We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay away from the Sawridge!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Jasper
Certificate of Excellence
Mississauga
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stay away from the Sawridge!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2009

After checking into our room the first thing I noticed was the internal temperature was around 77 degrees, according to their thermostat. When it is 80+ degrees outside the last thing I went is 77 degrees inside. After futilely trying to cool it down (no luck) we mentioned this to the front desk and were told maintenance would look into it. Then we went to dinner at Walter's, their own fine? dining room.

I ordered Pork Tenderloin. My wife order Prime Rib. Her dish was good. My Tenderloin was very tough! I could barely cut it with my knife. It was also very dry and completely tasteless. I only managed to cut and eat a very small piece of the Pork. I mentioned this to the waitress and she asked if she should bring me a sharper knife. A chain saw would be the only inplement to do the job. The Pork Tenderloin was anything but tender! She took it back and someone from the kitchen came out and offered me something else from the menu. I chose pasta. Getting the pasta took about 20 minutes while my wife was still eating. When my food arrived she was finished and I was just starting. Their only apology/solution was to give us a 10% reduction for the meal.

When we got back to our room the temperature was still 77.2 degrees and the only thing coming out of the so-called air conditioning was warm air being blow about at a high rate of speed by the fan. We went back to the front desk and mentioned this again. The front desk clerk came to our room and fiddled with the buttons and tried to tell us it was getting colder. A big lie! I said no, it is only warm air being blown about. Finally he suggested another room. We had already unpacked however we agreed and repacked and moved to another room at 9:00pm at night after a disastrous meal. The second room was cooler but only acceptable.

How would you like to start your vacation with the day we had? My final comment is stay away from the Sawridge!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smartchuckie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emjasper, Revenue Manager at Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper, responded to this review, 12 August 2009
It seems we were not successful on our many attempts to assist this guest in making their stay a positive and comfortable experience. This is not a common occurence as we do our utmost to ensure all guest's comfort and to exceed expectation.

Regarding the poor dining experience, our Food and Beverage Manager provided the following comment:
"It is rare to receive an order of tough tenderloin. As with any complaints our guests are offered a discounted replacement meal as well as a complimentary beverage if the wait is to be extended. As our standards are very high at the Sawridge, all meals are prepared 'A la minute' and do take a little longer to be properly delivered"

We appreciate feedback and do hope all guests will provide their accurate experience; however allow us to do our utmost to ensure you are a satisfied return guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    392
    576
    243
    73
    44
See reviews for
369
633
44
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2009

This hotel was a great choice in Jasper. It is clean, comfortable and well taken care of. The staff was extremely friendly.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimberko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WA state
Level Contributor
70 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2009

This somewhat dated hotel sits at the edge of town, about 6 blocks from the commercial section with easy access to restaurants for meals. We were given several discount coupons including one for $25 at the restaurant, which we used once. The other coupons didn't interest us enough to offset the relatively high nightly cost of the stay. Breakfast was not included in the room charge. Parking is outdoors on the grounds. There is no seating in the lobby or on the grounds. The worst aspect was the extremely dim lighting in the room. The furnishings and bedding are very dated and ? soiled-- I chose not to think about it. Doubt I would stay here again, unless I couldn't find another option in this price range.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patty P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emjasper, Revenue Manager at Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper, responded to this review, 30 July 2009
This stay appears to have been on a special we've offered this summer our 'Timeout Package', however we do offer bed and breakfast rates as well, which would include your breakfast in the price. The vouchers which were received would have been inclusive of a complimentary wildlife presentation, spa discount, tramway discount as well as the dinner voucher.

Seating areas are plentiful at the Sawridge Inn Jasper; directly in front of the hotel we offer patio tables and chairs where many guests enjoy their morning coffee, or catch some warm sun with a book in the afternoon. Our pathway through the atrium offers a sitting area with couches and chairs along side our large three storey fire place, where many guests will relax with a laptop and access complimentary wireless internet, or chat with fellow travellers; our conference level (lower level) also offers plenty of couches.

New floor lamps were purchased this past spring to provide better lighting in the rooms.

Please let us know if issues arise during your stay so we may ensure you have the proper Sawridge experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
96 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2009

Nice room., great AC, good dining room, spectacular scenery...we agree 100% with all positiive reviews already posted. Try it !

Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sarapalms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
146 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2009

Very clean, quiet hotel. Shuttle takes you right to main street. Excellent restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dwilcox000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton Alberta
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2009

We had Xmas in Jasper - Very Relaxing - Great Xmas Buffet - Staff always friendly

Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kahula7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2009

This Hotel exceeded our expectations as unusually, our room was exactly as portrayed on the Website. We could not fault this Hotel. All staff, including the Dining Room waiters, were extremely helpful & friendly and gave a very good service. We are very particular & like a good standard of room & hotel and this more than matched our criteria. The hotel was nice & quiet with good parking but was a good walk or short drive into the town.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slg7Yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper hotels
0.6 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Jasper Inn & Suites
0.2 mi away
Tonquin Inn
Tonquin Inn
#15 of 17 in Jasper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
1.4 mi away
Maligne Lodge
Maligne Lodge
#14 of 17 in Jasper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper

Property: Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
Address: 76 Connaught Drive, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Jasper
#3 Romantic Hotel in Jasper
#4 Family Hotel in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper 3.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sawridge Inn And Conference Centre Jasper Hotel Jasper
Sawridge Hotel Jasper National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing