We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Caught them doing something right...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandman Hotel Lethbridge
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Lethbridge
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Caught them doing something right...”
Reviewed 5 February 2014

It's interesting how people are driven to comment in cases where their experience has, for whatever reason, proven disappointing. In our case, we were guests in this property over the holidays. It was our first time staying here. The staff were simply excellent. They went out of their way to ensure every detail was attended to. The property itself, while dated, was clean and inviting. Perhaps the only disappointment was the hotel's proximity to the smells of N. Lethbridge. We lived in the community a number of years ago, and resided on each side of the city. North Lethbridge, east of 23rd St. seems to harbour a pungent odour that is very strong, some days. This same odour was manifest, and was present in the air of the hotel. There's not much they can do about that, but it made for a slightly less enjoyable experience. On the whole, would definitely stay again. Props to Doug and his staff for going the extra mile!

Room Tip: When travelling with family, recommend adjoining room. It was a win!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JustAsk2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    29
    29
    11
    13
See reviews for
27
30
6
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 26 November 2013

The rooms are very nice and welcoming, unlike the service. The "front desk manager" was very rude and unwelcoming. If you are looking for a place that has nice room but poor service, this place is perfect for you!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CFreya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandmanLethbridge, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Lethbridge, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel with us. We are proud winners of the AHLA Housekeeping Award and I’m glad to hear your room was cleaned and comfortable to our guest’s standards. As many of our regular guests can attest, we pride ourselves on our customer service. It’s extremely disappointing to hear that you did not get to share their same experience. I will definitely be addressing your concerns with our Guest Services Manager and welcome you to contact myself at any time to discuss your stay with us further.

Doug Hayes - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lethbridge hotels

Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Check in went well, no hassles, fast and friendly too.Everything looked great, until we got to our room. The beds, well lets just say they are in need of an upgrade. There is little or no foam on the mattress top and we could feel every coil spring as we lay on them.

The TVs although they look like new flat screens offer programming that leaves too much to be desired.Poor channel selection, no "real" menu like most hotels offer. The programming reminds me of the cable my parents had back in the 80s and offered a poor selection of choices, they didn't even have CTV news channel. Something else my husband wanted to watch hockey and channel 21 constantly had a bad picture in spite of the TVs being fairly new.

The worst part about this hotel and the poor sleep is the ice makers at the end of the hall way. They are EXTREMELY LOUD, and could be heard clearly in our room even though we were housed in a room well down the hall from them. Why any major hotel chain would permit this type of noise to invade the quietness of their sleeping quarters is beyond us. the constant drone of the ice maker kept me from falling asleep, and my poor husband was barely able to fall asleep and once woken up by the constant droning of the ice maker was unable to sleep at all due to the noise saturating our room from the ice cooler.

Suffice it to say we were FAR less than impressed with our stay, this property is not up to the standards of any other Sandman we have stayed in. The rooms need an update desperately and the unbearable noise from the ice makers keeping people awake, when they are paying to sleep is unfair to anyone looking for a good rest.

Buy some new beds, with a modern foam top, do something about the poor TV programming, fix the racket from the ice makers and you would have a place we would visit again. Unfortunately we pay for sleep, the ice maker makes that impossible and the beds and amenities fall short of the Sandmans standards.

Room Tip: If you want a good rest, with restful sleep look elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank norma r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We checked into the hotel even though we had some misgivings based on the general condition of the exterior of the building. The first thing I did when we entered our room was to open the curtains. There were so many flies buzzing around between the curtains and the window. And there were so many dead flies on the windowsill. I was so disgusted, I didn't even look at the condition of the rest of the room. We turned around and promptly checked right back out!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bikingfor2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collingwood, Canada
Level Contributor
123 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

I selected this location based upon having stayed at other locations, this location was not comparable. The hotel is old and shows the age, the grout was coming away from the floor tiles in the bathroom, the air conditioner doesn't fit in the hole in the wall, you can see daylight around it. the pigeons land on the railings outside and you hear them in the room, the internet works sometimes, there is no business center was converted into a car rental location. Raised these issues with management 6 weeks later I received a gift certificate for one nights stay not at any location but the same location. LOL I travel and made that clear at the time I contacted customer services, the gift certificate was valid for 14 days.

Room Tip: The hotel is old and needs a lot of work, which management acknowledged, renovations were planed for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris-272727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandmanLethbridge, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Lethbridge, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
First I would like to opportunity to thank you for your feedback, Guests comments whether good or bad are opportunities for us to improve upon the service we bring.

I am disappointed to hear your stay with us was less than satisfactory, but am happy to tell you since your stay 10 months ago we have gone through room and service upgrades.
Some of these upgrades includes a new internet system (wifi & hard-line); Flat screen TV’s in all of our rooms, a guest computer station and much more has been done and we will continue with other renovations and updates to the building.

With these changes since your last stay I would encourage you to try us again, and please feel free to contact myself directly for your booking.
I thank you again for your feedback.

Doug Hayes – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
111 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We found this hotel to be reasonably priced for our one night stay. We did hear some hallway noise at night as well as some noise coming from the parking lot but it didn't go on for too long. There were two double beds and the room was clean and nicely updated.. The location was convenient as we were continuing on to Yellowstone the next morning. Would stay again if passing through town.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OnTheGoFamily_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
111 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

This Dog Friendly hotel is on a major north-south highway that bisects the city of Lethbridge. The two queen-sized beds we were promised on the 5th floor were actually 2 double beds; updated (you could not call this a renovation!) with new bedspreads, jet-black counter tops in the bathroom and some newer furniture. The free breakfast at Denny's which is part of the hotel (included in our stay) was pancakes, bacon and scrambled eggs. No options, choice or substitutions.... couldn't even "pack-it-to-go" for us (the waitress clearly pointed out it is Dine In Only). Good stay with no surprises and certainly no WOW factor anywhere.

Room Tip: We really appreciated the fact that this hotel is Dog Friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SjNM123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lethbridge hotels
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#4 of 20 in Lethbridge
193 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Lethbridge
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Service Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Lethbridge
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn And Suites
Premier Inn And Suites
#10 of 20 in Lethbridge
111 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lethbridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Hotel Lethbridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Hotel Lethbridge

Property: Sandman Hotel Lethbridge
Address: 421 Mayor Magrath Dr S, Lethbridge, Alberta T1J 3L8, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Lethbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Lethbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sandman Hotel Lethbridge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandman Hotel Lethbridge - where your comfort is our priority. 139 guest rooms to choose from to suit your needs. Corporate travelers will enjoy our Junior Corporate Suites with High speed Internet access and fully equipped business center. We feature 60 guest rooms with two (2) beds catering to your Group, Team and individual needs. Located within walking distance to the Exhibition Grounds, Nikki Yuko Japanese Gardens and the beautiful Henderson Lake this hotel is easily accessed from the frequently traveled Crowsnest Trail ( Hwy. #3 ) and Mayor Magrath Drive. Shopping Centers, Skating Rinks and swimming pools are a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sandman Hotel Lethbridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing