We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My daughters want to move to jasper for the sushi”
Review of Oka Sushi

Oka Sushi
Ranked #21 of 84 Restaurants in Jasper
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$23
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Oka Sushi is a small, intimate sushi bar located on the Beauvert Promenade at The Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge. Run by Sushi Chef Tatsuhiko Okaki, Oka Sushi is a favourite among guests and locals alike. Sushi is always on the menu, with products shipped in from Japan and Vancouver. Any sushi lover will appreciate the high quality and warm customer service of this charming sushi restaurant.
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“My daughters want to move to jasper for the sushi”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Fantastic meal that was just delicious with cosy 12 cover restaurant and friendly service. Was not expensive (unlike rest of fairmont) and rounded off meal playing games for free in arcade opposite.

We had not booked, just turned up and had drink in hotel lobby until space came free

Great evening. Thank you mr.oka!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JaJo-London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    10
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jasper, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“we love oka sushi”
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

chopsticks down this is the best sushi restaurant we've ever dined at. how convenient that it's 15 minutes from home! visitors to jasper: trust the locals, we know where to go.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank susanyoungleslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDMONTON
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous sushi and sashimi in Jasper”
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Dinner with the family and a wonderful experience. Only take reservations for first sitting 6- 630, so call and reserve as only seats about 15. Very fresh sushi, handmade by Mr Oka. He is very diligent and prepares the sushi with such care. Delicious. Try the Toro - it was amazing!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank angupema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parksville, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“The BEST SUSHI we have ever had!!”
Reviewed 23 April 2013

We finally had the opportunity to try this restaurant. We are in Jasper often and Oka's is always filled to capacity which is very small and intimate. It was so good! Super fresh seafood and sushi created right in front of your eyes by sushi chef and owner Oka!
The rice was so soft and tasted like heaven - the fresh seafood was amazing! We ate the California Roll, Spicy Tuna Roll, Spicy Scallop Roll, Jasper Original Roll, Red Snapper Sashimi and Salmon Sashimi - and each and every bite was amazing! Our standards for sushi has been raised and we look forward to eating here again!
The restaurant is open 6pm - 10pm with a reservation seating at 6:30 pm and then walk in after that. We arrived at 8 pm and were able to be seated immediately.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Roxann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A must”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Best we have ever had. Go is you love Sushi. My daughter and I go at least 2 times when we are there.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oka Sushi also viewed

Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 
Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 
Jasper, Jasper National Park
Jasper, Jasper National Park
 

Been to Oka Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing