We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right in Our Own Backyard”

Helen Schuler Nature Centre
Ranked #6 of 34 things to do in Lethbridge
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Helen Schuler Nature Centre is an urban nature centre delivering diverse and dynamic nature interpretive programs in our community through a team of volunteers, staff and partners. Hours of Operation: Regular Hours (October to May)Tuesday - Sunday 1:00 pm - 4:00 pm Summer Hours (June to August)Daily 10:00 am - 6:00 pm Admission: Admission is free. Donations are greatly appreciated. Driving Directions: •at 3rd Avenue South and Scenic Drive South, turn west into the river valley •at the bottom of the hill turn right•follow the road and turn left after the Alberta & Baroness Picnic Shelters•the Nature Centre is currently in this temporary location while our main centre undergoes renovations until early 2014.
Coaldale, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Right in Our Own Backyard”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Those of us that live in southern Alberta sometimes don't realize what we have right here. The Helen Schuler Nature Centre is one of the amazing charms of our region. The centre is located in the Old Man River bottom in the coulee and is easy to find. The new building is beautiful and overlooks the nature reserve towards the river. The whole scene is one of indigenous nature with amongst the cottonwoods and overlooked by the longest and highest train bridge in the world that was built in 1909 by the CPR. The bridge is used daily to transport goods from all over Canada. Inside the nature centre is a special surprise as well. Peg Leg is an elderly crow that was rescued years ago and has been lovingly brought up by the staff of the centre. She is friendly and will often say "hello". The staff and voluteers are knowledgeable about everything dealing with our beautiful part of Canada and my wife and I always make it a stop to take visitors. Great job by everyone involved with this amazing attraction in Lethbridge, Alberta.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank tomphotoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    27
    9
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
83 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“They have some interesting stuff!”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

It is a perfect place for young families, as the kids would enjoy the stories and explanations by the employees. You can pet the snake and say hi to the 23-year-old crow who was here since it was born. For the first time I saw the salamander which apparently is a quite common creature in Alberta. We also went into the "soil room" which explained everything about the world of the one-tea spoon soil :) This centre is also organizing bird watching and nature walks - great stuff!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank vilgail_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Don't Bother”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Recently took my visiting family here to have a look at the newly renovated building. I was embarrassed when we walked in and all there is in the building is a salamander, the old crow and a snake. Nephew and niece got to hold the snake which they thought was pretty cool. We didn't find much interest in pictures of dirt and grass. Won't be back anytime soon.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank REETZ18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSNC110, Manager at Helen Schuler Nature Centre, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank-you for your visit to our newly renovated building. It is unfortunate that you did not enjoy our current exhibit "The World Under Your Feet" that looks at microscopic creatures living in soils. Our exhibits change three times a year so it is always worth coming back again to discover a different topic. We are glad to hear that your family enjoyed their visit with our snake Sophie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great For All The Family”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

The Helen Schuler Nature Centre is a wonderful place to spend some time and learn all about the Old Man River Valley; the eco system, flora and fauna. The guides are all knowledgeable, friendly and very helpful. They run many different classes, and activities for all ages both in groups or for individual visitors and it is free!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lethbridge, Ab
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place for all those fascinated by nature!”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

The guides are excellent and informative-- a great place for kids & adults alike. It is nestled right in the coulee hills giving a context for nature right in the city. The high level bridge right beside it is a marvel to behold. Don't forget to wave to the train engineer as the trains travel over the bridge and count how many cars are on the track. All in all the wonders of nature are highlighted at the Helen Schuler Nature centre with many nature trails around it. A walk to the Old Man river close by will offer entertainment as you can skip stones in the water!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Helen Schuler Nature Centre also viewed

 

Been to Helen Schuler Nature Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing