We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awsome cabin in the mountains”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jasper
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Miette Hot Springs Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awsome cabin in the mountains”
Reviewed 22 August 2010

First of all if you are looking for a modern full service hotel these cabins are not for you. If you are looking for a place to unwind without phones, tvs, internet or cellphones this is the best place in Jasper. Across the road is the best hands down hotsprings in Canada. We spent 6 nights here and my family loved it. We live in a modern world and it was great to escape the grind. Lots of adventures in the park and thank you Miette for the great soak in the springs every night and a cozy cabin in the mountains to rest our heads. Thank you from Saskatchewan.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saskmik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    78
    21
    9
    10
See reviews for
78
77
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2010

We stayed here simply because of the great location - right near the hot springs.
In out kitchenette motel room, the heater was on & could not be turned off even though it was hot outside. It was difficult to get the windows open - we had to remove screens, crank the window & replace the screens.

There was a wet spot on the carpet that wouldn't dry up - hot springs under our floor perhaps?

This room for two included strictly 2 @ only of cutlery, bowls, plates & cups so, when our friends next door came to share supper, we had to pool the cutlery & dishes.
I went to buy bread at their store for breakfast, but all they had was one crumpled loaf with an old expiry date. When I asked the owners if they had anything more recent, they angrily said they couldn't be expected to have fresh bread since they're so far from the town.

Asked what the adjoining restaurant does about getting fresh bread, she said she didn't know: they had nothing to do at all with the restaurant. I bought the lousy bread & later that evening when my friends & I stopped into the restaurant for a drink, I checked in the adjoining store & found 2 new lovely new uncrumpled loaves of bread, uncrumpled with an unexpired expiry date.
AND the woman who told me she had nothing to do with the restaurant was working there!
A few little white lies can keep your business going, especially if you don't have any competition. They're at the top of the mountain, and can treat their customers lousy if they want to so be aware if you stay here.They take advantage of their customers, I don't think we'd stay there again. Try Radium Hot Springs nearby next time.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank XeresAurora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2010

I hesitate to write this review because I don't really want othrs to know about this gem. I kinda want to keep it to myslef. It's in the heart of the Rocky Mountains. A two minute walk to the hottest hot springs in the Rocky Mountains. No cell phone service. No televisions. No phones. It's the perfect getaway. We spent ten days in one of the cabins this summer. I've been coming back for over 20 years.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mountainous3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2010

THIS PLACE IS GREAT!!! I've been there 4 times over the past decade, and it is the only place I even think of staying in Japser now It is rustic, so if you're looking for a luxury resort then you'll be disappointed... go to the Jasper Park Lodge, or better yet the Banff Springs Hotel (and pay 5x as much). This is where the bad reviews com from - from people who do not do any research and do not know what they are getting into.

But if you're looking for a terrific place to stay within Jasper Park and you are looking for an outdoors experience (and that's really the point of going to Jasper isn't it?) then this place is great. It is a private place back form before the park was there (development is now totally restricted in the park) with cabins (up to 6 people) /bungalows/motel all with kitchenettes. It is steps away from the Parks Canada-run hotsprings - the best hotsprings in the Rockies - which are great after all those hikes/whitewater etc. you'll be doing. There's a terrific dayhike up to the top above, the treeline (3-4 hr return) right there too, and several other trialheads there too.

Most of the time we BBQ on the centrally located pit; sometimes other guests come by and join in, its a very friendly place. The restaurant is really terrific too, for rainy days (1 out of 7 this time) - great home meals with a gourmet flair. And the frozen yogurt is not to be missed.

The owners are extremely friendly and the guy is very knowledgeable about the area (i.e. hidden hikes and locals-only lakes for cliff diving etc.) So if you're heading to the mountains and leaving the cell phone behind, this is the place for you...

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NXN1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2010

MY girlfriend and I stayed here for one saturday night. There were many big horned sheep around nibbling around the parking lot.
Had breakfast in the restaurant which was good- CHECK YOUR BILLl- the one brunette blue-eyed waitress added on a mysterious $2.25 with no claim to what it was for our bill for breakfast.
Has the basic needs, restaurant, kitchenette room, shower and of course a little walks away is the hot springs. One hot spring is not as hot, and the deeper one is hot. so maybe the other reviews didn't go into the hotter one. Two little pools for cooling off.
The staff accommodated us when it was miscommunicated about me getting a kitchenette. The first double bed room they put me in didn't have a kitchenette so I went back and they placed me in one- no problems.
You have to run the water a bit for hot water since I think the tank is aways away.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neu4mann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2010

This quaint little resort is a favorite family getaway. We have been with children: infant to age 5 1/2 and teens. Every year there is something upgraded. We usually stay in the chalet area, where we can sleep 4 adults comfortably. We can use the picnic tables, the BBQ pit, and the playground. There are full kitchens with all the basic tools that you will need. We are within walking distance to the hotsprings, and both walking and hiking trails. This family owned and run resort has always been an extremely positive experience for us, and we go back year after year.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Weekenders03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatchewan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2010

We stayed only one night at Miette Hot Springs Resort near Jasper. We were traveling from Saskatchewan to Kamloops and didn't want to stay in over-priced Jasper. The buildings at the resort are very old, I think build some time in the 1930's.

They have chalets, cabins and motel rooms. We booked the motel room as the price was right. I think it was $99.00. If you are thinking of staying here check out their website. They do tell you it you are looking for something with more ammenities stay in Jasper. We loved it, the hot springs are right there - that was our favourite part of our stay. We took a nice little hike past the springs to the ruins of the old pool which was interesting. The scenery was fantastic! We would go again but stay in a cabin. The motel room was okay but pretty small. There is not TV or phone so the kids were a touch bored. Next time we may go alone for a romantic getaway

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeanlousk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper hotels
21.6 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
21.2 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
21.1 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 mi away
Pyramid Lake Resort
Pyramid Lake Resort
#8 of 17 in Jasper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
22.4 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
21.9 mi away
Whistlers Inn
Whistlers Inn
#11 of 17 in Jasper
3.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miette Hot Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miette Hot Springs Resort

Property: Miette Hot Springs Resort
Address: Range Road 275A, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located high in the Rocky Mountains inside Jasper National Park, our wonderful family owned and operated resort adjacent to the beautiful Miette Hot Springs. Our rustic resort offers cozy cabins, chalets, and motel rooms for your stay. Come join us in the restaurant and gift shop before or after your swim. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Miette Hot Springs Hotel Jasper

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing