We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little place”
Review of Juniper House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jasper
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Juniper House
Ranked #5 of 57 Jasper B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Lovely little place”
Reviewed 20 July 2008

We stayed here for 3 nights. The location is great, 2 minutes from the town centre and very close to nice walks. Jennifer was a lovely host, she had a wealth of information about the area for us, specific to the weather and conditions at the time so that was really helpful.

The accomodation is in the basement with access from the back garden, and free parking there. It has it's own door so no need to bother the host. The rooms were spotless and nicely decorated and very comfortable. We stayed in the smaller suite but as the other was free Jennifer did offer us it for a cut down price, it looked great. The shower was the best we found in Canada. They have free internet access too which was a great bonus.

The room had a fridge, kettle, cable tv, en-suite and control of its own heating. Overall it was a great bargain, cheap and great accomodation.

  • Liked — Location, friendly owner, very clean.
  • Disliked — Leaving shoes at backdoor.
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank edinm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    11
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
86
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Catharines, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2008

Nice room, comfortable queen bed, very nice hostess, spacious bathroom. Parking included.

The room is in a basement that I didn't like, cold linoleum floors, although in winter floors are heated.

  • Liked — location, clean, wireless internet
  • Disliked — basement room
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juniperhouse, Owner at Juniper House, responded to this review, 25 June 2008
Radiant heating controlled by thermostat located within suite and always accessible to guests for their comfort...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2008

we stayed in mid july 2007. the owners (brent and jennifer park) were very nice and helpful and a good source of knowledge of the local area. they also keep a bit of literature on hand for reading or usage during the trip.

we stayed in the king suite for 4 nights. the decor was wonderful and the bins were emptied each day and the kitchen area was also tidied as well most days we stayed.

the bed was quite comfortable and the shower was the probably the second or third best that we had in our entire trip. there is a shoes rule - you have to leave your shoes at the top of the stairs (the suite is in the "basement" part of the building). there is natural light that comes in as there are windows and the windows can be opened, so don't worry about claustrophobia

we would recommend staying there. the only thing that i'd have to say (which wasn't a problem for me) is that there are stairs. they aren't steep or there's not a lot, but it wasn't easy for us to get our luggage down them because the stairwell is not terribly wide (we had a lot of luggage).

  • Liked — location, cleanliness and a beautiful place to stay and wonderful hosts
  • Disliked — stairs
  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sweetstarneon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2007

Excellent en-suite accommodation for two couples with kitchen/lounge area. Clean, warm rooms. Owner very helpful and supplied huge selection of local details. Just a 5 minute walk to restaurants and shops (useful supermarket and bakery for breakfast supplies). Easy parking on quiet residential street.

  • Liked — Location, friendliness, cleanliness
  • Disliked — No breakfast supplied; note there are steps down to rooms.
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SmilingSixties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U.K.
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2007

Juniper house is only a 5 minute walk from Jasper centre yet is in a quiet and peaceful location opposite the park.
We stayed in the king suite which is very comfortable and spacious with a double bedroom, living area complete with sofa, t.v. table and chairs and kitchen facility which comprises a microwave, toaster, kettle, coffee maker, fridge and sink. Coffee, tea, sugar and creamer are included.
The bathroom has a beautiful double shower. Little extras are provided such as shampoo,hand cream and washing up liquid, All of the accommodation is kept spotlessly clean by your host jennifer who unobtrusively cleans, makes the bed and removes garbage each day.
There is a sunny sitting out area by your own front door [shared with guests in the queen suite]. Jennifer and Brett are very knowledgable and helpful and provide advice and hints to enhance your stay.
We had a lovely relaxing weeks stay and would definetly return here.

  • Liked — well looked after
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Teddy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2007

We stayed at Juniper House for 4 lovely nights in Jasper. The room was very big with a modern bathroom,good sized bedroom and living area, Jennifer and Brent were great hosts and were very helpful with advice on tourist sights,restaurants etc. Location wise it was only a 5 minute walk and we were in the main town area. Opposite the house
there is a park should you wish to kick a football etc. Breakfast is not supplied at Juniper House but the accomadation is really good at a very reasonable price. We will be going back again when we return to Jasper.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank markarmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jasper hotels
1.0 mi away
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Jasper
0.5 mi away
Crimson Jasper
Crimson Jasper
#3 of 17 in Jasper
397 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mount Robson Inn
Mount Robson Inn
#5 of 17 in Jasper
1,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Jasper Inn & Suites
0.9 mi away
Marmot Lodge
Marmot Lodge
#6 of 17 in Jasper
923 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chateau Jasper
Chateau Jasper
#10 of 17 in Jasper
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Juniper House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Juniper House

Property: Juniper House
Address: 713 Maligne Avenue | Box 2545, Jasper, Jasper National Park, Alberta T0E 1E0, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Jasper National Park > Jasper
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Jasper
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing