Director of Sales at Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for your review. You comments are valuable to us, and one of the main tools utilized by the management team to ensure we meet our guest expectations and engage in product renovations and upgrades when required. Two thirds of our hotel rooms have been totally renovated, with all new components. The last third will undergo the final renovations stage this coming January & February. The comprehensive buffet breakfast is $16.00 + GST (not $18.00). Thank you once again for your feedback and we trust you enjoyed the remainder of your holidays through the Canadian Rockies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danbury, CT
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Hotel room was comfortable and spacious. Windows have grill-work covering them which was weird and impeded the view out the windows. Main complaint was with the dinner provided on the tour: it was terrible---the food was over-spiced and had too much sauce on it---we could not eat it. Breakfast service was super slow---we waited 45 minutes to be served breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunshine1492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre F, Director of Sales at Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thank you for your review. The indoor facing rooms have the mesh in the windows (as observed) to comply with Alberta and Canadian building codes, to prevent a potential broken window from raining down on passer bys (which by the way has never happened). We apologize for not delivering a positive dining experience. Your comments are well received and will be reviewed by our Food and Beverage team. We trust you did enjoy the remainder of your travels through the Canadian Rockies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Described by our travelling group as 'functional, beige, ok, stuffy' It was fine for a family of grandma, parents and two kids but not as good as other hotel stays on our canada travels with the same budget.

Suggestions to others if you are looking at Sawridge: get an external facing room (the internally facing rooms are stuffy and dark) eat dinner in town, take the breakfast buffet (good value), adjust your aircon/ heating as soon as you arrive, use the complimentary shuttle into town (lovely helpful driver), if you have to eat at the sawridge eat in the front bar/restaurant, use the pool (it's great)

All in all it was ok, service was mixed with some excellent individuals but it wasn't consistent. It was full of tour groups when we stayed and it does seem set up to serve them well. We tried to like it but when in Jasper again we would choose a different hotel as we think we can get a better experience for the money we paid.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank lfret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre F, Director of Sales at Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thank you very much for the review of your recent stay. You are correct in that Jasper is host to countless senior tours in the summer months. This type of organised travel is one that provides a safe means for senior citizens to visit Jasper in a pleasant and efficient manner. We are delighted you enjoyed your accommodations. Only one third of our rooms face to the lush indoor atrium, whilst two thirds face to the outdoors, all around the building. We trust you had a great visit to Jasper National Park, we thank you for being our guest, and wish you a safe and enjoyable return to the UK.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Nice clean modern room. Problems are very thin walls. We could hear neighbors conversations and they were not exceptionally loud. Also the in room frig was noisy and I couldn't sleep. DH did fine. So in fairness light sleepers beware others maybe no problem. I would say a car Is best to go to town especially if you are tired from hiking. I believe it was the farthest away from center of in town hotels. A/c was ok and we were glad to have it being there during a heat wave. The thermostat on it was way off though so we had to turn the setting way down. Our balcony room faced the parking lot and another building. Jasper is a quaint town. Almost stayed at the Fairmont glad we didn't since it was fairly warm during our visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stjohnrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre F, Director of Sales at Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thank you for your review. The hotel is located 1.5 KM from the town centre. A vehicle is indeed a great asset if you wish to tour around Jasper`s many key sightseeing locations as well as main attractions. The hotel does however provide complimentary shuttles to town, which alleviates the need for a vehicle if you are a guest of the Sawridge Inn Jasper. We are most disappointed you could not have an enjoyable sleep. The hotel is an all cement building, and complaints of noise are extremely rare. I must provide our sincere apologies for what must have been extremely loud neighbours. We look forward to your return to Jasper.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Luis - Brazil
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We arrived at this hotel after a long motorcycle ride from Banff. Didn't expect much, but it was perfect. Rooms are so nice and comfortable. Bed is awesome. Different restaurant/food options inside the premises. The breakfast was the best I had during my trip in Alberta - Canada. However, location is not so good for a stroll in town. About a 20-min walk. Also, everything is way too pricey in this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edu_cavalcanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pierre F, Director of Sales at Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you very much for your review. Pricing is very much subject to supply and demand, and the summer months (June through September) are the busiest months of the year. A walk to town is about 15 to 20 minutes, however complimentary hotel shuttles to town are available (on demand) on the hour from 8am to 8pm. We are delighted you enjoyed the comfort of your room, especially following a long day riding through the Rocky Mountains. Please note that the Sawridge Inn Jasper offers dedicated covered parking for those guests with motorcycles. Enjoy the remainder of your journey through Western Canada.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.6 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
379 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#6 of 17 in Jasper
1,510 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#5 of 17 in Jasper
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Jasper Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
Tonquin Inn
Tonquin Inn
#15 of 17 in Jasper
1,018 reviews
1.9 mi away
Pyramid Lake Resort
Pyramid Lake Resort
#8 of 17 in Jasper
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper

Property: Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
Address: 76 Connaught Drive, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Jasper
#3 Business Hotel in Jasper
#4 Family Hotel in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper 3.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sawridge Inn And Conference Centre Jasper Hotel Jasper
Sawridge Hotel Jasper National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing